Item 1. Financial Statements
Item 1. Financial Statements
GEOSPACE TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
(in thousands except share amounts)
(unaudited)
December 31, 2020
September 30, 2020
ASSETS
Current assets:
Cash and cash equivalents
$
33,719
$
32,686
Trade accounts and notes receivable, net
18,370
13,778
Unbilled receivables
4,263
—
Inventories, net
14,057
16,933
Asset held for sale
662
587
Prepaid expenses and other current assets
2,386
953
Total current assets
73,457
64,937
Non-current notes receivable
140
—
Non-current inventories, net
21,882
16,930
Rental equipment, net
44,167
54,317
Property, plant and equipment, net
29,493
29,874
Goodwill
4,337
4,337
Other intangible assets, net
7,898
8,331
Deferred cost of revenue and other assets
8,094
8,119
Total assets
$
189,468
$
186,845
LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS’ EQUITY
Current liabilities:
Accounts payable trade
$
5,653
$
1,593
Contingent consideration
2,310
—
Deferred revenue and other current liabilities
8,350
8,753
Total current liabilities
16,313
10,346
Non-current contingent consideration
7,955
10,962
Non-current deferred revenue and other liabilities
5,363
4,567
Total liabilities
29,631
25,875
Commitments and contingencies (Note 12)
Stockholders’ equity:
Preferred stock, 1,000,000 shares authorized, no shares issued and outstanding
—
—
Common stock, $ .01 par value, 20,000,000 shares authorized; 13,727,971 and 13,670,639 shares
issued, respectively; and 13,610,334 and 13,670,639 shares outstanding, respectively
137
137
Additional paid-in capital
91,513
90,965
Retained earnings
85,516
86,566
Accumulated other comprehensive loss
( 16,501
)
( 16,698
)
Treasury stock, at cost, 117,637 shares at December 31, 2020
( 828
)
—
Total stockholders’ equity
159,837
160,970
Total liabilities and stockholders’ equity
$
189,468
$
186,845
The accompanying notes are an integral part of the consolidated financial statements.
3
GEOSPACE TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
(in thousands, except share and per share amounts)
(unaudited)
Three Months Ended
December 31, 2020
December 31, 2019
Revenue:
Products
$
26,722
$
9,083
Rental
1,738
8,622
Total revenue
28,460
17,705
Cost of revenue:
Products
16,830
9,903
Rental
4,905
5,305
Total cost of revenue
21,735
15,208
Gross profit
6,725
2,497
Operating expenses:
Selling, general and administrative
5,354
5,997
Research and development
3,520
4,296
Change in estimated fair value of contingent consideration
( 697
)
—
Bad debt expense
7
27
Total operating expenses
8,184
10,320
Loss from operations
( 1,459
)
( 7,823
)
Other income (expense):
Interest expense
—
( 12
)
Interest income
321
134
Foreign exchange gains (losses), net
149
( 132
)
Other, net
( 3
)
( 29
)
Total other income (loss), net
467
( 39
)
Loss before income taxes
( 992
)
( 7,862
)
Income tax expense
58
1,420
Net loss
$
( 1,050
)
$
( 9,282
)
Loss per common share:
Basic
$
( 0.08
)
$
( 0.69
)
Diluted
$
( 0.08
)
$
( 0.69
)
Weighted average common shares outstanding:
Basic
13,571,510
13,454,254
Diluted
13,571,510
13,454,254
The accompanying notes are an integral part of the consolidated financial statements.
4
GEOSPACE TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF COMPREHENSIVE LOSS
(in thousands)
(unaudited)
Three Months Ended
December 31, 2020
December 31, 2019
Net loss
$
( 1,050
)
$
( 9,282
)
Other comprehensive income:
Foreign currency translation adjustments
197
566
Total other comprehensive income
197
566
Total comprehensive loss
$
( 853
)
$
( 8,716
)
The accompanying notes are an integral part of the consolidated financial statements.
5
GEOSPACE TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF STOCKHOLDERS’ EQUITY
FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2020 AND 2019
(in thousands, except share amounts)
(unaudited)
Common Stock
Accumulated
Additional
Other
Paid-In
Retained
Comprehensive
Treasury
Shares
Amount
Capital
Earnings
Loss
Stock
Total
Balance at October 1, 2020
13,670,639
$
137
$
90,965
$
86,566
$
( 16,698
)
$
—
$
160,970
Net loss
—
—
—
( 1,050
)
—
—
( 1,050
)
Foreign currency translation adjustments
—
—
—
—
197
—
197
Issuance of common stock pursuant to the vesting of restricted stock units
57,332
—
—
—
—
—
—
Purchase of treasury stock
( 117,637
)
—
—
—
—
( 828
)
( 828
)
Stock-based compensation
—
—
548
—
—
—
548
Balance at December 31, 2020
13,610,334
137
$
91,513
$
85,516
$
( 16,501
)
$
( 828
)
$
159,837
Balance at October 1, 2019
13,630,666
$
136
$
88,660
$
105,808
$
( 15,757
)
$
—
$
178,847
Net loss
—
—
—
( 9,282
)
—
—
( 9,282
)
Foreign currency translation adjustments
—
—
—
—
566
—
566
Issuance of common stock pursuant to the vesting of restricted stock units
30,823
1
—
—
—
—
1
Forfeiture of restricted stock
—
—
—
—
—
—
—
Stock-based compensation
—
—
590
—
—
—
590
Balance at December 31, 2019
13,661,489
137
$
89,250
$
96,526
$
( 15,191
)
$
—
$
170,722
The accompanying notes are an integral part of the consolidated financial statements.
6
GEOSPACE TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
(in thousands)
(unaudited)
Three Months Ended
December 31, 2020
December 31, 2019
Cash flows from operating activities:
Net loss
$
( 1,050
)
$
( 9,282
)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash provided (used in) by operating activities:
Deferred income tax expense (benefit)
6
( 25
)
Rental equipment depreciation
3,831
4,443
Property, plant and equipment depreciation
985
930
Amortization of intangible assets
433
433
Stock-based compensation expense
548
590
Bad debt expense
7
27
Inventory obsolescence expense
617
1,436
Change in estimate of collectability of rental revenue
—
7,993
Change in estimated fair value of contingent consideration
( 697
)
—
Gross profit from sale of used rental equipment
( 4,127
)
( 284
)
Gain on disposal of property, plant and equipment
—
( 14
)
Effects of changes in operating assets and liabilities:
Trade accounts and other receivables
5,143
( 8,460
)
Unbilled receivables
( 4,263
)
—
Inventories
( 2,065
)
( 3,126
)
Deferred cost of revenue and other assets
( 1,422
)
( 954
)
Accounts payable trade
4,053
2,284
Deferred revenue and other liabilities
311
651
Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities
2,310
( 3,358
)
Cash flows from investing activities:
Purchase of property, plant and equipment
( 597
)
( 1,670
)
Proceeds from the sale of property, plant and equipment
—
40
Investment in rental equipment
( 13
)
( 5,152
)
Proceeds from the sale of used rental equipment
112
1,146
Net cash used in investing activities
( 498
)
( 5,636
)
Cash flows from financing activities:
Purchase of treasury stock
( 828
)
—
Net cash used in financing activities
( 828
)
—
Effect of exchange rate changes on cash
49
210
Increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents
1,033
( 8,784
)
Cash and cash equivalents, beginning of fiscal year
32,686
18,925
Cash and cash equivalents, end of fiscal period
$
33,719
$
10,141
SUPPLEMENTAL CASH FLOW INFORMATION:
Cash paid for interest
$
—
$
12
Cash paid for income taxes
40
1,440
Note receivable in connection with sale of used rental equipment
9,868
—
Inventory transferred to (from) rental equipment
( 667
)
4,070
The accompanying notes are an integral part of the consolidated financial statements.
7
GEOSPACE TECHNOLOGIES CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (unaudited)
1. Significant Accounting Policies
Basis of Presentation
The consolidated balance sheet of Geospace Technologies Corporation and its subsidiaries (the “Company”) at September 30, 2020 was derived from the Company’s audited consolidated financial statements at that date. The consolidated balance sheet at December 31, 2020 and the consolidated statements of operations, comprehensive loss, stockholders’ equity and cash flows for the three months ended December 31, 2020 and 2019 were prepared by the Company without audit. In the opinion of management, all adjustments, consisting of normal recurring adjustments, necessary to present fairly the consolidated financial position, results of operations and cash flows were made. All intercompany balances and transactions have been eliminated. The results of operations for the three months ended December 31, 2020 are not necessarily indicative of the operating results for a full year or of future operations.
Certain information and footnote disclosures normally included in financial statements presented in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America were omitted pursuant to the rules of the Securities and Exchange Commission. The accompanying consolidated financial statements should be read in conjunction with the financial statements and notes thereto contained in the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the Company’s fiscal year ended September 30, 2020.
Reclassifications
Certain amounts previously presented in the consolidated financial statements have been reclassified to conform to the current year presentation. Such reclassifications had no effect on previously reported net loss, stockholders’ equity or cash flows.
Use of Estimates
The preparation of financial statements in conformity with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America requires the use of estimates and assumptions that affect the amounts reported in the financial statements and accompanying notes. The Company considers many factors in selecting appropriate operational and financial accounting policies and controls, and in developing the estimates and assumptions that are used in the preparation of these financial statements. The Company continually evaluates its estimates, including those related to bad debt reserves, collectability of rental revenue, inventory obsolescence reserves, self-insurance reserves, product warranty reserves, useful lives of long-lived assets, impairment of long-lived assets and intangible assets, contingent consideration, investment in debt security and deferred income tax assets. The Company bases its estimates on historical experience and various other factors that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances. While management believes current estimates are reasonable and appropriate, actual results may differ from these estimates under different conditions or assumptions.
Cash and Cash Equivalents
The Company considers all highly liquid investments purchased with an original or remaining maturity at the time of purchase of three months or less to be cash equivalents. At December 31, 2020, cash and cash equivalents included $ 5.0 million held by the Company’s foreign subsidiaries and branch offices. If the Company were to repatriate the cash held by its foreign subsidiaries, it could be required to accrue and pay taxes on any amount repatriated. The Tax Cut and Jobs Act (“2017 Tax Act”) creates new taxes on certain foreign earnings and also requires entities to pay a one-time transition tax on undistributed earnings of their foreign subsidiaries which were previously tax deferred. The Company has determined it is no t required to pay transition tax on the undistributed earnings of its foreign subsidiaries since it had no accumulated foreign earnings on a consolidated basis.
Recently Issued Accounting Pronouncements
In June 2016, the FASB issued guidance surrounding credit losses for financial instruments that replaces the incurred loss impairment methodology in generally accepted accounting principles. The new impairment model requires immediate recognition of estimated credit losses expected to occur for most financial assets and certain other financial instruments. For available-for-sale debt securities with unrealized losses, credit losses will be recognized as allowances rather than reductions in the amortized cost of the securities. As a small reporting company, the Company must adopt this standard no later than the first quarter of its fiscal year ending September 30, 2024. Early adoption is permitted. The standard’s provisions will be applied as a cumulative-effect adjustment to
8
retained earnings as of the beginning of the first effective reporting period. The Company intends to adopt this standard during the first quarter of its fiscal year ending September 30, 2024 and is currently evaluating the impact of this new guidance on its consolidated financial statements.
In December 2019, the FASB issued guidance on simplifying the accounting for income taxes. The guidance eliminates certain exceptions to the general principles in Topic 740 and clarifies and amends existing guidance to improve consistent application. This guidance is effective for fiscal years and interim periods within those fiscal years, beginning after December 15, 2020. Certain amendments within the guidance are required to be applied on a retrospective basis for all periods presented; others are to be applied using a modified retrospective approach with a cumulative-effect adjustment to retained earnings, if any, as of the beginning of the first reporting period in which the guidance is adopted; and yet others are to be applied using either basis. All other amendments not specified in the guidance should be applied on a prospective basis. Early adoption is permitted. An entity that elects to early adopt in an interim period should reflect any adjustments as of the beginning of the annual period that includes that interim period. Additionally, an entity that elects early adoption must adopt all the amendments in the same period. The Company intends to adopt this standard during the first quarter of its fiscal year ending September 30, 2022 and is currently evaluating the new guidance to determine the impact it will have on its condensed consolidated financial statements.
2. Revenue Recognition
In accordance with ASC Topic 606, Revenue from Contracts with Customers (“ASC 606”), the Company recognizes revenue when performance of contractual obligations are satisfied, generally when control of the promised goods or services is transferred to its customers, in an amount that reflects the consideration it expects to be entitled to in exchange for those goods or services.
The Company primarily derives product revenue from the sale of its manufactured products. Revenue from these product sales, including the sale of used rental equipment, is recognized when obligations under the terms of a contract are satisfied, control is transferred and collectability of the sales price is probable. The Company assesses collectability during the contract assessment phase. In situations where collectability of the sales price is not probable, the Company recognizes revenue when it determines that collectability is probable or non-refundable cash is received from its customers. Transfer of control generally occurs with shipment or delivery, depending on the terms of the underlying contract. The Company’s products are generally sold without any customer acceptance provisions, and the Company’s standard terms of sale do not allow customers to return products for credit.
Revenue from engineering services is recognized as services are rendered over the duration of a project, or as billed on a per hour basis. Field service revenue is recognized when services are rendered and is generally priced on a per day rate.
The Company also generates revenue from short-term rentals under operating leases of its manufactured products. Rental revenue is recognized as earned over the rental period if collectability of the rent is reasonably assured. Rentals of the Company’s equipment generally range from daily rentals to minimum rental periods of up to six months or longer. The Company has determined that ASC 606 does not apply to rental contracts, which are within the scope of ASC Topic 842, Leases .
As permissible under the new standard, sales taxes and transaction-based taxes are excluded from revenue. The Company does not disclose the value of unsatisfied performance obligations for contracts with an original expected duration of one year or less. Additionally, the Company expenses costs incurred to obtain contracts when incurred because the amortization period would have been one year or less. These costs are recorded in selling, general and administrative expenses.
The Company has elected to treat shipping and handling activities in a sales transaction after the customer obtains control of the goods as a fulfillment cost and not as a promised service. Accordingly, fulfillment costs related to the shipping and handling of goods are accrued at the time of shipment. Amounts billed to a customer in a sales transaction related to reimbursable shipping and handling costs are included in revenue and the associated costs incurred by the Company for reimbursable shipping and handling expenses are reported in cost of revenue.
During the third quarter of fiscal year 2020, the Company was awarded $ 10.5 million contract (inclusive of a subsequent contract amendment of $ 0.3 million) with the U.S. Customs and Border Protection (“CBP”) to provide a technology solution to the Department of Homeland Security. Revenue recognized under the contract for fiscal year 2020 and for the three months ended December 31, 2020 was $ 0.3 million and $ 8.8 million, respectively. The Company had unbilled receivables of $ 4.3 million at December 31, 2020 under this contract. Unrecognized revenue for unsatisfied performance obligations on this contract at December 31, 2020 was approximately $ 1.6 million. The Company anticipates the majority of the revenue on the remaining performance obligation on this contract will be recognized in the second or third quarter of fiscal year 2021. Unsatisfied performance obligations on all other contracts held by the Company at December 31, 2020 had an original duration of one year or less.
At December 31, 2020 and September 30, 2020, the Company had deferred contract liabilities of zero dollars and $ 0.2 million, respectively, which are included in current liabilities on the Company’s consolidated balance sheet as a component of deferred revenue and other liabilities. The Company had no deferred contract costs at December 31, 2020 and September 30, 2020. During the three months ended December 31, 2020 and 2019, revenue of $ 0.2 million and zero dollars, respectively, was recognized from deferred contract liabilities. No cost of revenue was recognized from deferred contract costs for the three months ended December 31, 2020 and 2019.
9
During the second quarter of fiscal year 2020, the Company partially financed a $ 12.5 million product sale by entering into a $ 10.0 million promissory note with the customer. The note is for a three-year term with monthly principal and interest payments of $ 0.3 million. Due to the financial condition of the customer, the Company has concerns over the probable collectability of the promissory note. As a result, the Company has no t recognized any revenue or cost of revenue on the product sale. The Company has received payments from the customer totaling $ 5.3 million (exclusive of interest) as of December 31, 2020 related to the product sale, which is reflected on the Company’s consolidated balance sheet as non-current deferred revenue. Management does not intend to recognize revenue and cost of revenue from the product sale until it becomes probable that the customer will satisfy its financial obligation to the Company.
For each of the Company’s operating segments, the following table presents revenue only from the sale of products and the performance of services under contracts with customers (in thousands). Therefore, the table excludes all revenue earned from rental contracts.
Three Months Ended
December 31, 2020
December 31, 2019
Oil and Gas Markets
Traditional exploration product revenue
$
997
$
2,330
Wireless exploration product revenue
10,029
404
Reservoir product revenue
29
180
Total revenue
11,055
2,914
Adjacent Markets
Industrial product revenue
4,407
3,596
Imaging product revenue
2,463
2,476
Total revenue
6,870
6,072
Emerging Markets
Revenue
8,797
97
Total
$
26,722
$
9,083
See Note 13 for more information on the Company’s operating segments.
For each of the geographic areas where the Company operates, the following table presents revenue (in thousands) from the sale of products and services under contracts with customers. The table excludes all revenue earned from rental contracts:
Three Months Ended
December 31, 2020
December 31, 2019
Asia
$
11,373
$
445
Canada
407
473
Europe
1,175
1,413
United States
13,364
6,597
Other
403
155
Total
$
26,722
$
9,083
Revenue is attributable to countries based on the ultimate destination of the product sold, if known. If the ultimate destination is not known, revenue is attributable to countries based on the geographic location of the initial shipment.
3. Investment in Debt Security
On July 13, 2020, the Company received an interest in a senior secured bond issued from an international seismic marine customer. The Company’s interest in the bond, which has a face value of $ 13.0 million, was received in exchange for $
10
13.0 million of unpaid invoices and late fees owed by the customer. The bond is secured by a third in line lien on the assets owned by the customer and has an 8 % interest rate with bi-annual interest and possible principal payments based on available excess cash flows. Interest payments can be made either in cash or in-kind payments in the form of additional debt security. In-kind interest payments require an 8.8 % interest rate. The bond matures on July 13, 2022 . The bond is listed on the Oslo Alternative Bond Market; however, the actual marketability of the bond is unknown at this time.
As of September 30, 2020, the Company performed a fair value assessment of the investment to determine the bond’s initial carrying amount. In accordance with ASC 825, “Fair Value Instruments”, the Company has determined that the investment is a Level 3 financial instrument primarily due to its current unknown marketability. Because of the distressed financial condition of the customer, the Company believed the fair value of the bond was nominal at September 30, 2020. In January 2021, the Company sold the bond for $ 0.3 million cash pursuant to a purchase agreement (the “Agreement”) entered with a third party (the “Buyer”). Pursuant to the Agreement, the Company will also receive additional cash compensation of $ 2.4 million from the Buyer if certain terms and conditions between the Buyer and the Company’s customer are met by December 31, 2021. In the event these terms and conditions are not met, the Company has the option to repurchase the bond from the Buyer for one dollar ($ 1.00 ).
4. Fair Value of Financial Instruments
The Company’s financial instruments generally include cash and cash equivalents, trade accounts, notes receivables and accounts payable. Due to their short-term maturities, the carrying amounts of these financial instruments are deemed to approximate their fair value on the respective balance sheet dates. The valuation technique used to measure the fair value of the contingent consideration was derived from models utilizing market observable inputs.
The Company measures its contingent consideration at fair value on a recurring basis.
The following tables present the fair value of the Company’s contingent consideration by valuation hierarchy and input (in thousands):
As of December 31, 2020
Quoted Prices in
Active Markets for
Identical Assets
(Level 1)
Significant
Other
Observable
(Level 2)
Significant
Unobservable
(Level 3)
Totals
Contingent consideration - current portion
$
—
$
—
$
( 7,955
)
$
( 7,955
)
Non-current contingent consideration
—
—
( 2,310
)
( 2,310
)
Total
$
—
$
—
$
( 10,265
)
$
( 10,265
)
As of September 30, 2020
Quoted Prices in
Active Markets for
Identical Assets
(Level 1)
Significant
Other
Observable
(Level 2)
Significant
Unobservable
(Level 3)
Totals
Non-current contingent consideration
$
—
$
—
$
( 10,962
)
$
( 10,962
)
Assets and Liabilities Measured on a Nonrecurring Basis
The following table summarizes changes in the fair value of the Company’s Level 3 financial instruments for the three months ended December 31, 2020:
Balance at October 1, 2020
$
10,962
Fair value adjustments
( 697
)
Balance at December 31, 2020
$
10,265
Adjustments to the fair value of the contingent consideration are based on Monte Carlo simulations utilizing inputs which include market comparable information and management assessments regarding potential future scenarios. The Company believes its estimates and assumptions are reasonable, however, there is significant judgement involved.
5. Trade Accounts and Notes Receivable
Trade accounts receivable, net (excluding notes receivable) are reflected in the following table (in thousands):
December 31, 2020
September 30, 2020
Trade accounts receivable
$
5,695
$
14,090
Allowance for doubtful accounts
( 558
)
( 496
)
Total
$
5,137
$
13,594
11
The allowance for doubtful accounts represents the Company’s best estimate of probable credit losses. The Company determines the allowance based upon historical experience and a current review of its trade accounts receivable balances. Trade accounts receivable balances are charged off against the allowance whenever it is probable that the receivable balance will not be recoverable.
Notes receivable are reflected in the following table (in thousands):
December 31, 2020
September 30, 2020
Notes receivable
$
13,373
$
184
Less current portion
( 13,233
)
( 184
)
Non-current notes receivable
$
140
$
—
Promissory notes receivable are generally collateralized by the products sold, and bear interest at rates ranging up to 8 % per year. The promissory notes receivable (including the unrecognized $ 10.0 million promissory note receivable disclosed below) mature at various times through January 2023 . The Company has, on occasion, extended or renewed notes receivable as they mature, but there is no obligation to do so.
During the second quarter of fiscal year 2020, the Company partially financed a $ 12.5 million product sale by entering into a $ 10.0 million secured promissory note with a customer. The note has a three-year term and bears interest at 7 % per year. Principal and interest payments of $ 0.3 million are due monthly until maturity. Due to the financial condition of the customer, the note receivable is not reflected on the Company’s consolidated balance sheet due to collectability concerns. See Note 2 for more information on this matter.
During the first quarter of fiscal year 2021, the Company entered into a $ 13.2 million short-term promissory note with a customer related to the sale of rental equipment and an outstanding receivable balance. The note bears interest at 8 % per annum and is due on or before March 31, 2021 . Principal payments due under the note of $ 6.0 million were received from the customer in January 2021.
6. Inventories
Inventories consist of the following (in thousands):
December 31, 2020
September 30, 2020
Finished goods
$
20,106
$
20,798
Work in process
4,203
984
Raw materials
46,692
47,041
Obsolescence reserve
( 35,062
)
( 34,960
)
35,939
33,863
Less current portion
( 14,057
)
( 16,933
)
Non-current portion
$
21,882
$
16,930
Raw materials include semi-finished goods and component parts that totaled approximately $ 24.6 million and $ 24.3 million at December 31, 2020 and September 30, 2020, respectively.
7. Leases
As Lessee
The Company has elected not to record operating right-of-use assets or operating lease liabilities on its consolidated balance sheet for leases having a minimum term of 12 months or less. Such leases are expensed on a straight-line basis over the lease term. The Company has one operating right-of use asset related to a leased facility in Austin, Texas. The lease commenced in May 2019 and is for a two-year term. The operating right-of-use asset had a balance of $ 40,000 as of December 31, 2020. Future minimum lease payments related to the operating lease as of December 31, 2020 was $ 42,000 , all of which is due in fiscal year 2021.
Operating lease costs are recorded in a single expense in the consolidated statements of operations and allocated to the right-of-use asset and the related lease liability as amortization expense and interest expense, respectively. Right-of-use asset operating lease costs of $ 38,000 and $ 38,000 and short-term lease costs of $ 74,000 and $ 76,000 , both included as a component of total operating expenses, were recognized for the three months ended December 30, 2020 and 2019, respectively. The discount rate used on the operating right-of-use asset was 5 %, which represented the Company’s incremental borrowing rate at the lease’s inception.
12
Supplemental cash flow information related to the operating right-of-use asset is a follows (in thousands):
Three Months Ended
December 31, 2020
December 31, 2019
Cash paid for amounts included in the measurement of lease liability
$
42
$
40
The Company has entered into a new operating lease on a facility in Austin, Texas which commences in March 2021. The Company will record the lease as an operating right-of-use asset in the second quarter of fiscal year 2021. The lease has a seven-year term with future minimum lease payments of $ 0.9 million.
As Lessor
The Company leases equipment to customers primarily for terms of six months or less. All of the Company’s leasing arrangements as lessor are classified as operating leases. The majority of the Company’s rental revenue is generated from its marine-based wireless seismic data acquisition system.
The Company regularly evaluates the collectability of its lease receivables on a lease by lease basis. The evaluation primarily consists of reviewing past due account balances and other factors such as the credit quality of the customer, historical trends of the customer and current economic conditions. The Company suspends revenue recognition when the collectability of amounts due are no longer probable and concurrently records a direct write-off of the lease receivable to rental revenue and limits future rental revenue recognition to cash received. As of December 31, 2020, the Company had lease receivables from customers, net of reserves, of $ 3.9 million.
Rental revenue for the three months ended December 31, 2020 and 2019 was $ 1.7 million and $ 8.6 million, respectively.
At December 31, 2020, future minimum lease obligations due from the Company’s leasing customers (all in fiscal year 2021) were $ 3.0 million.
Rental equipment consisted of the following (in thousands):
December 31, 2020
September 30, 2020
Rental equipment, primarily wireless recording equipment
$
97,938
$
114,783
Accumulated depreciation and impairment
( 53,771
)
( 60,466
)
$
44,167
$
54,317
8. Asset Held for Sale
13
The Company owns a property located in Bogot á , Colombia that it is marketing for sale. The property was used for warehousing its rental equipment operations, product sales and service support to its customers in South America. The property’s carrying value at December 31, 2020 and September 31, 2020 of $ 0.7 million and $ 0.6 million, respectively, is classified as assets held for sale in the accompanying consolidated balance sheets as of December 31, 2020 and September 30, 2020. The Company believes the fair market value of the property exceeds its carrying value and that the property will be sold within the next 12-months.
9. Goodwill and Other Intangible Assets
The Company’s consolidated goodwill and other intangible assets consisted of the following (in thousands):
Weighted-
Average
Remaining Useful
Lives (in years)
December 31, 2020
September 30, 2020
Goodwill
$
4,337
$
4,337
Other intangible assets:
Developed technology
16.2
5,918
5,918
Customer relationships
2.2
3,900
3,900
Trade names
3.2
1,930
1,930
Non-compete agreements
2.2
170
170
Total other intangible assets
9.3
11,918
11,918
Accumulated amortization
( 4,020
)
( 3,587
)
$
7,898
$
8,331
The Company’s goodwill is entirely associated with its Emerging Markets reporting unit. At December 31, 2020, the Company determined there were no triggering events requiring an impairment assessment of its goodwill and other intangible assets.
Other intangible assets amortization expense for each of the three months ended December 31, 2020 and 2019 was $ 0.4 million.
As of December 31, 2020, future estimated amortization expense of other intangible assets is as follows (in thousands):
For fiscal years ending September 30,
2021 (remainder)
$
1,299
2022
1,624
2023
714
2024
342
2025
329
Thereafter
3,590
$
7,898
10. Stock-Based Compensation
During the three months ended December 31, 2020, the Company issued 154,950 restricted stock units (“RSUs”) under its 2014 Long Term Incentive Plan, as amended (the “Plan”). The RSUs issued include both time-based and performance-based vesting provisions. The weighted average grant date fair value of each RSU was $ 6.52 per unit. The grant date fair value of the RSUs was $ 1.0 million, which will be charged to expense over the next four years as the restrictions lapse. Compensation expense for RSUs was determined based on the closing market price of the Company’s stock on the date of grant applied to the total number of units that are anticipated to fully vest. Each RSU represents a contingent right to receive one share of the Company’s common stock upon vesting. As of December 31, 2020, the Company had unrecognized compensation expense of $ 3.1 million relating to RSUs that is expected to be recognized over a weighted average period of 3.2 years.
As of December 31, 2020, the Company had $ 0.7 million of unrecognized compensation expense related to restricted stock awards (“RSAs”) that is expected to be recognized over a weighted average period of 1.1 years.
As of December 31, 2020, there were 315,375 RSUs, 53,472 RSAs and 38,800 nonqualified stock options outstanding.
14
11. Loss Per Common Share
The following table summarizes the calculation of net loss and weighted average common shares and common equivalent shares outstanding for purposes of the computation of loss per share (in thousands, except share and per share data):
Three Months Ended
December 31, 2020
December 31, 2019
Net loss
$
( 1,050
)
$
( 9,282
)
Less: Loss allocable to unvested restricted stock
—
—
Loss attributable to common shareholders for
diluted earnings per share
$
( 1,050
)
$
( 9,282
)
Weighted average number of common share equivalents:
Common shares used in basic loss per share
13,571,510
13,454,254
Common share equivalents outstanding related to
stock options and RSUs
—
—
Total weighted average common shares and common
share equivalents used in diluted loss per share
13,571,510
13,454,254
Loss per share:
Basic
$
( 0.08
)
$
( 0.69
)
Diluted
$
( 0.08
)
$
( 0.69
)
For the calculation of diluted loss per share for the three months ended December 31, 2020, 38,800 stock options and 315,375 non-vested RSUs were excluded in the calculation of weighted average shares outstanding since their impact on diluted loss per share was antidilutive. For the calculation of diluted loss per share for the three months ended December 31, 2019, 165,600 stock options and 253,320 non-vested RSUs, respectively, were excluded in the calculation of weighted average shares outstanding since their impact on diluted loss per share was antidilutive.
12. Commitments and Contingencies
Contingent Consideration
In connection with its acquisitions of Quantum Technology Sciences, Inc. (“Quantum”) and the OptoSeis ® fi ber optic sensing technology business, the Company recorded contingent purchase price payments, or contingent consideration, that may be owed in the future. For both acquisitions, the contingent payments are based on future receipt of contract awards and the resulting revenue derived from such contracts. The Company utilizes the services of independent valuation consultants to assist with the estimation of the fair value of this contingent consideration. The determination of fair value is inherently unpredictable since it requires estimates and projections of future revenue, including the size, length, timing and, in the case of Quantum, the extent of gross profits earned under its future contracts. As a result, the Company anticipates fair value adjustments to these liabilities over the respective earn-out periods, and these adjustments will result in either charges or credits to the Company’s operating expenses when the fair value of the contingent consideration increases or decreases, respectively.
The Company recorded an initial contingent earn-out liability of $ 7.7 million in connection with its July 2018 acquisition of Quantum. Contingent payments, if any, may be paid in the form of cash or Company stock and will be derived from eligible revenue generated during a four-year earn-out period ending July 2022 . The maximum amount of contingent payments is $ 23.5 million over the four-year earn-out period. At September 30, 2020, the contingent earn-out liability was valued at $ 5.8 million. During the three months ended December 31, 2020, the Company recorded an adjustment of $ 0.8 million to decrease the liability to an estimated fair value of $ 5.0 million. The decrease in the earn-out liability for the three months ended December 31, 2020 was due to a decrease in projected eligible revenue.
The Company recorded an initial contingent earn-out liability of $ 4.3 million in connection with its November 2018 acquisition of all the intellectual property and related assets of the OptoSeis ® fiber optic sensing technology. Contingent cash payments, if any, will be derived from eligible revenue generated during a five-and-a-half year earn-out period ending in May 2024 . The maximum amount of contingent payments is $ 23.2 million over the five-and-a-half year earn-out period. At September 30, 2020, the contingent earn-out liability was valued at $ 5.2 million. During the three months ended December 31, 2020, the Company recorded an adjustment of $ 0.1 million to increase the liability to an estimated value of $ 5.3 million.
The Company reviews and assesses the fair value of its contingent earn-out liabilities on a quarterly basis.
Operating Leases
15
The Company leases office space and certain equipment for terms of seven years or less. As of December 31, 2020, future minimum lease obligations, inclusive of leases which have not yet commenced, were $ 0.9 million.
Legal Proceedings
The Company is involved in various pending legal actions in the ordinary course of its business. Management is unable to predict the ultimate outcome of these actions, because of the inherent uncertainty of such actions. However, management believes that the most probable, ultimate resolution of these pending matters will not have a material adverse effect on the Company’s consolidated financial position, results of operations or cash flows.
13. Segment Information
The Company reports and evaluates financial information for three operating segments: Oil and Gas Markets, Adjacent Markets and Emerging Markets. The Oil and Gas Markets segment products include wireless seismic data acquisition systems, reservoir characterization products and services, and traditional seismic exploration products such as geophones, hydrophones, leader wire, connectors, cables, marine streamer retrieval and steering devices and various other seismic products. The Adjacent Markets segment products include imaging equipment, water meter products, offshore cables, and seismic sensors used for vibration monitoring and geotechnical applications such as mine safety applications and earthquake detection. The Emerging Markets segment provides seismic products targeted at the border and perimeter security markets.
The following table summarizes the Company’s segment information (in thousands):
Three Months Ended
December 31, 2020
December 31, 2019
Revenue:
Oil and Gas Markets
$
12,763
$
11,509
Adjacent Markets
6,900
6,099
Emerging Markets
8,797
97
Total
$
28,460
$
17,705
Income (loss) from operations:
Oil and Gas Markets
$
( 5,986
)
$
( 3,894
)
Adjacent Markets
1,260
851
Emerging Markets
6,479
( 1,365
)
Corporate
( 3,212
)
( 3,415
)
Total
$
( 1,459
)
$
( 7,823
)
14. Income Taxes
Consolidated income tax expense for the three months ended December 31, 2020 and 2019 was $ 0.1 million and $ 1.4 million, respectively. This decrease in income tax expense was primarily the result of a decrease in rental revenue earned in foreign jurisdictions requiring tax withholding. The Company is currently unable to record any tax benefits from the tax losses it incurs in the U.S., Canada and Russian Federation due to the uncertainty surrounding its ability to utilize such losses in the future to offset taxable income.
15. Risks and Uncertainties
Concentration of Credit Risk
As of December 31, 2020, the Company had a note receivable of $ 13.2 million due from one customer, of which $ 6.0 million was received in January 2021. Revenue recognized from this customer during the three months ended December 31, 2020 was $ 11.2 million. Current assets at December 31, 2020 also included unbilled receivables from one customer of $ 4.3 million. Revenue recognized from this customer during the three months ended December 31, 2020 was $ 8.8 million.
COVID-19 Pandemic
The ongoing COVID-19 pandemic has spread across the globe and has negatively impacted worldwide economic activity, including the global demand for oil and natural gas, and continues to create challenges in the Company’s markets. In addition to measures the Company has taken voluntarily, the government authorities in the Company’s markets have taken actions to mitigate the
16
spread of COVID-19, including travel restrictions, border closings, restrictions on public gatherings, stay-at-home orders and other quarantine and isolation measures. Following the initial outbreak of the virus, the Company experienced disruptions in its supply chain , a reduction in demand for certain products, cancellation of rental contracts and difficulty with field employees and salespeople traveling domestically and abroad to conduct the Company’s business. COVID-19 continues to pose the risk that the Company or its employees, contractors, suppliers and customers may be prevented from conducting business activities for an indefinite period of time, including due to spread of the disease within these groups or due to restrictions that may be requested or mandated by governmental authorities, including quarantines of certain geographic areas, restrictions on travel and other restrictions that prohibit employees from going to work, both around the world as well as in certain jurisdictions in the United States. The continued spread of COVID–19 and the related mitigation measures ha ve disrupt ed the Company’s supply chain, resulting in longer lead times in materials shipped from suppliers and extended the shipping time for these materials to reach the Company’s facilities. If COVID–19 continues to spread or the response to contain the COVID–19 pandemic is unsuccessful, the Company could experience a material adverse effect on its business, financial condition, results of operations and liquidity .
Decrease in Oil Commodity Price Levels
Demand for many of the Company’s products and the profitability of its operations depend primarily on the level of worldwide oil and gas exploration activity. Prevailing oil and gas prices, with an emphasis on crude oil prices, and market expectations regarding potential changes in such prices significantly affect the level of worldwide oil and gas exploration activity. During periods of improved energy commodity prices, the capital spending budgets of oil and natural gas operators tend to expand, which results in increased demand for the Company’s products. Conversely, in periods when these energy commodity prices deteriorate, capital spending budgets of oil and natural gas operators tend to contract and the demand for the Company’s products generally weakens. Historically, the markets for oil and gas have been volatile and are subject to wide fluctuations in response to changes in the supply of and demand for oil and gas, market uncertainty and a variety of additional factors that are beyond its control. These factors include the level of consumer demand, regional and international economic conditions, weather conditions, domestic and foreign governmental regulations (including those related to climate change), price and availability of alternative fuels, political conditions, instability and hostilities in the Middle East and other significant oil-producing regions, increases and decreases in the supply of oil and gas, the effect of worldwide energy conservation measures and the ability of OPEC to set and maintain production levels and prices of foreign imports.
Sustained low oil prices or the failure of oil prices to rise in the future and the resulting downturns or lack of growth in the energy industry and energy‑related business, could have a negative impact on the Company’s results of operations and financial condition. In light of the decline in oil prices caused by the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, oil and gas exploration and production companies experienced a significant reduction in cash flows, which resulted in reductions in their capital spending budgets for oil and gas exploration-focused activities, including seismic data acquisition activities. Demand for the sale of the Company’s seismic products targeted at customers in its Oil and Gas Markets segment, which segment has historically accounted for the majority of its revenue, significantly declined during fiscal year 2020, and both product sales and rental revenue could significantly diminish during the remainder of fiscal year 2021 or beyond as a result of significant uncertainty in the outlook for oil and gas exploration. Specifically, the Company expects these challenging industry conditions to result in decreased demand for its marine wireless nodal products and its land-based seismic products, as the demand for such products has been, and will likely continue to be, vulnerable to downturns in the economy and the oil and gas industry in general. In addition to the negative effects of slowdowns in the United States economy, slowing economic growth in growing economies like those in China and India could lead to a decline in demand for crude oil and natural gas. Slowdowns in economic activity would likely reduce worldwide demand for energy and result in an extended period of lower crude oil and natural gas prices. Any material changes in oil and gas prices or other market trends that adversely impact seismic exploration activity would likely affect the demand for the Company’s products and could materially and adversely affect its results of operations and liquidity.
Generally, imbalances in the supply and demand for oil and gas will affect oil and gas prices and, in such circumstances, demand for the Company’s oil and gas products may be adversely affected when world supplies exceed demand.
17
Text extracted from the filing as submitted to EDGAR. Formatting, tables and exhibits are simplified for reading; the original document is authoritative for anything you rely on.