Item 1. Financial Statements
ITEM 1. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
CHOICE HOTELS INTERNATIONAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME
(IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT PER SHARE AMOUNTS)
(UNAUDITED)
Three Months Ended Six Months Ended
June 30, June 30,
2021 2020 2021 2020
REVENUES
Royalty fees $ 106,242 $ 50,152 $ 172,289 $ 120,491
Initial franchise and relicensing fees 7,328 6,676 12,755 13,960
Procurement services 12,092 10,697 23,283 24,494
Marketing and reservation system 135,988 79,677 227,509 190,062
Owned hotels 8,993 2,108 13,347 11,530
Other 7,701 2,423 12,108 9,371
Total revenues 278,344 151,733 461,291 369,908
OPERATING EXPENSES
Selling, general and administrative 34,470 43,935 64,737 72,318
Depreciation and amortization 6,232 6,398 12,594 12,927
Marketing and reservation system 113,285 89,309 211,458 219,756
Owned hotels 5,333 2,976 9,480 9,010
Total operating expenses
159,320 142,618 298,269 314,011
Loss on impairment of assets — ( 1,226 ) — ( 1,226 )
Operating income 119,024 7,889 163,022 54,671
OTHER INCOME AND EXPENSES, NET
Interest expense 11,691 13,082 23,468 24,462
Interest income ( 1,234 ) ( 2,245 ) ( 2,515 ) ( 4,533 )
Loss on extinguishment of debt — — — 607
Other (gains) losses ( 2,108 ) ( 3,556 ) ( 3,313 ) 1,173
Equity in net (gain) loss of affiliates ( 1,179 ) 3,486 4,818 5,441
Total other income and expenses, net 7,170 10,767 22,458 27,150
Income (loss) before income taxes 111,854 ( 2,878 ) 140,564 27,521
Income tax expense (benefit) 25,972 ( 437 ) 32,345 ( 25,501 )
Net income (loss) $ 85,882 $ ( 2,441 ) $ 108,219 $ 53,022
Basic earnings (losses) per share $ 1.54 $ ( 0.04 ) $ 1.95 $ 0.96
Diluted earnings (losses) per share $ 1.53 $ ( 0.04 ) $ 1.93 $ 0.95
Cash dividends declared per share $ 0.225 $ — $ 0.225 $ 0.225
The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.
3
Table of Contents
CHOICE HOTELS INTERNATIONAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF COMPREHENSIVE INCOME
(IN THOUSANDS)
(UNAUDITED)
Three Months Ended Six Months Ended
June 30, June 30,
2021 2020 2021 2020
Net income (loss) $ 85,882 $ ( 2,441 ) $ 108,219 $ 53,022
Other comprehensive income (loss), net of tax:
Foreign currency translation adjustment 71 187 123 ( 477 )
Other comprehensive income (loss), net of tax 71 187 123 ( 477 )
Comprehensive income (loss) $ 85,953 $ ( 2,254 ) $ 108,342 $ 52,545
The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.
4
Table of Contents
CHOICE HOTELS INTERNATIONAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
(IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT SHARE AMOUNTS)
(UNAUDITED)
June 30, 2021 December 31, 2020
ASSETS
Current assets
Cash and cash equivalents $ 307,975 $ 234,779
Receivables (net of allowance for credit losses of $ 57,726 and $ 59,424 , respectively)
201,038 149,921
Income taxes receivable 346 4,186
Notes receivable (net of allowance for credit losses of $ 7,428 and $ 4,179 , respectively)
70,887 24,048
Other current assets 27,294 19,980
Total current assets 607,540 432,914
Property and equipment, at cost, net 342,121 334,901
Operating lease right-of-use assets 13,163 17,688
Goodwill 159,196 159,196
Intangible assets, net 307,559 303,725
Notes receivable (net of allowance for credit losses of $ 12,611 and $ 15,305 , respectively)
67,922 95,785
Investments, employee benefit plans, at fair value 31,484 29,104
Investments in unconsolidated entities 42,793 57,879
Deferred income taxes 71,161 67,745
Other assets 85,855 88,396
Total assets $ 1,728,794 $ 1,587,333
LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS’ EQUITY (DEFICIT)
Current liabilities
Accounts payable $ 90,407 $ 83,329
Accrued expenses and other current liabilities 103,160 78,920
Deferred revenue 63,394 50,290
Liability for guest loyalty program 59,014 43,308
Total current liabilities 315,975 255,847
Long-term debt 1,059,602 1,058,738
Long-term deferred revenue 113,392 122,406
Deferred compensation and retirement plan obligations 36,010 33,756
Income taxes payable 20,642 23,394
Operating lease liabilities 7,822 12,739
Liability for guest loyalty program 60,591 77,071
Other liabilities 9,827 9,134
Total liabilities 1,623,861 1,593,085
Commitments and Contingencies
Common stock, $ 0.01 par value; 160,000,000 shares authorized; 95,065,638 shares issued at June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020; 55,646,993 and 55,535,554 shares outstanding at June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively
951 951
Additional paid-in-capital 246,604 233,921
Accumulated other comprehensive loss ( 4,523 ) ( 4,646 )
Treasury stock, at cost; 39,418,645 and 39,530,084 shares at June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively
( 1,258,295 ) ( 1,260,478 )
Retained earnings 1,120,196 1,024,500
Total shareholders’ equity (deficit) 104,933 ( 5,752 )
Total liabilities and shareholders’ equity (deficit) $ 1,728,794 $ 1,587,333
The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.
5
Table of Contents
CHOICE HOTELS INTERNATIONAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
(IN THOUSANDS)
(UNAUDITED)
Six Months Ended
June 30,
2021 2020
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES
Net income $ 108,219 $ 53,022
Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities:
Depreciation and amortization 12,594 12,927
Depreciation and amortization – marketing and reservation system 12,076 9,585
Franchise agreement acquisition cost amortization 6,294 5,558
Loss on asset disposition and impairments — 1,226
Loss on debt extinguishment — 607
Non-cash stock compensation and other charges 16,295 458
Non-cash interest and other investment (income) loss ( 6,824 ) 1,097
Deferred income taxes ( 3,465 ) ( 27,098 )
Equity in net losses from unconsolidated joint ventures, less distributions received 7,398 5,588
Franchise agreement acquisition costs, net of reimbursements ( 18,078 ) ( 12,567 )
Change in working capital and other ( 32,102 ) ( 48,951 )
Net cash provided by operating activities 102,407 1,452
CASH FLOWS FROM INVESTING ACTIVITIES
Investment in property and equipment ( 23,393 ) ( 21,094 )
Investment in intangible assets ( 2,976 ) ( 830 )
Contributions to equity method investments ( 1,136 ) ( 2,997 )
Distributions from equity method investments — 3,113
Proceeds from sale of equity method investments 11,830 —
Purchases of investments, employee benefit plans ( 931 ) ( 1,932 )
Proceeds from sales of investments, employee benefit plans 1,994 1,901
Purchase/issuance of notes receivable ( 17,918 ) ( 7,730 )
Collection of notes receivable 63 63
Other items, net ( 486 ) ( 27 )
Net cash used in investing activities ( 32,953 ) ( 29,533 )
CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES
Net borrowings pursuant to revolving credit facilities — 170,300
Net borrowings pursuant to term loan — 249,500
Principal payments on long-term debt — ( 33,369 )
Debt issuance costs — ( 492 )
Purchase of treasury stock ( 5,362 ) ( 54,536 )
Dividends paid — ( 25,228 )
Proceeds from exercise of stock options 9,115 2,768
Net cash provided by financing activities 3,753 308,943
Net change in cash and cash equivalents 73,207 280,862
Effect of foreign exchange rate changes on cash and cash equivalents ( 11 ) ( 489 )
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period 234,779 33,766
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period $ 307,975 $ 314,139
Supplemental disclosure of cash flow information
Cash payments during the period for:
Income taxes, net of refunds $ 17,108 $ 1,114
Interest, net of capitalized interest $ 21,885 $ 23,248
Non-cash investing and financing activities:
Dividends declared but not paid $ 12,521 $ 46
Investment in property, equipment and intangibles acquired in accounts payable and accrued liabilities $ 4,085 $ 1,317
The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.
6
Table of Contents
CHOICE HOTELS INTERNATIONAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF SHAREHOLDERS’ EQUITY (DEFICIT)
(IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT SHARE AMOUNTS)
(UNAUDITED)
Common
Stock -
Shares
Outstanding Common
Stock -
Par
Value Additional
Paid-in-
Capital Accumulated
Other
Comprehensive
Income (Loss) Treasury
Stock Retained
Earnings Total
Balance as of December 31, 2019 55,702,628 $ 951 $ 231,160 $ ( 4,550 ) $ ( 1,219,905 ) $ 968,833 $ ( 23,511 )
Cumulative-effect adjustment (1)
— — — — — ( 6,831 ) ( 6,831 )
Net income — — — — — 55,463 55,463
Other comprehensive income (loss) — — — ( 664 ) — — ( 664 )
Share-based payment activity (2)
294,826 — ( 9,607 ) — 8,089 ( 269 ) ( 1,787 )
Dividends declared ($ 0.225 per share) (2)
— — — — — ( 12,452 ) ( 12,452 )
Treasury purchases ( 657,031 ) — — — ( 54,072 ) — ( 54,072 )
Balance as of March 31, 2020 55,340,423 $ 951 $ 221,553 $ ( 5,214 ) $ ( 1,265,888 ) $ 1,004,744 $ ( 43,854 )
Net income — — — — — ( 2,441 ) ( 2,441 )
Other comprehensive income (loss) — — — 187 — — 187
Share-based payment activity (2)
29,997 — 2,166 — 1,825 ( 171 ) 3,820
Dividends declared (2)
— — — — — — —
Treasury purchases ( 6,525 ) — — — ( 464 ) — ( 464 )
Balance as of June 30, 2020 55,363,895 $ 951 $ 223,719 $ ( 5,027 ) $ ( 1,264,527 ) $ 1,002,132 $ ( 42,752 )
Common
Stock -
Shares
Outstanding Common
Stock -
Par
Value Additional
Paid-in-
Capital Accumulated
Other
Comprehensive
Income (Loss) Treasury
Stock Retained
Earnings Total
Balance as of December 31, 2020 55,535,554 $ 951 $ 233,921 $ ( 4,646 ) $ ( 1,260,478 ) $ 1,024,500 $ ( 5,752 )
Net income — — — — — 22,337 22,337
Other comprehensive income (loss) — — — 52 — — 52
Share-based payment activity (2)
48,781 — 3,617 — 4,030 ( 3 ) 7,644
Dividends declared (2)
— — — — — — —
Treasury purchases ( 46,499 ) — — — ( 5,046 ) — ( 5,046 )
Balance as of March 31, 2021 55,537,836 $ 951 $ 237,538 $ ( 4,594 ) $ ( 1,261,494 ) $ 1,046,834 $ 19,235
Net income — — — — — 85,882 85,882
Other comprehensive income (loss) — — — 71 — — 71
Share-based payment activity (2)
111,895 — 9,066 — 3,516 1 12,583
Dividends declared ($ 0.225 per share) (2)
— — — — — ( 12,521 ) ( 12,521 )
Treasury purchases ( 2,738 ) — — — ( 317 ) — ( 317 )
Balance as of June 30, 2021 55,646,993 $ 951 $ 246,604 $ ( 4,523 ) $ ( 1,258,295 ) $ 1,120,196 $ 104,933
(1) Reflects the cumulative effect of ASU 2016-13 , Financial Instruments - Credit Losses (Topic 326) and subsequent amendments issued thereafter (collectively "Topic 326"), which was adopted on January 1, 2020. Refer to Note 3.
(2) During the fourth quarter of 2019, the Company's board of directors announced a 5 % increase to the quarterly dividend rate to $ 0.225 per share from $ 0.215 per share, beginning with the dividend payable in the first quarter of 2020. On February 28, 2020, the Company’s board of directors declared a quarterly cash dividend of $ 0.225 per share of common stock. The dividend was payable on April 16, 2020 to shareholders of record on April 2, 2020. In April 2020, subsequent to the payment of the dividend and in light of uncertainty resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, we suspended future, undeclared dividends. During 2020 and 2021, accumulated dividends were paid to certain shareholders upon vesting of certain performance vested restricted stock units ("PVRSU") which are captured in Share-based payment activity. On May 7, 2021, the Company's board of directors declared a quarterly cash dividend of $ 0.225 per share of common stock.
The accompanying notes are an integral part of these consolidated financial statements.
7
Table of Contents
CHOICE HOTELS INTERNATIONAL, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)
1. Basis of Presentation and Significant Accounting Policies
Basis of Presentation
The accompanying unaudited consolidated financial statements of Choice Hotels International, Inc. and its subsidiaries (together the "Company") have been prepared by the Company in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America ("GAAP") pursuant to the rules and regulations of the Securities and Exchange Commission ("SEC"). All significant intercompany accounts and transactions between the Company and its subsidiaries have been eliminated in consolidation.
The preparation of consolidated financial statements in conformity with GAAP requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets and liabilities and disclosures of contingent assets and liabilities at the date of the consolidated financial statements and the reported amounts of revenues and expenses during the reporting period. Actual results could differ from those estimates. In the opinion of management, the accompanying unaudited consolidated financial statements include all adjustments that are necessary to fairly present the Company's financial position and results of operations. Except as otherwise disclosed, all adjustments are of a normal recurring nature.
Certain information and footnote disclosures normally included in financial statements presented in accordance with GAAP have been omitted. Although we believe the disclosures made are adequate to prevent the information presented from being misleading, these financial statements should be read in conjunction with the consolidated financial statements for the year ended December 31, 2020 and notes thereto included in the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K, filed with the SEC on February 26, 2021. Interim results are not necessarily indicative of the entire year results.
Certain prior year amounts in our consolidated financial statements have been reclassified in order to maintain comparability with current year presentation. Foreign currency transaction gains and losses that were previously presented in selling, general and administrative ("SG&A") expenses are now presented within other gain (loss) in the consolidated statements of income. The reclassification had no effect on the Company’s previously reported results of operations.
Summary of Significant Accounting Policies
The Company’s significant accounting policies are detailed in the “Summary of Significant Accounting Policies” section of Note 1 in the Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2020. The significant accounting policies that changed in 2021 are set forth below.
Recently Adopted Accounting Standards
In December 2019, the FASB issued ASU 2019-12, Simplifying the Accounting for Income Taxes ("ASU 2019-12"). ASU 2019-12 enhances and simplifies various aspects of the income tax accounting guidance in Accounting Standards Codification ("ASC") 740, Income Taxes. The Company adopted ASU 2019-12 on January 1, 2021 and the adoption does not have material impacts on our consolidated financial statements and disclosures .
2. Revenue
Contract Liabilities
Contract liabilities relate to (i) advance consideration received, such as initial franchise and relicensing fees paid when a franchise agreement is executed and system implementation fees paid at time of installation, for services considered to be part of the brand intellectual property performance obligation and (ii) amounts received when Choice Privileges points are issued, but for which revenue is not yet recognized since the related points have not been redeemed.
Deferred revenues from initial and relicensing fees and system implementation fees will typically be recognized over a five - to ten-year period, unless the franchise agreement is terminated and the hotel exits the franchise system whereby remaining deferred amounts will be recognized to revenue in the period of termination. Loyalty points are typically redeemed within three years of issuance.
Significant changes in the contract liabilities balances during the period December 31, 2020 to June 30, 2021 are as follows:
(in thousands)
Balance as of December 31, 2020 $ 156,227
Increases to the contract liability balance due to cash received 44,940
Revenue recognized in the period ( 39,461 )
Balance as of June 30, 2021 $ 161,706
Remaining Performance Obligations
The aggregate amount of transaction price allocated to unsatisfied or partially unsatisfied performance obligations is $ 161.7 million as of June 30, 2021. This amount represents fixed transaction price that will be recognized as revenue in future periods, which is captured in the consolidated balance sheet as current and non-current deferred revenue.
Based on practical expedient elections permitted by ASU 2014-09, Revenue From Contracts with Customers (Topic 606) and subsequent amendments ("Topic 606"), the Company does not disclose the value of unsatisfied performance obligations for (i) variable consideration subject to the sales or usage-based royalty constraint or comprising a component of a series (including franchise, partnership, qualified vendor, and software as a service ("SaaS") agreements), (ii) variable consideration for which we recognize revenue at the amount to which we have the right to invoice for services performed, or (iii) contracts with an expected original duration of one year or less.
Disaggregation of Revenue
Three Months Ended Three Months Ended
June 30, 2021 June 30, 2020
(in thousands) Over time Point in time Total Over time Point in time Total
Royalty fees $ 106,242 $ — $ 106,242 $ 50,152 $ — $ 50,152
Initial franchise and relicensing fees 7,328 — 7,328 6,676 — 6,676
Procurement services 11,502 590 12,092 10,161 536 10,697
Marketing and reservation system 121,944 14,044 135,988 54,436 25,241 79,677
Owned hotels 7,550 1,336 8,886 1,639 361 2,000
Other 7,701 — 7,701 2,163 — 2,163
Total Topic 606 revenues $ 262,267 $ 15,970 278,237 $ 125,227 $ 26,138 151,365
Non-Topic 606 revenues 107 368
Total revenues $ 278,344 $ 151,733
Six Months Ended Six Months Ended
June 30, 2021 June 30, 2020
(in thousands) Over time Point in time Total Over time Point in time Total
Royalty fees $ 172,289 $ — $ 172,289 $ 120,491 $ — $ 120,491
Initial franchise and relicensing fees 12,755 — 12,755 13,960 — 13,960
Procurement services 22,241 1,042 23,283 23,449 1,045 24,494
Marketing and reservation system 200,995 26,514 227,509 153,765 36,297 190,062
Owned hotels 11,068 2,058 13,126 9,660 1,654 11,314
Other 12,108 — 12,108 8,850 — 8,850
Total Topic 606 revenues $ 431,456 $ 29,614 461,070 $ 330,175 $ 38,996 369,171
Non-Topic 606 revenues 221 737
Total revenues $ 461,291 $ 369,908
Non-Topic 606 revenues primarily represent revenue from leasing and are presented in Owned hotels and Other revenues in the consolidated statements of income.
As presented in Note 11, the Corporate & Other segment amounts represent $ 10.9 million and $ 4.5 million for the three months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively, and $ 17.0 million and $ 15.4 million for the six months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively, and are included in the Over time column of Other revenues and the Owned Hotels and Non-Topic 606 revenues rows. The remaining revenues relate to the Hotel Franchising segment.
Royalty fees and Marketing and reservation system revenues are presented net of intersegment revenues of $ 0.7 million and $ 0.1 million for the three months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively, and $ 1.0 million and $ 0.9 million for the six months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively.
3. Notes Receivable and Allowance for Credit Losses
The Company has provided financing in the form of notes receivable loans to franchisees to support the development of properties in strategic markets.
The composition of notes receivable balances based on the level of security credit quality indicator and the allowance for credit losses is as follows:
(in thousands) June 30, 2021 December 31, 2020
Senior $ 123,415 $ 104,716
Subordinated 33,968 33,234
Unsecured 1,465 1,367
Total notes receivable 158,848 139,317
Total allowance for notes receivable credit losses 20,039 19,484
Total notes receivable, net of allowance $ 138,809 $ 119,833
Current portion, net of allowance $ 70,887 $ 24,048
Long-term portion, net of allowance $ 67,922 $ 95,785
During the second quarter of 2021, the Company acquired a senior note with collateral in an underlying operating hotel for $ 17.9 million. The acquired senior note has an origination date in June 2018. Amortized cost basis by year of origination and level of security credit quality indicator are as follows:
(in thousands) 2021 2020 2019 Prior Total
Senior $ — $ — $ 28,964 $ 94,451 $ 123,415
Subordinated — — 2,668 31,300 33,968
Unsecured — — — 1,465 1,465
Total notes receivable $ — $ — $ 31,632 $ 127,216 $ 158,848
The following table summarizes the activity related to the Company’s notes receivable allowance for credit losses, including the impacts of adopting Topic 326:
(in thousands) June 30, 2021 December 31, 2020
Beginning balance $ 19,484 $ 4,556
Allowances established from adoption of Topic 326 — 8,348
Provision for credit losses 555 7,634
Write-offs — ( 1,054 )
Ending balance $ 20,039 $ 19,484
The provisions recorded in the six months ended June 30, 2021 primarily result from changes in the classification of certain loans as collateral-dependent and associated revisions to their allowances. Allowances for credit losses attributable to collateral-dependent loans are $ 9.1 million and $ 7.8 million as of June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively.
8
Table of Contents
As of June 30, 2021, three loans with senior and/ or subordinated tranches met the definition of collateral-dependent and are collateralized by either land parcels, an operating hotel, or membership interests in the borrowing entities. The Company used a discounted cash flow ("DCF") technique to project cash flows or a market approach via quoted market prices to value the underlying collateral. In projecting cash flows, the Company reviewed the borrower's financial statements, economic trends, industry projections for the market, and comparable sales capitalization rates. These nonrecurring fair value measurements are classified as level three of the fair value measurement hierarchy, as there are unobservable inputs which are significant to the overall fair value. Based on these analyses, the fair value of collateral secures the carrying value of each loan to a significant extent.
During the first quarter of 2021, a loan with senior and subordinated tranches, that met the definition of collateral-dependent as of December 31, 2020, was restructured and as a result no longer meets the classification of collateral-dependent as of June 30, 2021.
As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Company extended interest deferral terms on certain notes receivable. The Company considers loans past due and in default when payments are not made when due in accordance with then current loan provisions or terms extended to borrowers, including loans with concessions or interest deferral. The Company suspends the accrual of interest when payments on loans are more than 30 days past due or upon a loan being classified as collateral-dependent. The Company applies payments received for loans on non-accrual status first to interest and then to principal. The Company does not resume interest accrual until all delinquent payments are received based on then current loan provisions. The amortized cost basis of notes receivable on non-accrual status was $ 68.7 million and $ 28.9 million at June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively.
The Company has identified loans totaling approximately $ 13.1 million as of both June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, with stated interest rates that are less than market rate, representing a total unamortized discount of $ 0.5 million and $ 0.8 million as of June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively. These discounts are reflected as a reduction of the outstanding loan amounts and are amortized over the life of the related loan.
The past due balances by credit quality indicator of notes receivable are as follows:
(in thousands) 1- 30 days
Past Due 31-89 days
Past Due > 90 days
Past Due Total
Past Due Current Total
Notes Receivable
As of June 30, 2021
Senior $ 17,918 $ — $ 15,200 $ 33,118 $ 90,297 $ 123,415
Subordinated 6,629 — 2,209 8,838 25,130 33,968
Unsecured — — — — 1,465 1,465
$ 24,547 $ — $ 17,409 $ 41,956 $ 116,892 $ 158,848
As of December 31, 2020
Senior $ — $ — $ 15,200 $ 15,200 $ 89,516 $ 104,716
Subordinated — — 2,209 2,209 31,025 33,234
Unsecured — — — — 1,367 1,367
$ — $ — $ 17,409 $ 17,409 $ 121,908 $ 139,317
The Company evaluated its off-balance-sheet credit exposure for loan commitments and determined the likelihood of having to perform is remote as of June 30, 2021. Refer to Note 12.
Variable Interest through Notes Issued
The Company has issued notes receivables to certain entities that have created variable interests in these borrowers totaling $ 138.1 million and $ 119.3 million as of June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively. The Company has determined that it is not the primary beneficiary of these variable interest entities ("VIEs"). These loans have stated fixed and/or variable interest amounts.
4. Investments in Unconsolidated Entities
The Company maintains a portfolio of investments owned through noncontrolling interests in equity method investments with one or more partners. The Company has equity method investments in joint ventures that represent VIEs totaling $ 41.1 million and $ 56.9 million on the consolidated balance sheets at June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively. These investments relate to the Company's program to offer equity support to qualified franchisees to develop and operate Cambria Hotels in strategic markets. Based on an analysis of who has the power to direct the activities that most significantly impact these entities performance and who has an obligation to absorb losses of these entities or a right to receive benefits from these entities that
could potentially be significant to the entity, the Company determined that it is not the primary beneficiary of any of these VIEs. The Company based its qualitative analysis on its review of the design of the entity, its organizational structure including decision-making ability and the relevant development, operating management and financial agreements. Although the Company is not the primary beneficiary of these VIEs, it does exercise significant influence through its equity ownership and as a result the Company's investment in these entities is accounted for under the equity method. For the three months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, the Company recognized (gains) losses totaling $( 0.9 ) million and $ 2.6 million, respectively, from these investments that represent VIEs. For the six months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, the Company recognized losses totaling $ 5.5 million and $ 4.6 million, respectively, from these investments that represent VIEs. The Company's maximum exposure to losses related to its investments in VIEs is limited to its equity investments as well as certain limited payment guaranties described in Note 12 of these financial statements.
During the first quarter of 2021, the Company recognized an impairment charge of $ 4.8 million related to an equity method investment. The Company assessed the estimated fair value of the investment from comparable market transactions of the investment. Based on this analysis, the Company determined that the fair market value declined below the carrying value and the decline is other-than-temporary. As a result, the Company recorded an impairment charge from the carrying value to the estimated fair value for the investment. The impairment charge is classified as equity in net loss of affiliates in the consolidated statements of income and captured in the Hotel Franchising reportable segment in Note 11.
During the second quarter of 2021, the Company sold its ownership interest in three separate equity method investments. The Company recognized a cumulative gain of $ 2.6 million on the sales of these investments, which is recorded in equity in net (gain) loss of affiliates.
5. Debt
Debt consists of the following:
June 30, 2021 December 31, 2020
(in thousands)
$ 450 million senior unsecured notes due 2031 ("2020 Senior Notes") with an effective interest rate of 3.86 %, less a discount and deferred issuance costs of $ 5.8 million and $ 6.1 million at June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively
$ 444,165 $ 443,860
$ 400 million senior unsecured notes due 2029 ("2019 Senior Notes") with an effective interest rate of 3.88 %, less a discount and deferred issuance costs of $ 5.1 million and $ 5.4 million at June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively
394,936 394,635
$ 400 million senior unsecured notes due 2022 ("2012 Senior Notes") with an effective interest rate of 6.00 %, less deferred issuance costs of $ 0.5 million and $ 0.7 million at June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively
216,085 215,827
$ 600 million senior unsecured revolving credit facility (1)
— —
Economic development loans with an effective interest rate of 3.00 % at June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively
4,416 4,416
Long-term debt $ 1,059,602 $ 1,058,738
(1) During the third quarter of 2020, the Company utilized excess cash on hand to pay down its senior unsecured revolving credit facility balance in full and the facility remains undrawn as of June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020. As there are no outstanding borrowings at June 30, 2021 or December 31, 2020, deferred issuance costs for the senior unsecured revolving credit facility of $ 2.2 million and $ 2.4 million, respectively, are presented in non-current Other Assets in the Consolidated Balance Sheets.
Refer to Note 12 and the Liquidity and Capital Resources header of "Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations" for more information.
6. Accumulated Other Comprehensive Loss
The changes in accumulated other comprehensive loss, net of tax, for the six months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020 are as follows:
(in thousands)
Balance as of December 31, 2020 $ ( 4,646 )
Other comprehensive income (loss) before reclassification 123
Net current period other comprehensive income (loss) 123
Balance as of June 30, 2021 $ ( 4,523 )
9
Table of Contents
(in thousands)
Balance as of December 31, 2019 $ ( 4,550 )
Other comprehensive income (loss) before reclassification ( 477 )
Net current period other comprehensive income (loss) ( 477 )
Balance as of June 30, 2020 $ ( 5,027 )
The other comprehensive income (loss) before reclassification for both the six months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020 relate to foreign currency items.
7. Fair Value Measurements
The Company estimates the fair value of its financial instruments utilizing a three-tier fair value hierarchy, which prioritizes the inputs used in measuring fair value. The following summarizes the three levels of inputs, as well as the assets that the Company values using those levels of inputs on a recurring basis.
Level 1 : Quoted prices in active markets for identical assets and liabilities. The Company’s Level 1 assets consist of marketable securities (primarily mutual funds) held in the Deferred Compensation Plan.
Level 2 : Observable inputs, other than quoted prices in active markets for identical assets and liabilities, such as quoted prices for similar assets and liabilities; quoted prices in markets that are not active; or other inputs that are observable. The Company’s Level 2 assets consist of money market funds held in the Company's Deferred Compensation Plan.
Level 3 : Unobservable inputs, supported by little or no market data available, where the reporting entity is required to develop its own assumptions to determine the fair value of the instrument. The Company does not currently have any assets recorded at fair value whose fair value was determined using Level 3 inputs and there were no transfers of Level 3 assets during the six months ended June 30, 2021.
As of June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, the Company had the following assets recorded in the consolidated balance sheets measured at fair value on a recurring basis:
Fair Value Measurements at Reporting Date Using
(in thousands) Total Level 1 Level 2 Level 3
As of June 30, 2021
Mutual funds (1)
$ 31,251 $ 31,251 $ — $ —
Money market funds (1)
2,543 — 2,543 —
Total $ 33,794 $ 31,251 $ 2,543 $ —
As of December 31, 2020
Mutual funds (1)
$ 28,520 $ 28,520 $ — $ —
Money market funds (1)
2,836 — 2,836 —
Total $ 31,356 $ 28,520 $ 2,836 $ —
(1) Included in Investments, employee benefit plans, at fair value and Other current assets on the consolidated balance sheets.
Other financial instruments disclosure
The Company believes that the fair values of its current assets and current liabilities approximate their reported carrying amounts due to the short-term nature of these items. In addition, the interest rates of the Company's senior unsecured revolving credit facility adjust frequently based on current market rates; accordingly we believe its carrying amount, when amounts are drawn, approximates fair value.
The fair values of the Company's $ 400 million 2012 Senior Notes, $ 400 million 2019 Senior Notes, and $ 450 million 2020 Senior Notes are classified as Level 2, as the significant inputs are observable in an active market. At June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, the $ 216.6 million remaining 2012 Senior Notes had an approximate fair value of $ 227.1 million and $ 232.4 million. At June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, the $ 400 million 2019 Senior Notes had an approximate fair value of $ 433.7 million and $ 438.1 million, respectively, and the $ 450 million 2020 Senior Notes had an approximate fair value of $ 487.9 million and $ 498.3 million, respectively. Refer to Note 5 for further information on debt.
Fair value estimates are made at a specific point in time, are subjective in nature and involve uncertainties and matters of significant judgment. Settlement of such fair value amounts may not be possible or a prudent management decision.
10
Table of Contents
8. Income Taxes
The effective income tax rates were 23.2 % and 11.8 % for the three months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively. The effective income tax rates were 23.0 % and ( 92.3 )% for the six months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, respectively.
The effective income tax rate for the three months ended June 30, 2021 was higher than the U.S. federal income tax rate of 21.0% primarily due to the impact of state income taxes, partially offset by $ 1.2 million of excess tax benefits from share-based compensation.
The effective income tax rate for the three months ended June 30, 2020 was lower than the U.S. federal income tax rate of 21.0% primarily due to excess tax benefits from share-based compensation and the impact of foreign operations, partially offset by state income taxes and a change in estimated uncertain tax positions.
The effective income tax rate for the six months ended June 30, 2021 was higher than the U.S. federal income tax rate of 21.0% primarily due to the impact of state income taxes, partially offset by $ 2.0 million of excess tax benefits from share-based compensation.
The effective income tax rate for the six months ended June 30, 2020 was lower than the U.S. federal income tax rate of 21.0% primarily due to the impact of our international reorganization in accordance with ASU 2016-16, Income Taxes (Topic 740) - Intra-Entity Transfers of Assets Other than Inventory ("ASU 2016-16"), which provides guidance on recognition of current income tax consequences for intercompany asset transfers (other than inventory) at the time of transfer, that resulted in a $ 30.6 million tax benefit. The effective income tax rate was also lower due to $ 2.7 million of excess tax benefits from share-based compensation and the impact of foreign operations, partially offset by state income taxes and a change in estimated uncertain tax positions.
On March 27, 2020, the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security Act (the "CARES Act") was signed into law. The CARES Act provided opportunities to support companies affected by the COVID-19 pandemic and contained numerous income tax provisions. The provisions in the CARES Act do not have any significant impact to the Company's consolidated financial statements.
9. Share-Based Compensation and Capital Stock
The components of the Company’s pretax share-based compensation activity and associated income tax benefit (expense) are as follows for the three and six months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020:
Three Months Ended June 30, Six Months Ended June 30,
(in thousands) 2021 2020 2021 2020
Stock options $ 932 $ 490 $ 1,548 $ 981
Restricted stock awards 2,323 2,099 4,842 4,043
Performance vested restricted stock units 3,144 ( 324 ) 4,810 ( 5,511 )
Total share-based compensation expense (benefit) $ 6,399 $ 2,265 $ 11,200 $ ( 487 )
Income tax benefit (expense) $ 1,556 $ ( 539 ) $ 2,723 $ 116
11
Table of Contents
A summary of share-based award activity as of and changes during the six months ended June 30, 2021 are presented below:
Stock Options Restricted Stock Performance Vested
Restricted Stock Units
Options Weighted
Average
Exercise
Price Weighted
Average
Remaining
Contractual
Term Shares Weighted
Average
Grant Date
Fair Value Shares Weighted
Average
Grant Date
Fair Value
Outstanding at January 1, 2021 819,610 $ 70.48 304,439 $ 84.48 321,752 $ 109.25
Granted 280,811 104.87 52,112 106.89 96,447 108.52
Performance-Based Leveraging (1)
— — — — 75,911 107.51
Exercised/Vested ( 153,266 ) 59.47 ( 98,938 ) 81.54 ( 3,986 ) 81.55
Expired — — — — ( 72,955 ) 81.55
Forfeited — — ( 9,051 ) 87.09 ( 1,357 ) 101.85
Outstanding at June 30, 2021 947,155 $ 82.46 5.9 years 248,562 $ 90.25 415,812 $ 113.91
Options exercisable at June 30, 2021 451,256 $ 66.30 3.2 years
(1) PVRSUs outstanding have been increased by 75,911 units in the six months ended June 30, 2021 due to the Company exceeding the targeted performance conditions contained in PVRSUs.
Stock Options
The stock options granted by the Company had an exercise price equal to the market price of the Company's common stock on the date of grant. The fair value of the options granted was estimated on the grant date using the Black-Scholes option-pricing model with the following weighted average assumptions:
2021 Grants
Risk-free interest rate 0.94 %
Expected volatility 29.23 %
Expected life of stock option 5.9 years
Dividend yield (1)
0.82 %
Requisite service period 4 years
Contractual life 10 years
Weighted average fair value of options granted (per option) $ 28.00
(1) In April 2020, in light of uncertainty resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, we suspended future, undeclared dividends. On May 7, 2021, the Company's board of directors declared a quarterly cash dividend of $ 0.225 per share of common stock.
Restricted Stock Awards
The Company grants two types of restricted stock awards: i) shares of restricted stock and ii) restricted stock units ("RSU"). Shares of restricted stock provide the participant a non-forfeitable right to dividends, if declared, and the right to vote as a shareholder while the shares are unvested. RSUs provide the participant declared dividends that are contingent upon vesting of the award. Restricted stock awards generally vest ratably over the service period beginning with the first anniversary of the grant date. The fair value of restricted stock awards is measured by the market price of the Company's common stock on the date of grant. The service period of restricted stock awards granted during the six months ended June 30, 2021 range from 9 to 48 months.
Performance Vested Restricted Stock Units
The Company grants three types of PVRSU awards: i) PVRSUs with performance conditions based on internal performance conditions, ii) PVRSUs with market conditions based on the Company's total shareholder return ("TSR") relative to a predetermined peer group, and iii) PVRSUs with both performance and market conditions. The vesting of PVRSU awards is contingent upon the Company achieving internal performance and/ or TSR targets over a specified period and the employees' continued employment for a service period. These performance and market conditions affect the number of shares that will ultimately vest.
During the six months ended June 30, 2021, the Company granted PVRSUs with market conditions and PVRSUs with performance and market conditions with requisite service periods between 9 months and 60 months with award vesting ranges between 0 % and 300 % of the initial units granted.
12
Table of Contents
The fair value of PVRSUs with only internal performance conditions is measured by the market price of the Company's common stock on the date of award grant. Compensation expense is recognized ratably over the requisite service period based on the Company's estimate of the achievement of the performance conditions. Management monitors current results and forecasts of the relevant internal performance and, as necessary, adjusts the performance-based leveraging of unvested PVRSUs.
The fair value of PVRSUs with market conditions is estimated using a Monte Carlo simulation method as of the date of award grant. Compensation expense is recognized ratably over the requisite service period, regardless of whether the market conditions are achieved and the awards ultimately vest.
The fair value of PVRSUs with both performance and market conditions is estimated using a Monte Carlo simulation method as of the date of award grant. Compensation expense is recognized ratably over the requisite service period based on the Company's estimate of the achievement of the performance conditions, with subsequent adjustments made for performance-based leveraging of unvested PVRSUs, as necessary.
During the six months ended June 30, 2020, the Company reduced the leveraging factor for 239,437 unvested PVRSUs to 0 %.
Share Repurchases and Redemptions
In April 2020, in light of uncertainty resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, the Company temporarily suspended activity under the Company's share repurchase program. On May 7, 2021, the Company's board of directors approved resumption of the share repurchase program. Refer to the Liquidity and Capital Resources header of "Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations" for more information.
During both the three and six months ended June 30, 2021, there were 1,582 purchases of common stock under the share repurchase program at a total cost of $ 0.2 million. During the three and six months ended June 30, 2021, the Company redeemed 1,156 and 47,655 shares of common stock at a total cost of $ 0.1 million and $ 5.4 million, respectively, from employees to satisfy the option exercise price and statutory minimum tax-withholding requirements related to the exercising of stock options and vesting of performance vested restricted stock units and restricted stock grants. These redemptions were outside the share repurchase program.
10. Earnings Per Share
The Company’s shares of restricted stock contain rights to receive nonforfeitable dividends and thus are participating securities requiring the computation of basic earnings per share (“EPS”) using the two-class method. As the shares of restricted stock are both potential shares of common stock and participating securities, the Company calculates diluted earnings per share by the more dilutive of the treasury stock method or the two-class method. The calculation of EPS for net income available to common shareholders excludes the distribution of dividends and undistributed earnings attributable to participating securities from the numerator. The diluted earnings weighted average shares of common stock outstanding includes stock options, PVRSUs and RSUs. Stock options are included in the calculation, unless the exercise price is lower than the Company’s average share price for the period as the inclusion would be anti-dilutive. PVRSUs are included in the calculation if the performance condition has been met or the market condition is probable as of the reporting date.
13
Table of Contents
The computation of basic and diluted earnings per share of common stock is as follows:
Three Months Ended Six Months Ended
June 30, June 30,
(in thousands, except per share amounts) 2021 2020 2021 2020
Numerator:
Net income (loss) $ 85,882 $ ( 2,441 ) $ 108,219 $ 53,022
(Income) loss allocated to participating securities ( 324 ) 14 ( 463 ) ( 301 )
Net income (loss) available to common shareholders $ 85,558 $ ( 2,427 ) $ 107,756 $ 52,721
Denominator:
Weighted average shares of common stock outstanding – basic 55,389 55,054 55,326 55,199
Basic earnings (losses) per share $ 1.54 $ ( 0.04 ) $ 1.95 $ 0.96
Numerator:
Net income (loss) $ 85,882 $ ( 2,441 ) $ 108,219 $ 53,022
(Income) loss allocated to participating securities ( 324 ) 14 ( 463 ) ( 300 )
Net income (loss) available to common shareholders $ 85,558 $ ( 2,427 ) $ 107,756 $ 52,722
Denominator:
Weighted average shares of common stock outstanding – basic 55,389 55,054 55,326 55,199
Dilutive effect of stock options and PVRSUs 411 — 405 258
Weighted average shares of common stock outstanding – diluted 55,800 55,054 55,731 55,457
Diluted earnings (losses) per share $ 1.53 $ ( 0.04 ) $ 1.93 $ 0.95
The following securities have been excluded from the calculation of diluted weighted average shares of common stock outstanding as the inclusion of these securities would have an anti-dilutive effect or the performance or market conditions have not been met:
Three Months Ended Six Months Ended
June 30, June 30,
(in thousands) 2021 2020 2021 2020
Stock options — 402 — 155
PVRSUs 157 246 157 246
11. Reportable Segment Information
Hotel Franchising: Hotel Franchising includes the Company's hotel franchising operations consisting of its fourteen brands. The fourteen brands are aggregated within this segment considering their similar economic characteristics, types of customers, distribution channels and regulatory business environments. Revenues from the hotel franchising business include royalty fees, initial franchise and relicensing fees, marketing and reservation system fees, procurement services revenue and other hotel franchising related revenue. The Company is obligated under its hotel franchise agreements to provide marketing and reservation services appropriate for the operation of its systems. These services do not represent separate reportable segments as their operations are directly related to the Company's hotel franchising business. The revenues received from franchisees that are used to pay for part of the Company's ongoing operations are included in hotel franchising revenues and are offset by the related expenses paid for marketing and reservation system activities to calculate hotel franchising operating income. Equity in earnings or losses from hotel franchising related joint ventures is allocated to the Company's hotel franchising segment.
The Company evaluates its hotel franchising segment based primarily on the results of the segment without allocating corporate expenses, indirect general and administrative expenses, interest expense, interest income, other gains and losses or income taxes, which are included in the Corporate & Other column. Corporate & Other revenues include owned hotel revenues, rental income related to an office building owned by the Company, and revenues related to the Company's SaaS technology solutions division which provide cloud-based property management software to non-franchised hoteliers.
Intersegment revenue adjustment is from the elimination of Hotel Franchising revenue which include royalty and marketing and reservation system fees charged to our owned hotels against franchise fee expense recognized by our owned hotels in Corporate & Other operating income (loss).
14
Table of Contents
Our President and Chief Executive Officer, who is our chief operating decision maker, does not use assets by operating segment when assessing performance or making operating segment resource allocations and therefore assets by segment are not disclosed below.
The following table presents the financial information for the Company's segments:
Three Months Ended June 30, 2021 Three Months Ended June 30, 2020
(in thousands) Hotel
Franchising Corporate &
Other Intersegment Eliminations Consolidated Hotel
Franchising Corporate &
Other Intersegment Eliminations Consolidated
Revenues $ 268,092 $ 10,932 $ ( 680 ) $ 278,344 $ 147,318 $ 4,512 $ ( 97 ) $ 151,733
Operating income (loss) $ 132,600 $ ( 13,576 ) $ — $ 119,024 $ 33,325 $ ( 25,436 ) $ — $ 7,889
Income (loss) before income taxes $ 134,025 $ ( 22,171 ) $ — $ 111,854 $ 29,811 $ ( 32,689 ) $ — $ ( 2,878 )
Six Months Ended June 30, 2021 Six Months Ended June 30, 2020
(in thousands) Hotel
Franchising Corporate &
Other Intersegment Eliminations Consolidated Hotel
Franchising Corporate &
Other Intersegment Eliminations Consolidated
Revenues $ 445,310 $ 16,972 $ ( 991 ) $ 461,291 $ 355,365 $ 15,417 $ ( 874 ) $ 369,908
Operating income (loss) $ 190,753 $ ( 27,731 ) $ — $ 163,022 $ 84,311 $ ( 29,640 ) $ — $ 54,671
Income (loss) before income taxes $ 185,936 $ ( 45,372 ) $ — $ 140,564 $ 78,390 $ ( 50,869 ) $ — $ 27,521
12. Commitments and Contingencies
The Company is not a party to any litigation other than litigation in the ordinary course of business. The Company's management and legal counsel do not expect that the ultimate outcome of any of its currently ongoing legal proceedings, individually or collectively, will have a material adverse effect on the Company's financial position, results of operations or cash flows.
Contingencies
The Company entered into various limited payment guaranties with regards to the Company’s VIEs supporting the VIE’s efforts to develop and own hotels franchised under the Company’s brands. Under these limited payment guaranties, the Company has agreed to guarantee a portion of the outstanding debt until certain conditions are met such as (a) the loan matures, (b) certain debt covenants are achieved, (c) the maximum amount guaranteed by the Company is paid in full or (d) the Company, through its affiliates, ceases to be a member of the VIE. The maximum exposure of principal incidental to these limited payment guaranties is $ 5.7 million, plus unpaid expenses and accrued unpaid interest. As of June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, the Company believed the likelihood of having to perform under the aforementioned limited payment guaranties was remote. In the event of performance, the Company has recourse for one of the transactions in the form of a membership interest pledge as collateral for the guaranty.
Commitments
The Company has the following commitments outstanding at June 30, 2021:
• The Company provides financing in the form of franchise agreement acquisition payments to franchisees for property improvements, hotel development efforts and other purposes. These payments are typically made at commencement of construction or hotel opening, in accordance with agreed upon provisions in individual franchise agreements. At June 30, 2021, the Company had commitments to extend an additional $ 271.4 million for these purposes provided the conditions of the payment are met by its franchisees.
• To the extent existing unconsolidated joint ventures proceed to the hotel construction phase, the Company is committed to make capital contributions totaling $ 8.3 million to support their efforts to construct Cambria hotels.
• The Company committed to provide financing in the form of mezzanine loans or credit facilities to franchisees for Choice brand development efforts. At June 30, 2021, the Company has committed to provide an aggregate of approximately $ 7.7 million, upon certain conditions being met, and no ne of these amounts have been disbursed.
15
Table of Contents
• The Company’s franchise agreements require the payment of franchise fees, which include marketing and reservation system fees. In accordance with terms of our franchise agreements, the Company is obligated to use the marketing and reservation system revenues it collects from the current franchisees comprising its various hotel brands to provide marketing and reservation services appropriate to support the operation of the overall system. To the extent revenues collected exceed expenditures incurred, the Company has a commitment to the franchisee system to make expenditures in future years. Conversely, to the extent expenditures incurred exceed revenues collected, the Company has the contractual enforceable right to assess and collect such amounts.
In the ordinary course of business, the Company enters into numerous agreements that contain standard indemnities whereby the Company indemnifies another party for breaches of representations and warranties. Such indemnifications are granted under various agreements, including those governing (i) purchases or sales of assets or businesses, (ii) leases of real estate, (iii) licensing of trademarks, (iv) access to credit facilities, (v) issuances of debt or equity securities, and (vi) certain operating agreements. The indemnifications issued are for the benefit of the (i) buyers in sale agreements and sellers in purchase agreements, (ii) landlords in lease contracts, (iii) franchisees in licensing agreements, (iv) financial institutions in credit facility arrangements, (v) underwriters in debt or equity security issuances and (vi) parties under certain operating agreements. In addition, these parties are also generally indemnified against any third party claim resulting from the transaction that is contemplated in the underlying agreement. While some of these indemnities extend only for the duration of the underlying agreement, many survive the expiration of the term of the agreement or extend into perpetuity (unless subject to a legal statute of limitations). There are no specific limitations on the maximum potential amount of future payments that the Company could be required to make under these indemnities, nor is the Company able to develop an estimate of the maximum potential amount of future payments to be made under these indemnifications as the triggering events are not subject to predictability. With respect to certain of the aforementioned indemnities, such as indemnifications of landlords against third party claims for the use of real estate property leased by the Company, the Company maintains insurance coverage that mitigates potential liability.
13. Transactions with Unconsolidated Joint Ventures
The Company has a management fee arrangement for marketing services with a joint venture partner. For the three months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, fees earned and payroll costs reimbursed under this arrangement totaled $ 0.3 million and $ 0.1 million, respectively. For both the six months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, fees earned and payroll costs reimbursed under this arrangement totaled $ 0.5 million.
The Company has entered into franchise agreements with certain of the unconsolidated joint ventures discussed in Note 4. Pursuant to these franchise agreements, for the three months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, the Company recorded royalty, marketing reservation system, and other fees of approximately $ 4.1 million and $ 2.2 million, respectively. For the six months ended June 30, 2021 and 2020, the Company recorded royalty, marketing reservation system, and other fees of approximately $ 7.0 million and $ 6.8 million, respectively. The Company recorded $ 2.6 million and $ 2.4 million as a receivable due from these joint ventures as of June 30, 2021 and December 31, 2020, respectively.
Text extracted from the filing as submitted to EDGAR. Formatting, tables and exhibits are simplified for reading; the original document is authoritative for anything you rely on.