Item 9A. Controls and Procedures
ITEM
9A. CONTROLS AND PROCEDURES
Evaluation
of Disclosure Controls and Procedures
We
maintain disclosure controls and procedures (as defined in Rule 13a-15(e) under the Exchange Act). Disclosure controls and procedures
refer to controls and other procedures designed to ensure that information required to be disclosed in the reports we file or submit
under the Exchange Act is recorded, processed, summarized and reported within the time periods specified in the rules and forms of the
SEC and that such information is accumulated and communicated to our management, including our chief executive officer and chief financial
officer, as appropriate, to allow timely decisions regarding required disclosure.
As
required by Rule 13a-15(e) of the Exchange Act, our management has carried out an evaluation, with the participation and under the supervision
of our chief executive officer and chief financial officer, of the effectiveness of the design and operation of our disclosure controls
and procedures, as of December 31, 2023. Based upon, and as of the date of this evaluation, our chief executive officer and chief financial
officer determined that our disclosure controls and procedures were sufficient.
Management’s
Annual Report on Internal Controls over Financial Reporting
Management
is responsible for establishing and maintaining adequate internal control over financial reporting (as defined in Exchange Act Rule 13a-15(f)).
The Company’s internal control over financial reporting is a process designed to provide reasonable assurance regarding the reliability
of financial reporting and the preparation of financial statements for external purposes in accordance with accounting principles generally
accepted in the United States of America. Because of its inherent limitations, internal control over financial reporting may not prevent
or detect misstatements. Also, projections of any evaluation of effectiveness to future periods are subject to the risk that controls
may become inadequate because of changes in conditions, or that the degree of compliance with the policies or procedures may deteriorate.
Under the supervision and with the participation of management, including the Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer, the
Company conducted an evaluation of the effectiveness of the Company’s internal control over financial reporting as of December
31, 2023 using the criteria established in “Internal Control - Integrated Framework” issued by the Committee of Sponsoring
Organizations of the Treadway Commission (“COSO”).
A
material weakness is a deficiency, or combination of deficiencies, in internal control over financial reporting, such that there is a
reasonable possibility that a material misstatement of the Company’s annual or interim financial statements will not be prevented
or detected on a timely basis. In its assessment of the effectiveness of internal control over financial reporting as of December 31,
2023, the Company determined that there were no control deficiencies that constituted material weaknesses. The Company has an independent
financial expert on its Audit Committee and an Audit Committee consisting entirely of independent directors; the Company backs up all
financial data and material agreements in the cloud so that in the event of theft, misplacement, or loss due to fire or other unmitigated
factors, the Company should still retain all of its material financial data and agreements.
14
As
a result, management has concluded that the Company maintains effective internal control over financial reporting as of December 31,
2023, based on criteria established in Internal Control—Integrated Framework issued by COSO.
Material
weaknesses in our disclosure controls and procedures may be identified in the future. Should we discover such conditions, we intend to
remediate them as soon as practicable. We are committed to taking appropriate steps for remediation, as needed.
All
internal control systems, no matter how well designed, have inherent limitations. Therefore, even those systems determined to be effective
can provide only reasonable assurance with respect to financial statement preparation and presentation. Also, projections of any evaluation
of effectiveness to future periods are subject to the risk that controls may become inadequate because of changes in conditions, or that
the degree of compliance with the policies or procedures may deteriorate.
Changes
in Internal Control over Financial Reporting
There
has been no change in our internal control over financial reporting identified in connection with our evaluation we conducted of the
effectiveness of our internal control over financial reporting as of December 31, 2023. The Company has an independent financial expert
on its Audit Committee, and the Company now backs up all financial data and material agreements in the cloud so that in the event of
theft, misplacement, or loss due to fire or other unmitigated factors, the Company should still retain all of its material financial
data and agreements. In addition, the Company now has multiple persons reviewing and reconciling the bank account and our financial data.
This
annual report does not include an attestation report of the Company’s registered public accounting firm regarding internal control
over financial reporting. Management’s report was not subject to attestation by the Company’s registered public accounting
firm pursuant to temporary rules of the SEC that permit the Company to provide only management’s report in this annual report.
PART
III
ITEM
10. – DIRECTORS, EXECUTIVE OFFICERS AND CORPORATE GOVERNANCE
Directors,
Executive Officers and Significant Employees
The
following table sets forth information with respect to the Company’s directors and executive officers.
Name
Age
Position
and Offices
Benjamin
Slager
61
Chief
Executive Officer and Chairman
Anthony Santelli
58
Chief Financial
Officer and Director
George D. Bolton
74
Director and Secretary
Charles F. Sills
80
Director
Peter Zimeri
70
Director
Edmund Burke
63
Director
Chris Kneppers
73
Director
Benjamin
Slager became a director in October 2016, the Chief Technology Officer on April 1, 2017, the CEO on July 6, 2018, and Chairman on
February 26, 2019. Mr. Slager is a seasoned business professional with significant experience in corporate finance, venture capital,
and entrepreneurship. He has a proven record in founding, developing and selling high tech companies. He is the inventor of the patented
CTS technology.
15
Mr.
Slager began his career in 1987 as a financial analyst with a venture capital firm, NesBic Holding BV, in Utrecht, the Netherlands. He
also served as a market maker on the European Option Exchange in Amsterdam, while working for International Option Investment BV, in
Amsterdam. In 1990, Mr. Slager turned his focus to sales and marketing while serving as a sales engineer and international sales director
for ASM Pacific technologies in the Netherlands. In 1993, Mr. Slager began a 28-year career as a serial entrepreneur in starting, developing,
and selling technically innovative companies. He was the Founder and CEO of NedCard and MicroIdentt a company assembling chips for bank
cards and other electronic identification carriers. He started and grew that company from zero to a $100 million revenue base with affiliates
in several countries. Further Ben was founder and CEO of SolarExcel BV, which had a patented solution to increase solar cell performance.
He was also the CEO of Novameer BV, a company with high tech patented fibers. Ben sold off all of these companies to large multinationals.
He has 20 families of patents summing to 108 in his name, divided over different territories in the world, including the CTS process
that is owned by Blue Biofuels.
Mr.
Slager received his Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering from Technical College of Chemical Engineering in Hilversum, the Netherlands,
in 1985. He also received a degree in Business Administration from Nijenrode University for Business Administration in 1987. The Company’s
board determined that Mr. Slager is well-qualified to serve in senior management and member of the board of directors through his experience
developing our technology and his prior experience founding, developing and selling technology companies. He is not a director of any
other public company.
Anthony
Santelli II became a director on May 4, 2018, the Chair of the Audit Committee on May 11, 2018, until 2020, the Chief Operating Officer
on October 20, 2018, and the CFO on February 1, 2020. His financial expertise along with his experience restructuring and building companies
is the reason he was selected to be a board member and senior executive. Dr. Santelli served as a money manager for 20 years as the Founder
and Chief Executive Officer of AES Capital, a hybrid venture capital-hedge fund management company. Dr. Santelli is an entrepreneur who
has started, helped finance, or turnaround, various private companies and micro-cap publicly traded companies concentrating in the mining,
energy and alternative energy fields. He has served in senior management and board positions at various private and micro-cap companies,
although he has not served on the board of any other public company in the past five years. He previously was employed by Andersen Consulting,
now known as Accenture, rising to the level of a Senior Management Systems Consultant before going to graduate school.
Dr.
Santelli received his M.A. and Ph.D. in Economics from George Mason University, did graduate studies in economics and finance at NYU,
and has a B.S. in Industrial Engineering from Cornell University. He had taught economics and finance at Union College and George Mason
University prior to creating AES Capital. He is not currently a director of any other public company.
Charles
F Sills became a director of the Company in July 2015. Mr. Sills has worked for the Defense Leadership Forum since 2014 as National
Program Director for the Defense Contracting Summit Conferences. He has extensive experience planning and directing international industrial,
infrastructure, environmental and energy initiatives, having served as a member of the Danube Task Force, the governing council that
ran the Danube Basin Environmental Restoration Program led by the World Bank, the European Bank for Reconstruction & Development
and the UN Development Program, involving 13 countries from Austria to Moldova. He also served on the Japan-U.S. Joint Fund for Social
& Economic Development in Central/Eastern Europe, the Helsinki Commission focused on the environmental clean-up of the Baltic Sea,
the Kaliningrad Defense Conversion Initiative, and the NGO Delegation to NAFTA, where he helped draft the Environmental Supplements.
Mr. Sills was responsible for securing major funding support for the Smithsonian Institute’s biodiversity preservation/cancer cure
research program in Brazil’s Amazon region; for the Sassari, Sardinia symposium on ozone depletion organized by the International
Council of Scientific Unions; and for the White House Presidential Awards program sponsored by the President’s Council on Sustainable
Development. He is not a director of any other public company.
Mr.
Sills has been engaged in the renewable energy sector since the 1980’s, when he led the Martin Marietta Aerospace (now Lockheed
Martin) team that won the contract for and installed the world’s largest (at that time) solar photovoltaic energy installation,
under a pilot program co-funded by the U.S. and Saudi Arabian Governments; researched and wrote a worldwide survey of renewable energy
technologies and commercialization opportunities; and testified before Congress on the need for pro-active U.S. Government support for
advanced renewable energy R&D and demonstration programs. Currently, he serves on both the Defense & Security Advisory Committee
and the International Advisory Committee for the American Council on Renewable Energy (“ACORE”); and serves as a Board Member
and Advisor on Energy and Environment for the Eurasia Center/Eurasian Business Coalition, where he has planned and moderated conferences
on “Doing Business with the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa)”, and energy and infrastructure investment
opportunities associated with the “New Silk Road”.
16
He
has extensive experience in Government Contracting, and an advocate for Small Business access to Federal and Military contracting opportunities,
which is the reason he was chosen to be a director. (He is not a director of any other public company.) He has served as a member of
the U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Small Business Council, and an observer to the White House sponsored Inter-Agency Task Force on
Veterans Business Development. He is President of FED/Contracting LLC, a consultancy that assists Small Businesses in partnering with
Prime Contractors, and helps the Prime Contractors qualify Veteran and Minority vendors as teammates for project opportunities with mandated
Diversity Supplier content. Based on the U.S. Defense Dept. ‘Mentor-Protégé’ program that he managed, Trillacorpe
Construction, a Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business, was awarded the 2010 Defense Department Nunn-Perry Award for “superior
performance in the areas of business growth and return on investment, Government contracting, technical performance and quality management”.
George
D. Bolton became a director of the Company in July 2015. Mr. Bolton had been retired since 2010. Mr. Bolton was selected to the board
for his agriculture industry experience and his expertise with climate change. Although not a member of any other corporate board, he
is a seasoned business professional with significant experience in production agriculture. From the management of fertilizer and chemical
plants to the development and integration of a precision farming system for a national fertilizer and chemical distribution company,
George has worked to develop and integrate new technologies for agriculture.
Prior
to becoming a director of the Company, Mr. Bolton recognized the impact carbon intensity would have on agriculture. Mr. Bolton was one
of the founders of AgCert International, and co-author of the first agricultural baseline methodology approved by the United Nations
Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCC) AM0016: Greenhouse gas mitigation from improved animal waste management systems in
confined animal feeding operations . Under his direction this methodology was the catalyst which allowed AgCert International to construct
over 725 biodigesters impacting more than 94% of the qualifying concentrated animal feeding operations in Mexico and Brazil. The construction
and operation of these biodigesters dramatically improved each farms local environment impact while also lowering their carbon intensity.
The cooperation between AgCert and the local farmers enabled the use of the Clean Development Mechanism of the UNFCC to produce and market
millions of certified emissions for the purchasers, as well as covering the costs of each farm’s biodigesters.
Peter
Zimeri is self-employed and has been semi-retired since 2010. He has been the single largest private producer of electricity in Central
America through his ownership and operation of five power plants producing 120 MW of electricity. He has also been the owner of a textile
plant with a workforce of over 3000. He has degrees in Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering from Georgia Tech. He has been a board
member of the International Civil Aviation Organization and has extensive contacts in the aviation world, which is the reason he was
selected to be a director, along with his experience managing plants. He is not currently a member of any other corporate board.
Edmund
(Ned) Burke has been a director of the Company since 2020 and previously served in the financial services industry for the last 36
years, and his extensive contacts are the reason he was selected to be a board member. He recently retired as CEO of ALPS Holdings Inc.,
a wholly owned subsidiary of SS&C Technologies Inc. Ned joined ALPS in 1992 as National Sales Manager, was named President in 2000
and became CEO in 2005 with the acquisition of ALPS by private equity firm Lovell Minnick Partners. ALPS was then acquired by DST Systems
in 2011 and he remained CEO through DST being acquired by SS&C until his retirement in 2019. From the time he became president in
2000 through his retirement in 2019, his company’s revenue grew from approximately $10 million to over $220 million. Prior to ALPS,
he held Regional Vice President positions with Fidelity Investments and Pioneer Investments.
Mr.
Burke currently serves on the boards of 4 investment company complexes: Financial Investors Trust, ALPS ETF Trust, Clough Global Funds
and Liberty AllStar Funds. He also is an investor/advisor to a number of small companies. He has a B.A. in Economics from the University
of New Hampshire.
Chris
Kneppers Chris has been a director of the Company since September, 2022, and is not on the board of any other public company. He
was educated in South Africa as a Mechanical Engineer. He has 45 years of experience in the Construction industry in several engineering
disciplines with an emphasis in Cost Estimating. His experience includes involvement in a wide range of projects, including large civil
works, diesel generation in power stations, and solar electric installations.
17
Chris
Kneppers was one of the Principals of MKA International, Inc. (formerly Madsen, Kneppers & Associates) and has been involved in its
running and development since 1989. MKA is a multi-disciplined Construction and Engineering Consulting firm. Chris recently stepped down
from his position as Vice President and still serves as a Board Member. His role in the 33 years with the firm included establishing
and developing offices, attracting and growing a client base, along with facilitating various technical disciplines within the company
to address the needs of clients.
Audit
Committee and Audit Committee Financial Expert
The
Company’s board of directors has an audit committee which currently consists of Edmund Burke (chair), Chris Kneppers, and Peter
Zimeri. Mr. Burke is the audit committee financial expert.
Other
Board Committees
The
Company’s board of directors has a compensation committee consisting entirely of independent directors, with Edmund Burke as Chair
and Peter Zimeri and Charles Sills as the other members.
The
Company has established a nominating and corporate governance committee, consisting entirely of independent directors, with George Bolton
serving as chair and Edmund Burke and Peter Zimeri as the other members.
Involvement
in Certain Legal Proceedings
During
the past five years no director, person nominated to become a director, executive officer, promoter or control person of the Company
has: (i) had any bankruptcy petition filed by or against any business of which such person was a general partner or executive officer
either at the time of the bankruptcy or within two years prior to that time; (ii) been convicted in a criminal proceeding or been subject
to a pending criminal proceeding (excluding traffic violations and other minor offenses); (iii) been subject to any order, judgment,
or decree, not subsequently reversed, suspended or vacated, of any court of competent jurisdiction, permanently or temporarily enjoining,
barring, suspending or otherwise limiting his involvement in any type of business, securities or banking activities; or (iv) been found
by a court of competent jurisdiction (in a civil action), the Commission or the Commodity Futures Trading Commission to have violated
a federal or state securities or commodities law, and the judgment has not been reversed, suspended, or vacated except for the following:
Four
of the directors of the Company (Messrs. Slager, Santelli, Sills and Bolton) were directors or executive officers of the Company at the
time of the Company’s filing of a Voluntary Petition for Non-Individuals Filing for Bankruptcy pursuant to Chapter 11 of the United
States Bankruptcy Act in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Florida (Case No. 18-23071-EPK) on October 22,
2018. This Bankruptcy Proceeding was closed on October 25, 2019.
Section
16(a) Beneficial Ownership Reporting Compliance
Our
shares of common stock are registered under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, and therefore our officers, directors and holders of
more than 10% of our outstanding shares are subject to the provisions of Section 16(a) of such Act which requires them to file with the
SEC initial reports of ownership and reports of changes in ownership of common stock and our other equity securities. Officers, directors
and greater than 10% beneficial owners are required by SEC regulations to furnish us with copies of all Section 16(a) reports they file.
The Company filed a Form 15 in 2018 ceasing to be a “reporting Company”. On January 5, 2021, the Company filed a Form 10,
which became effective 60 days later, on March 8, 2021. Based solely upon our review of reports submitted to us during the fiscal year
ended December 31, 2023, The following table sets forth the name of any such person that failed to file the required forms on a timely
basis, including the number of late reports, the number of transactions not reported on a timely basis and any known failure to file
a required form.
Name
Number
of late reports
Number
of transactions not reported timely
None
0
0
18
Code
of Ethics
The
Company’s board of directors has adopted a code of ethics that its officers, directors and any person who may perform similar functions
is subject to. The Code of Ethics does not indicate the consequences of a breach of the code. If there is a breach, the board of directors
would review the facts and circumstances surrounding the breach and take action that it deems appropriate, which action may include dismissal
of the employee who breached the code.
ITEM
11. – EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION
The
Company’s board of directors has a compensation committee consisting entirely of independent directors, with Peter Zimeri as chair
and Edmund Burke and Charles Sills as the other members. The Company’s compensation philosophy is based on its belief that its
compensation programs should be aligned with stockholders’ interests and business objectives; reward performance; and be externally
competitive and internally equitable. The Company seeks to achieve three objectives, which serve as guidelines in making compensation
decisions:
1.
Providing
a total compensation package which is competitive and therefore enables it to attract and retain, high-caliber executive personnel;
2.
Integrating
compensation programs with its short-term and long-term strategic plan and business objectives; and
3.
Encouraging
achievement of business objectives and enhancement of stockholder value by providing executive management log-term incentive through
equity ownership.
The
Company may compensate its officers with cash compensation, common stock and common stock options. The Company has not established any
quantifiable criteria with respect to the level of compensation, stock grants or options. Rather, the Board of Directors and its compensation
committee will evaluate cash, stock grants and stock options paid to executives in similarly situated companies.
With
respect to stock grants and options which may be issued to the Company’s officers and directors, the Board and its compensation
committee will consider an overall compensation package that includes both cash and stock-based compensation which would be in line with
the Company’s overall operations and compensation levels paid to similarly situated companies. Under the Company’s 2012 Employee,
Director Stock Plan, the administrator can provide for the grant of non-qualified stock options (“Non-Qualified Stock Options”),
incentive stock options (“ISOs”, together with Non-Qualified Stock Options referred to herein as “Stock Options”),
stock appreciation rights (“SARs”), restricted stock (“Restricted Stock”) and registered stock (“Registered
Stock”), (collectively, the “Awards”) to eligible Participants.
As
of the date of this filing, the Company has two executives.
Commencing
on January 1, 2021, Ben Slager, CEO, has an employment contract to receive a salary of $360,000 per annum, along with health insurance.
Various bonuses are offered based on performance and may be accrued, at his discretion, if the Company doesn’t have the funds to
pay them. He has not received any salary or bonuses due since Q3 2023. Unpaid salaries are accruing interest at the rate of 10% per annum.
In February 2024, his salary was increased due to inflation and higher cost of living to $525,000, all of it being accrued and unpaid,
at his discretion, which is expected to be paid when the Company raises significant capital to fund its future. His employment contract
indicates that he must be given 6-months’ notice of termination, and shall receive a severance package of one-month’s pay
in addition to the 6-months’ notice, or 3 months’ salary if he dies. If there is a change of control, all his options shall
vest.
As
of December 31, 2023, Ben Slager is owed $391,538 in back pay and accrued bonuses, along with interest of $3225.
19
Commencing
January 1, 2021, Anthony Santelli, CFO, has an employment contract to receive a salary of $250,000 per annum, and may not be terminated
until all his back pay due is paid. Various bonuses are offered based on performance and may be accrued, at his discretion, if the Company
doesn’t have the funds to pay them. He has not received any salary or bonuses due since Q3 2023. Unpaid salaries are accruing interest
at the rate of 10% per annum. In February 2024, his salary was increased due to inflation and higher cost of living to $325,000, all
of it being accrued and unpaid, at his discretion, which is expected to be paid when the Company raises significant capital to fund its
future. In addition, the CFO must be given 6-months’ notice of termination and shall receive a severance package of one-month’s
pay in addition to the 6-months’ notice, or 3 months’ salary if he dies. If there is a change of control, all his options
shall vest.
As
of December 31, 2023, Anthony Santelli is owed $293,830 in back pay and accrued bonuses, along with interest of $62,047.
As
of December 31, 2023, AES Financial Advisors, LLC, an entity owned by Anthony Santelli II and his wife Marjorie Santelli, Esq., is owed
$72,670, primarily dating from 2018, prior to when Dr. Santelli became COO, plus interest of $18,419.
The
following tables set forth the compensation paid by the Company to its officers and directors for the fiscal years ended December 31,
2023, and December 31, 2022. This information includes the dollar value of base salaries, bonus awards and number of stock options granted,
and certain other compensation, if any, actually paid. Accrued back pay is included in Other in the year in which it is actually paid.
Unvested but granted stock options are included in the year in which they vest. The compensation discussed addresses all compensation
awarded to or paid to its named executive officers.
Principal
Position
Year
Salary
Bonus
Stock
Awards
Option
Awards (1)
Non-Equity
Incentive Plans
Non-Qualified
Deferred Comp on Earnings
Other
(back pay)
Total
Benjamin
Slager
2023
265,500
-
-
-
-
-
-
$ 265,500
(CEO)
2022
360,000
42,000
-
743,298
-
-
78,500
$ 1,223,798
Anthony Santelli
II
2023
177,082
-
-
-
-
-
$ 177,082
(CFO)
2022
250,000
-
-
495,532
-
-
$ 745,532
(1)
See
note 3 to the audited financial statements included in this prospectus for assumptions used in valuation.
OUTSTANDING
EQUITY AWARDS
Grants
of Plan-Based Awards
Name
Grant
Date
Number
of Securities Underlying Unexercised Options (#) Exercisable
Number
of Securities Underlying Unexercised Unearned Options (#)
Number
of Securities Underlying Unexercised Options (#) Unexercisable (1)
Option
Exercise Price ($)
Option
Expiration Date
Ben
Slager, CEO Chairman
3/1/2023
6,000,000
-
6,000,000
$ 0.20
3/1/2033
Anthony Santelli,
CFO Director
3/1/2023
4,000,000
-
4,000,000
$ 0.20
3/1/2033
Ben Slager, CEO
Chairman
1/5/2021
6,000,000
-
-
$ 0.15
1/5/2031
Anthony Santelli,
CFO Director
1/5/2021
4,000,000
-
-
$ 0.15
1/5/2031
Ben Slager, CEO
Chairman
5/9/2020
5,000,000
-
5,000,000
$ 0.10
5/9/2030
Anthony
Santelli, CFO Director
5/9/2020
5,000,000
-
5,000,000
$ 0.10
5/9/2030
Total
30,000,000
-
20,000,000
20
Warrants
Issued to Management
Grants
of Plan-Based Awards
Name
Grant
Date
Number
of Securities Underlying Unexercised Warrants (#) Exercisable
Number
of Securities Underlying Unexercised Warrants (#) Unexercisable (1)
Warrant
Exercise Price ($)
Warrant
Expiration Date
NONE
-
-
$ -
Total
-
-
$ -
(1)
As
of December 31, 2023.
Outstanding
Equity Awards at Fiscal Year End
In
March 2023, the company’s Chief Executive Officer Ben Slager received options to purchase up to 6,000,000 shares of the Company’s
common stock under the Company’s 2021 Employee Director Stock Plan at an exercise price of 20 cents per share that will vest if
and when the company is uplisted to the Nasdaq or NYSE. Using a Black-Scholes option pricing model, these were valued at $1,015,146.
In January 2021, the company’s Chief Executive Officer Ben Slager received options to purchase up to 6,000,000 shares of the Company’s
common stock at an exercise price of 15 cents per share that vested January 1, 2022. Using a Black-Scholes option pricing model, these
were valued at $743,298. In the year ended December 31, 2020, the Company’s Chief Executive Officer received options to purchase
up to 10,000,000 shares of the company’s common stock under the Company’s 2012 Employee Director Stock Plan at an exercise
price of 10 cents per share, half that vested immediately, and half that vest upon the commercialization of the CTS process. Using a
Black-Scholes asset pricing model, the vested options were valued at $414,850.
In
March 2023, the company’s Chief Financial Officer Anthony Santelli received options to purchase up to 4,000,000 shares of the Company’s
common stock under the Company’s 2021 Employee Director Stock Plan at an exercise price of 20 cents per share that will vest if
and when the company is uplisted to the Nasdaq or NYSE. Using a Black-Scholes option pricing model, these were valued at $676,764. In
January 2021, the company’s Chief Financial Officer Anthony Santelli received options to purchase up to 4,000,000 shares of the
Company’s common stock under the Company’s 2012 Employee Director Stock Plan at an exercise price of 15 cents per share that
vested on January 1, 2022. Using a Black-Scholes option pricing model, these were valued at $495,532. In the year ended December 31,
2020, the Company’s Chief Financial Officer received options to purchase up to 10,000,000 shares of the company’s common
stock under the Company’s 2012 Employee Director Stock Plan at an exercise price of 10 cents per share, half that vested immediately,
and half that vest upon the commercialization of the CTS process. Using a Black-Scholes asset pricing model, the vested options were
valued at $414,850.
21
Pay
Versus Performance Disclosure Table
Value
of Initial Fixed $100 Investment Based on:
Year
Summary
Compensation on Table Total for PEO
Compensation
Actually Paid to PEO (1)
Average
Summary Compensation on Table Total for Non-PEO NEOs
Average
Compensation Actually Paid to Non-PEO NEOs (2)
Total
Shareholder Return
Total
Shareholder Return of Peer Group
Net
Income (3)
2023
$
265,500
$
265,500
$
177,082
$
177,082
-44
%
N/A
(3,055,194
)
2022
$
1,223,798
$
1,996,694
$
745,532
$
1,260,796
-42
%
N/A
$
(3,960,183
)
2021
$
1,017,205
$
1,017,205
$
293,690
$
293,690
149
%
N/A
$
(2,139,310
)
2020
$
600,350
$
600,350
$
575,681
$
575,681
96
%
N/A
$
(2,181,127
)
2019
$
201,629
$
(526,564
)
$
140,063
$
(211,395
)
1175
%
N/A
$
1,005,107
(1)
Negative
figures due to cancellation of previously issued vested options.
(2)
Negative
figures due to cancellation of previously issued vested options.
(3)
2019
gains due to wiping out debt in Chapter 11.
Additional
Narrative Disclosures
A
majority of the Company’s employees, including its executive officers, have entered into employment contracts with the company.
The company does not offer any benefits package, deferred compensation, or retirement plan at this time, other than an employee stock
option plan.
Director
Compensation
In
March 2015, the Board of Directors approved a resolution to award compensation packages to the Company’s independent directors
for their service as directors or as members of any committee of directors. Directors who are also officers are not to receive additional
compensation for being Directors. A resolution dated May 5, 2021, reduced board compensation to $2,500 per quarter paid, at the option
of the director, in cash or stock at the market price at the end of the quarter. Some directors have been accruing that as back pay.
A resolution dated February 27, 2023, granted each board member 500,000 options that vest when the Company uplists to a major exchange.
The
following table sets forth compensation we paid to our non-officer directors during the year ended December 31, 2023:
Name
Fees
Earned or Paid in Cash ($)
Stock
Awards ($)
Option
Awards ($) (1)
All
Other Compensation (S)
Total
($)
George
D. Bolton
11,000
-
$ 84,698
-
$ 95,698
Charles F. Sills
-
-
-
$ 0
Peter Zimeri
15,300
-
-
-
$ 15,300
Ned Burke
-
-
-
-
$ 0
Chris Kneppers
-
-
-
-
$ 0
(1)
See note 3 to the audited financial statements included in this prospectus for assumptions used in valuation.
22
ITEM
12. – SECURITY OWNERSHIP OF CERTAIN BENEFICIAL OWNERS AND MANAGEMENT AND RELATED STOCKHOLDER MATTERS
The
following table sets forth certain information regarding beneficial ownership of the Company’s Common Stock as of December 31,
2023, by: (i) each current director; each nominee for director, and executive officer of the Company; (ii) all directors and executive
officers as a group; and (iii) each shareholder who owns more than five percent of the outstanding shares of the Company’s Common
Stock. Except as otherwise indicated, the Company believes each of the persons listed below possesses sole voting and investment power
with respect to the shares indicated.
Name
and Address
No
of Shares (2)
%
Owned (1)
Benjamin
Slager (3)
41,640,000
13.3
3710 Buckeye Street,
Suite 120
Palm Beach Gardens,
FL 33410
Anthony Santelli,
II (4)
48,490,027
15.3
3710 Buckeye Street,
Suite 120
Palm Beach Gardens,
FL 33410
Charles F. Sills
(5)
1,100,000
0.4
3710 Buckeye Street,
Suite 120
Palm Beach Gardens,
FL 33410
George D. Bolton
(6)
5,100,000
1.7
3710 Buckeye Street,
Suite 120
Palm Beach Gardens,
FL 33410
Peter Zimeri (7)
100,000
0.03
3710 Buckeye Street,
Suite 120
Palm Beach Gardens,
FL 33410
Edmund Burke (8)
13,610,276
4.5
3710 Buckeye Street,
Suite 120
Palm Beach Gardens,
FL 33410
Chris and Angela
Kneppers (9)
22,351,270
7.7
3710 Buckeye Street,
Suite 120
Palm Beach Gardens,
FL 33410
All officers and
directors as a group (seven persons)
133,391,573
40.3
(1)
The
percentages in this table are based upon 302,750,963 shares of common stock issued and outstanding as of December 31, 2023, and assumes
the persons vested options and warrants are exercised but none other.
(2)
Beneficial
ownership is determined in accordance with the rules of the Securities and Exchange Commission and includes voting and investment
power with respect to the shares. Shares of Common Stock subject to options or warrants currently exercisable or exercisable within
60 days are deemed outstanding for computing the percentage of the person holding such options or warrants, but are not deemed outstanding
for computing the percentage of any other person.
23
(3)
Includes
500,000 exercisable warrants obtained as part of a private placement in the Company; 15,000,000 shares owned by the Benjamin Slager
2021 Irrevocable Trust; and shares underlying 11,000,000 fully vested and exercisable employee options owned by Benjamin Slager.
Benjamin Slager also has 5,000,000 additional employee options awarded that will vest with the commercialization of the CTS system,
unless the company enters into a merger or purchase agreement, at which time all options shall vest immediately. He has also been
granted 6,000,000 options that will vest if the Company uplists to the Nasdaq or NYSE.
(4)
Includes
23,366,803 shares, 260,136 fully vested and exercisable warrants, and 9,000,000 vested and exercisable employee options owned by
Anthony Santelli, II; 3,476,775 shares and 735,136 fully vested and exercisable warrants owned by AES Capital Partners, LP; 8,026,177
shares and 3,625,000 fully vested and exercisable warrants owned by The AES Capital Resource Fund, LP, two entities controlled by
Anthony Santelli, II. Anthony Santelli also has 5,000,000 additional employee options awarded that will vest with the commercialization
of the CTS system, unless the company enters into a merger or purchase agreement, at which time all options shall vest immediately.
He has also been granted 4,000,000 options that will vest if the Company uplists to the Nasdaq or NYSE.
(5)
Charles
Sills also has 1 million options that vest upon obtaining an offtake agreement; and 500,000 options that will vest if the Company
uplists to the Nasdaq or NYSE.
(6)
Includes
500,000 fully vested and exercisable options. George Bolton also has 500,000 options that vest over time; 1 million options that
vest upon obtaining an offtake agreement; and 500,000 options that will vest if the Company uplists to the Nasdaq or NYSE.
(7)
Includes
100,000 fully vested and exercisable options. Peter Zimeri also has 500,000 options that will vest if the Company uplists to the
Nasdaq or NYSE.
(8)
Edmund
Burke also has 500,000 options that will vest if the Company uplists to the Nasdaq or NYSE.
(9)
Includes
19,517,937 shares owned communally, and 2,333,333 fully vested and exercisable warrants. Chris Kneppers also has 500,000 options
that will vest if the Company uplists to the Nasdaq or NYSE.
The
Company is not aware of any person who owns of record, or is known to own beneficially, five percent (5%) or more of the outstanding
securities of any class of the issuer, other than as set forth above.
Changes
in Control
The
Company does not currently have any arrangements which if consummated may result in a change of control of the Company.
ITEM
13. – CERTAIN RELATIONSHIPS AND RELATED TRANSACTIONS AND DIRECTOR INDEPENDENCE
Related
Transactions
1)
A
board resolution was passed on February 13, 2020, that pledged the patents and pending patents to secure the back pay claims of Ben
Slager, CEO, Anthony Santelli, CFO, and Charles Sills, Director. This was done to ensure the continued involvement of management
to build the Company while they continue to be owed back pay.
2)
Short-term
notes payable, convertible notes, and contingent liabilities issued to related parties are described in NOTE 6 above.
The
officers and directors for the Company are involved in other business activities and may, in the future, become involved in other business
opportunities. If a specific business opportunity becomes available, such persons may face a conflict in selecting between the Company
and their other business interest. The Company has not formulated a policy for the resolution of such conflicts.
24
Director
Independence
The
Company currently has five (5) independent directors within the meaning of Nasdaq Marketplace Rule 4200. With five (5) independent directors,
the company feels that the current board can competently perform the functions that an independent Board of Directors should provide.
ITEM
14. – PRINCIPAL ACCOUNTANT FEES AND SERVICES.
Audit
Fees
The
aggregate fees billed by the Company’s auditors, BF Borgers CPA PC for professional services rendered for the audit of its annual
financial statements for fiscal year ended December 31, 2023, and review its interim financial statements for the second and third quarters
of 2022 are approximately $38,500. In 2022, and Q1 2023, the Company had a different auditor, Prager Metis CPA, LLC, that charged approximately
$51,000 for the audit of its 2022 financial statements and review of its first, second and third quarter of 2022, and an additional $8,500
for Q1 2023.
Audit
Related fees
During
the past fiscal year, no fees were billed or incurred for assurance or related services by the Company’s auditors that were reasonably
related to the audit or review of financial statements reported above.
Tax
Fees
During
the past fiscal year, the Company incurred approximately $2,900 for tax preparation fees for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2022
and $3,000 for fiscal year ended December 31, 2021.
All
Other Fees
During
the past fiscal year, no other fees were billed or incurred for services by the Company’s auditors other than the fees noted above.
The Company’s board, acting as an audit committee, deemed the fees charged to be compatible with maintenance of the independence
of its auditors.
The
Board of Directors Preapproval Policies
The
Company has had a functioning audit committee since May 2018. For the fiscal year ending December 31, 2023, the Company’s full
board approved of the audit arrangement with BF Borgers CPA P.C. Board of directors pre-approval of audit and non-audit services will
not be required if the engagement for the services is entered into pursuant to pre-approval policies and procedures established by the
Company’s board of directors regarding its engagement of the independent auditor, provided the policies and procedures are detailed
as to the particular service, its board of directors is informed of each service provided, and such policies and procedures do not include
delegation of its board of directors’ responsibilities under the Exchange Act to its management. The Company’s board of directors
may delegate to one or more designated members of its board of directors the authority to grant pre-approvals, provided such approvals
are presented to the board of directors at a subsequent meeting. If the board of directors elects to establish pre-approval policies
and procedures regarding non-audit services, the board of directors must be informed of each non-audit service provided by the independent
auditor. Board of Directors pre-approval of non-audit services, other than review and attest services, also will not be required if such
services fall within available exceptions established by the SEC. For the fiscal year ending December 31, 2023, 100% of audit-related
services, tax services and other services performed by the Company’s independent auditors were pre-approved by its board of directors.
The
Company’s board has considered whether the services described above under the caption “All Other Fees”, which are currently
none, is compatible with maintaining the auditor’s independence.
The
board approved all fees described above.
25
PART
IV
ITEM
15. EXHIBITS, FINANCIAL STATEMENT SCHEDULES
The
following documents are filed as part of this 10-K:
1.
FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
The
following documents are filed in Part II, Item 8 of this annual report on Form 10-K:
Page
Report of Independent Registered Public Accounting Firm
F-2
Consolidated Balance Sheets as of December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022
F-4
Consolidated
Statements of Operations for the years ended December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022
F-5
Consolidated Statements of Changes in Stockholder’s Equity for the years ended December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022
F-6
Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows for the years ended December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022
F-7
Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements
F-8
2.
FINANCIAL STATEMENT SCHEDULES
All
financial statement schedules have been omitted as they are not required, not applicable, or the required information is otherwise included.
26
3.
EXHIBITS
The
exhibits listed below are filed as part of or incorporated by reference in this report.
Exhibit
No.
Identification
of Exhibit
3.1
Articles
of Incorporation (incorporated by reference to the Company’s S-1 filed May 23, 2012)
3.2
Certificate
of Amendment to Articles of Incorporation filed November 19, 2014 (incorporated by reference to the Company’s Form 10-12G/A
filed on February 16, 2021)
3.3
Certificate
of Amendment to Articles of Incorporation filed June 17, 2016 (incorporated by reference to the Company’s Form 10-12G/A filed
on February 16, 2021)
3.4
Certificate
of Amendment to Articles of Incorporation filed July 26, 2021 (incorporated by reference to the Company’s 8-K filed on July
30, 2021)
3.5
Bylaws
(incorporated by reference to the Company’s Form 10-12G/A filed on February 16, 2021)
10.1
Employment
Agreement, dated June 1, 2020, between the Company and Ben Slager (incorporated by reference to the Company’s Form 10-12G/A
filed on February 16, 2021)
10.2
Employment
Agreement, dated June 1, 2020, between the Company and Anthony Santelli (incorporated by reference to the Company’s Form 10-12G/A
filed on February 16, 2021
10.3
2021
Employee, Director Stock Plan (incorporated by reference to definitive 14C filed with the SEC on June 24, 2021)
14
Code
of Ethics
31.1.
Certification of the Chief Executive Officer pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002
31.2
Certification of the Chief Financial Officer pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002
32.1
Certification of the Chief Executive Officer pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as adopted pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002
32.2
Certification of the Chief Financial Officer pursuant to 18 U.S.C. Section 1350, as adopted pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002
101.INS
Inline
XBRL Instance Document
101.SCH
Inline
XBRL Taxonomy Extension Schema Document
101.CAL
Inline
XBRL Taxonomy Extension Calculation Linkbase Document
101.DEF
Inline
XBRL Taxonomy Extension Definition Linkbase Document
101.LAB
Inline
XBRL Taxonomy Extension Label Linkbase Document
101.PRE
Inline
XBRL Taxonomy Extension Presentation Linkbase Document
104
Cover
Page Interactive Data File (embedded within the Inline XBRL document)
27
SIGNATURES
Pursuant
to the requirements of Section 13 or 15(d) of the Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its
behalf by the undersigned, thereunto duly authorized.
Blue
Biofuels, Inc.
(Registrant)
By
/s/
Benjamin Slager
Benjamin
Slager
Chief
Executive Officer, (Principal Executive Officer)
Date
March
26, 2024
By
/s/
Anthony Santelli
Anthony
Santelli
Chief
Financial Officer (Principal Financial and Accounting Officer)
Date
March
26, 2024
Pursuant
to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, this report has been signed below by the following person on behalf of the
registrant and in the capacity and on the date indicated.
By
/s/
Benjamin Slager
Benjamin
Slager
Chief
Executive Officer, (Principal Executive Officer)
Date
March
26, 2024
By
/s/
Anthony Santelli II
Anthony
Santelli
Chief
Financial Officer (Principal Financial and Accounting Officer)
Date
March
26, 2024
By
/s/
George D. Bolton
George
D. Bolton
Director
Date
March
26, 2024
By
/s/
Charles F. Sills
Charles
F. Sills
Director
Date
March
26, 2024
By
/s/
Peter Zimeri
Peter
Zimeri
Director
Date
March
26, 2024
By
/s/
Edmund Burke
Edmund
Burke
Director
Date
March
26, 2024
By
/s/
Chris Kneppers
Chris
Kneppers
Director
Date
March
26, 2024
28
Text extracted from the filing as submitted to EDGAR. Formatting, tables and exhibits are simplified for reading; the original document is authoritative for anything you rely on.