3 unchanged sentences
Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets
−Removed: (In thousands, except per share amounts)
+Added: (In thousands, except per share amounts) June 26,
+Added: 2022 December 26,
Current assets:
3 unchanged sentences
Income tax receivable 4,017 9,386
+Added: Inventories 38,076 34,981
Prepaid expenses and other current assets 49,743 46,310
−Removed: Assets held for sale
Total current assets 239,788 255,009
3 unchanged sentences
Notes receivable, less current portion, net 19,703 35,504
+Added: Goodwill 70,731 80,632
Deferred income taxes 8,657 5,156
+Added: Other assets 76,650 88,384
+Added: Total assets $ 836,272 $ 885,704
Liabilities, Redeemable noncontrolling interests and Stockholders’ deficit
6 unchanged sentences
Current operating lease liabilities 21,485 22,543
−Removed: Liabilities held for sale
Total current liabilities 250,477 287,424
9 unchanged sentences
Common stock ($ 0.01 par value per share;
−Removed: issued 49,074 at March 27, 2022 and 49,002 at December 26, 2021)
+Added: issued 49,096 at June 26, 2022 and 49,002 at December 26, 2021)
Additional paid-in capital 442,255 445,126
1 unchanged sentence
Retained earnings 193,934 183,157
−Removed: Treasury stock ( 13,399 shares at March 27, 2022 and 13,205 shares at December 26, 2021, at cost)
+Added: Treasury stock ( 13,848 shares at June 26, 2022 and 13,205 shares at December 26, 2021, at cost)
+Added: ( 875,205 ) ( 806,472 )
Total stockholders’ deficit ( 249,559 ) ( 187,670 )
6 unchanged sentences
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations
−Removed: Three Months Ended
−Removed: (In thousands, except per share amounts)
+Added: Three Months Ended Six Months Ended
+Added: (In thousands, except per share amounts) June 26,
+Added: 2022 June 27,
+Added: 2021 June 26,
+Added: 2022 June 27,
Domestic Company-owned restaurant sales $ 171,411 $ 196,124 $ 370,176 $ 393,358
17 unchanged sentences
Income before income taxes 32,823 40,988 42,995 84,203
−Removed: Income tax (benefit) expense
+Added: Income tax expense 7,093 7,398 5,838 15,330
Net income before attribution to noncontrolling interests 25,730 33,590 37,157 68,873
3 unchanged sentences
Net income attributable to the Company $ 25,433 $ 32,254 $ 35,927 $ 66,137
+Added: Dividends on redemption of Series B Convertible Preferred Stock — ( 109,852 ) — ( 109,852 )
Dividends paid to participating securities ( 82 ) ( 2,300 ) ( 141 ) ( 5,827 )
Net income attributable to participating securities ( 111 ) — ( 93 ) —
−Removed: Net income attributable to common shareholders
−Removed: Basic earnings per common share
−Removed: Diluted earnings per common share
+Added: Net income (loss) attributable to common shareholders $ 25,240 $ ( 79,898 ) $ 35,693 $ ( 49,542 )
+Added: Basic earnings (loss) per common share $ 0.71 $ ( 2.30 ) $ 1.00 $ ( 1.47 )
+Added: Diluted earnings (loss) per common share $ 0.70 $ ( 2.30 ) $ 0.99 $ ( 1.47 )
Basic weighted average common shares outstanding 35,624 34,729 35,775 33,739
1 unchanged sentence
Dividends declared per common share $ 0.350 $ 0.225 $ 0.700 $ 0.450
−Removed: See accompanying notes.
Papa John’s International, Inc.
1 unchanged sentence
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Comprehensive Income
−Removed: Three Months Ended
−Removed: (In thousands)
+Added: Three Months Ended Six Months Ended
+Added: (In thousands) June 26,
+Added: 2022 June 27,
+Added: 2021 June 26,
+Added: 2022 June 27,
Net income before attribution to noncontrolling interests $ 25,730 $ 33,590 $ 37,157 $ 68,873
−Removed: Other comprehensive income, before tax:
+Added: Other comprehensive (loss) income, before tax:
Foreign currency translation adjustments ( 4,109 ) 437 ( 4,970 ) 1,496
Interest rate swaps (1) 1,877 1,817 3,589 3,612
−Removed: Other comprehensive income, before tax
+Added: Other comprehensive (loss) income, before tax ( 2,232 ) 2,254 ( 1,381 ) 5,108
Income tax effect:
2 unchanged sentences
Income tax effect 514 ( 518 ) 318 ( 1,175 )
−Removed: Other comprehensive income, net of tax
+Added: Other comprehensive (loss) income, net of tax ( 1,718 ) 1,736 ( 1,063 ) 3,933
Comprehensive income before attribution to noncontrolling interests 24,012 35,326 36,094 72,806
2 unchanged sentences
Comprehensive income attributable to the Company $ 23,715 $ 33,990 $ 34,864 $ 70,070
−Removed: (1) Amounts reclassified out of accumulated other comprehensive loss into net interest expense include $ 535 and ($ 1,709 ) for the three months ended March 27, 2022 and March 28, 2021, respectively.
−Removed: (2) The income tax effects of amounts reclassified out of accumulated other comprehensive loss into net interest expense were ($ 120 ) and $ 385 for the three months ended March 27, 2022 and March 28, 2021, respectively.
+Added: _______________
+Added: (1) Amounts reclassified out of accumulated other comprehensive loss into net interest expense include $( 735 ) and $( 200 ) for the three and six months ended June 26, 2022, respectively, and $( 1,730 ) and $( 3,439 ) for the three and six months ended June 27, 2021, respectively.
+Added: (2) The income tax effects of amounts reclassified out of accumulated other comprehensive loss into net interest expense were $ 165 and $ 45 for the three and six months ended June 26, 2022, respectively, and $ 388 and $ 771 for the three and six months ended June 27, 2021, respectively.
See accompanying notes.
3 unchanged sentences
Papa John’s International, Inc.
−Removed: Noncontrolling
−Removed: (In thousands)
+Added: (In thousands) Common
+Added: Outstanding Common
+Added: Stock Additional
+Added: Capital Accumulated
Comprehensive
+Added: Loss Retained
+Added: Earnings Treasury
+Added: Stock Noncontrolling
+Added: Subsidiaries Total
Stockholders’
−Removed: For the three months ended March 27, 2022
+Added: For the three months ended June 26, 2022
+Added: Balance at March 27, 2022 35,675 $ 491 $ 436,225 $ ( 9,316 ) $ 181,124 $ ( 832,603 ) $ 15,635 $ ( 208,444 )
+Added: Net income (1) — — — — 25,433 — 279 25,712
+Added: Other comprehensive (loss), net of tax — — — ( 1,718 ) — — — ( 1,718 )
+Added: Cash dividends on common stock — — 48 — ( 12,541 ) — — ( 12,493 )
+Added: Exercise of stock options 22 — 1,167 — — — — 1,167
+Added: Acquisition of Company common stock ( 452 ) — — — — ( 42,762 ) — ( 42,762 )
+Added: Stock-based compensation expense — — 4,925 — — — — 4,925
+Added: Issuance of restricted stock 2 — ( 81 ) — — 81 — —
+Added: Tax payments for equity award issuances ( 1 ) — ( 65 ) — — — — ( 65 )
+Added: Distributions to noncontrolling interests — — — — — — ( 150 ) ( 150 )
+Added: Other 2 — 36 — ( 82 ) 79 ( 3 ) 30
+Added: Balance at June 26, 2022 35,248 $ 491 $ 442,255 $ ( 11,034 ) $ 193,934 $ ( 875,205 ) $ 15,761 $ ( 233,798 )
+Added: For the six months ended June 26, 2022
Balance at December 26, 2021 35,797 $ 490 $ 445,126 $ ( 9,971 ) $ 183,157 $ ( 806,472 ) $ 15,212 $ ( 172,458 )
Net income (1) — — — — 35,927 — 702 36,629
−Removed: Other comprehensive income, net of tax
+Added: Other comprehensive (loss), net of tax — — — ( 1,063 ) — — — ( 1,063 )
Cash dividends on common stock — — 95 — ( 25,196 ) — — ( 25,101 )
4 unchanged sentences
Tax payments for equity award issuances ( 70 ) — ( 7,527 ) — — — — ( 7,527 )
−Removed: Balance at March 27, 2022
−Removed: (1) Net income to the Company for the three months ended March 27, 2022 excludes $ 510 allocable to the redeemable noncontrolling interests for our joint venture arrangements.
−Removed: At March 27, 2022, the accumulated other comprehensive loss of $ 9,316 was comprised of net unrealized foreign currency translation loss of $ 5,533 and net unrealized loss on the interest rate swap agreements of $ 3,783 .
+Added: Distributions to noncontrolling interests — — — — — — ( 150 ) ( 150 )
+Added: Other 6 — 3 — 46 288 (3) 334
+Added: Balance at June 26, 2022 35,248 $ 491 $ 442,255 $ ( 11,034 ) $ 193,934 $ ( 875,205 ) $ 15,761 $ ( 233,798 )
+Added: _______________
+Added: (1) Net income to the Company for the three and six months ended June 26, 2022 excludes income of $ 18 and $ 528 allocable to the redeemable noncontrolling interests for our joint venture arrangements.
+Added: At June 26, 2022, the accumulated other comprehensive loss of $ 11,034 was comprised of net unrealized foreign currency translation loss of $ 8,696 and net unrealized loss on the interest rate swap agreements of $ 2,338 .
See accompanying notes.
Papa John’s International, Inc.
−Removed: and Subsidiaries
−Removed: Condensed Consolidated Statements of Stockholders’ Deficit (continued)
−Removed: Papa John’s International, Inc.
−Removed: Noncontrolling
−Removed: (In thousands)
+Added: (In thousands) Common
+Added: Outstanding Common
+Added: Stock Additional
+Added: Capital Accumulated
Comprehensive
+Added: Loss Retained
+Added: Earnings Treasury
+Added: Stock Noncontrolling
+Added: Subsidiaries Total
Stockholders’
−Removed: For the three months ended March 28, 2021
+Added: For the three months ended June 27, 2021
+Added: Balance at March 28, 2021 32,681 $ 453 $ 251,285 $ ( 11,971 ) $ 242,119 $ ( 737,268 ) $ 15,282 $ ( 240,100 )
+Added: Net income (1) — — — — 32,254 — 623 32,877
+Added: Other comprehensive income, net of tax — — — 1,736 — — — 1,736
+Added: Repurchase and conversion of Series B Convertible Preferred Stock 3,489 35 174,631 — ( 110,783 ) — — 63,883
+Added: Cash dividends on common stock — — 31 — ( 7,471 ) — — ( 7,440 )
+Added: Cash dividends on preferred stock — — — — ( 709 ) — — ( 709 )
+Added: Exercise of stock options 107 1 5,801 — — — — 5,802
+Added: Acquisition of Company common stock ( 68 ) — — — — ( 6,921 ) — ( 6,921 )
+Added: Stock-based compensation expense — — 4,089 — — — — 4,089
+Added: Issuance of restricted stock 5 — ( 294 ) — — 294 — —
+Added: Tax payments for equity award issuances — — ( 52 ) — — — — ( 52 )
+Added: Distributions to noncontrolling interests — — — — — — ( 615 ) ( 615 )
+Added: Other 1 — 117 — ( 641 ) 76 — ( 448 )
+Added: Balance at June 27, 2021 36,215 $ 489 $ 435,608 $ ( 10,235 ) $ 154,769 $ ( 743,819 ) $ 15,290 $ ( 147,898 )
+Added: For the six months ended June 27, 2021
Balance at December 27, 2020 32,545 $ 453 $ 254,103 $ ( 14,168 ) $ 219,158 $ ( 741,724 ) $ 15,239 $ ( 266,939 )
1 unchanged sentence
Other comprehensive income, net of tax — — — 3,933 — — — 3,933
+Added: Repurchase and conversion of Series B Convertible Preferred Stock 3,489 35 174,631 — ( 110,783 ) — — 63,883
Cash dividends on common stock — — 62 — ( 14,906 ) — — ( 14,844 )
4 unchanged sentences
Issuance of restricted stock 109 — ( 5,665 ) — — 5,665 — —
−Removed: Tax effect of restricted stock awards
+Added: Tax payments for equity award issuances — — ( 3,887 ) — — — — ( 3,887 )
Distributions to noncontrolling interests — — — — — — ( 1,185 ) ( 1,185 )
−Removed: Balance at March 28, 2021
−Removed: (1) Net income to the Company for the three months ended March 28, 2021 excludes $ 787 allocable to the redeemable noncontrolling interests for our joint venture arrangements.
−Removed: At March 28, 2021, the accumulated other comprehensive loss of $ 11,971 was comprised of net unrealized foreign currency translation loss of $ 2,977 and net unrealized loss on the interest rate swap agreements of $ 8,994 .
+Added: Other 7 — 63 — ( 716 ) 428 — ( 225 )
+Added: Balance at June 27, 2021 36,215 $ 489 $ 435,608 $ ( 10,235 ) $ 154,769 $ ( 743,819 ) $ 15,290 $ ( 147,898 )
+Added: _______________
+Added: (1) Net income to the Company for the three and six months ended June 27, 2021 excludes $ 713 and $ 1,500 allocable to the redeemable noncontrolling interests for our joint venture arrangements.
+Added: At June 27, 2021, the accumulated other comprehensive loss of $ 10,235 was comprised of net unrealized foreign currency translation loss of $ 2,641 and net unrealized loss on the interest rate swap agreements of $ 7,594 .
See accompanying notes.
2 unchanged sentences
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
−Removed: Three Months Ended
−Removed: (In thousands)
+Added: Six Months Ended
+Added: (In thousands) June 26,
+Added: 2022 June 27,
Operating activities
6 unchanged sentences
Stock-based compensation expense 9,100 8,202
+Added: Other ( 2,071 ) 467
Changes in operating assets and liabilities, net of acquisitions:
1 unchanged sentence
Income tax receivable 5,369 189
+Added: Inventories ( 3,815 ) 430
Prepaid expenses and other current assets ( 3,901 ) 1,092
7 unchanged sentences
Purchases of property and equipment ( 30,744 ) ( 21,543 )
+Added: Notes issued ( 1,098 ) ( 5,263 )
Repayments of notes issued 6,743 7,922
Acquisitions, net of cash acquired ( 1,250 ) ( 699 )
+Added: Proceeds from refranchising, net of cash transferred 13,588 —
+Added: Other 238 116
Net cash used in investing activities ( 12,523 ) ( 19,467 )
2 unchanged sentences
Proceeds from exercise of stock options 1,908 8,100
+Added: Repurchase of Series B Convertible Preferred Stock — ( 188,647 )
Acquisition of Company common stock ( 75,471 ) ( 8,188 )
4 unchanged sentences
Repayments of term loan — ( 10,000 )
+Added: Other 1,348 ( 1,691 )
Net cash used in financing activities ( 50,677 ) ( 142,871 )
7 unchanged sentences
Notes to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements (Unaudited)
−Removed: March 27, 2022
+Added: June 26, 2022
Basis of Presentation
2 unchanged sentences
In the opinion of management, all adjustments, consisting of normal recurring accruals, considered necessary for a fair presentation have been included.
−Removed: Operating results for the three months ended March 27, 2022 are not necessarily indicative of the results that may be expected for the fiscal year ending December 25, 2022.
+Added: Operating results for the three and six months ended June 26, 2022 are not necessarily indicative of the results that may be expected for the fiscal year ending December 25, 2022.
For further information, refer to the consolidated financial statements and footnotes thereto included in the Annual Report on Form 10-K for Papa John’s International, Inc.
3 unchanged sentences
The preparation of condensed consolidated financial statements in conformity with GAAP requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the amounts reported in the condensed consolidated financial statements and accompanying notes.
−Removed: Significant items that are subject to such estimates and assumptions include allowance for credit losses on accounts and notes receivable, intangible assets, contract assets and contract liabilities, including the online customer loyalty program obligation and gift card breakage, right-of-use assets and lease liabilities, insurance reserves and tax reserves.
+Added: Significant items that are subject to such estimates and assumptions include allowance for credit losses on accounts and notes receivable, contract assets and contract liabilities, including the online customer loyalty program obligation and gift card breakage, right-of-use assets and lease liabilities, insurance reserves, and tax reserves.
Although management bases its estimates on historical experience and assumptions that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances, actual results could significantly differ from these estimates.
3 unchanged sentences
PJMF collects a percentage of revenues from Company-owned and franchised restaurants in the United States for the purpose of designing and administering advertising and promotional programs.
−Removed: PJMF is a variable interest entity (“VIE”) that funds its operations with ongoing financial support and contributions from the domestic restaurants, of which approximately 80 % are franchised ( 85 % following the divestiture of the Company’s interest in one joint venture subsequent to the end of the first quarter that included 90 restaurants as discussed in Note 10) and does not have sufficient equity to fund its operations without these ongoing financial contributions.
+Added: PJMF is a variable interest entity (“VIE”) that funds its operations with ongoing financial support and contributions from the domestic restaurants, of which approximately 80 percent are franchised ( 85 percent following the divestiture of the Company’s interest in one joint venture in the second quarter that included 90 restaurants as discussed in Note 10) and does not have sufficient equity to fund its operations without these ongoing financial contributions.
Based on an assessment of the governance structure and operating procedures of PJMF, the Company determined it has the power to control certain significant activities of PJMF, and therefore, is the primary beneficiary.
1 unchanged sentence
Noncontrolling Interests
−Removed: Papa John’s has four joint venture arrangements in which there are noncontrolling interests held by third parties that include 188 restaurants at March 27, 2022 and March 28, 2021.
−Removed: Subsequent to the end of the first quarter, the Company divested its interest in one joint venture that included 90 restaurants.
−Removed: See Note 10 for additional information.
+Added: Papa John’s has joint venture arrangements in which there are noncontrolling interests held by third parties that include 98 and 188 restaurants at June 26, 2022 and June 27, 2021, respectively.
+Added: As further described in Note 10, we divested our 51 percent interest in one joint venture that owned 90 -restaurants in the second quarter of 2022.
+Added: The assets and liabilities associated with this joint venture arrangement were classified as held for sale at the end of the first quarter of 2022.
Consolidated net income is required to be reported separately at amounts attributable to both the Company and the noncontrolling interests.
−Removed: Additionally, disclosures are required to clearly identify and distinguish between the interests of
−Removed: the Company and the interests of the noncontrolling owners, including a disclosure on the face of the Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations of net income attributable to noncontrolling interests.
−Removed: Net income attributable to these joint ventures for the three months ended March 27, 2022 and March 28, 2021 was as follows (in thousands):
−Removed: Three Months Ended
+Added: Additionally, disclosures are required to clearly identify and distinguish between the interests of the Company and the interests of the noncontrolling owners, including a disclosure on the face of the Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations of net income attributable to noncontrolling interests.
+Added: Net income attributable to these joint ventures for the three and six months ended June 26, 2022 and June 27, 2021 was as follows (in thousands):
+Added: Three Months Ended Six Months Ended
+Added: 2022 June 27,
+Added: 2021 June 26,
+Added: 2022 June 27,
Papa John’s International, Inc.
+Added: $ 706 $ 2,296 $ 2,327 $ 4,645
Noncontrolling interests 297 1,336 1,230 2,736
1 unchanged sentence
The following summarizes the redemption feature, location and related accounting within the Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets for these joint venture arrangements:
−Removed: Type of Joint Venture Arrangement
−Removed: Location within the Balance Sheets
−Removed: Recorded Value
−Removed: Joint ventures with no redemption feature
−Removed: Permanent equity
−Removed: Carrying value
−Removed: Joint ventures with option to require the Company to purchase the noncontrolling interest - not currently redeemable or redemption not probable
−Removed: Temporary equity
−Removed: Carrying value
+Added: Type of Joint Venture Arrangement Location within the Balance Sheets Recorded Value
+Added: Joint ventures with no redemption feature Permanent equity Carrying value
+Added: Joint ventures with option to require the Company to purchase the noncontrolling interest - not currently redeemable or redemption not probable Temporary equity Carrying value
Deferred Income Tax Accounts and Tax Reserves
22 unchanged sentences
accordingly, the fair values presented do not necessarily indicate what the Company or its debtholders could realize in a current market exchange.
−Removed: Our financial assets and liabilities that were measured at fair value on a recurring basis as of March 27, 2022 and December 26, 2021 are as follows:
+Added: Our financial assets and liabilities that were measured at fair value on a recurring basis as of June 26, 2022 and December 26, 2021 are as follows:
Fair Value Measurements
−Removed: (in thousands)
−Removed: March 27, 2022
+Added: (in thousands) Carrying
+Added: Value Level 1 Level 2 Level 3
+Added: June 26, 2022
Financial assets:
Cash surrender value of life insurance policies (a) $ 29,514 $ 29,514 $ — $ —
−Removed: Financial liabilities:
Interest rate swaps (b) $ 672 $ — $ 672 $ —
4 unchanged sentences
Interest rate swaps (b) $ 5,536 $ — $ 5,536 $ —
+Added: _______________
(a) Represents life insurance policies held in our non-qualified deferred compensation plan.
4 unchanged sentences
The Company’s revolving credit facilities under its credit agreement approximate carrying value due to its variable market-based interest rate.
−Removed: The Company’s 3.875 %senior notes are classified as a Level 2 fair value measurement since the Company estimates the fair value by using recent trading transactions, and has the following estimated fair values and carrying values (excluding the impact of unamortized debt issuance costs) as of March 27, 2022 and December 26, 2021, respectively:
−Removed: March 27, 2022
−Removed: December 26, 2021
−Removed: (in thousands)
+Added: The Company’s 3.875 % senior notes are classified as a Level 2 fair value measurement since the Company estimates the fair value by using recent trading transactions, and has the following estimated fair values and carrying values (excluding the impact of unamortized debt issuance costs) as of June 26, 2022 and December 26, 2021, respectively:
+Added: June 26, 2022 December 26, 2021
+Added: (in thousands) Carrying
+Added: Value Carrying
3.875 % Senior Notes
+Added: $ 400,000 $ 332,000 $ 400,000 $ 396,000
Allowance for Credit Losses
3 unchanged sentences
The following table summarizes changes in our allowances for credit losses for accounts receivable and notes receivable:
−Removed: (in thousands)
−Removed: Accounts Receivable
−Removed: Notes Receivable
+Added: (in thousands) Accounts Receivable Notes Receivable
Balance at December 26, 2021 $ 2,364 $ 1,500
2 unchanged sentences
Recoveries collected — ( 14 )
−Removed: Balance at March 27, 2022
−Removed: (1) The Company recorded $ 14.6 million of one -time, non-cash reserves for certain accounts receivable and notes receivable primarily associated with a master franchisee with operations principally in Russia.
+Added: Balance at June 26, 2022 $ 5,108 $ 14,020
+Added: (1) The Company recorded $ 14.6 million of one-time, non-cash reserves in the first quarter of 2022 for certain accounts receivable and notes receivable primarily associated with a master franchisee with operations principally in Russia.
Lessor Operating Leases
We sublease certain retail space to our franchisees in the United Kingdom which are primarily operating leases.
−Removed: At March 27, 2022, we leased and subleased approximately 430 Papa John’s restaurant properties to franchisees in the United Kingdom.
+Added: At June 26, 2022, we leased and subleased approximately 436 Papa John’s restaurant properties to franchisees in the United Kingdom.
The initial lease terms on the franchised sites in the United Kingdom are generally 15 years.
1 unchanged sentence
Rental income, primarily derived from properties leased and subleased to franchisees in the United Kingdom, is recognized on a straight-line basis over the respective operating lease terms.
−Removed: We recognized total sublease income of $ 3.0 million and $ 2.8 million within Other revenues in the Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations for the three months ended March 27, 2022 and March 28, 2021, respectively.
+Added: We recognized total sublease income of $ 3.0 million and $ 6.0 million for the three and six months ended June 26, 2022, respectively, and $ 3.3 million and $ 6.1 million for the three and six months ended June 27, 2021, respectively, within Other revenues in the Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations.
Lease Guarantees
1 unchanged sentence
These leases have varying terms, the latest of which expires in 2036.
−Removed: As of March 27, 2022, the estimated maximum amount of undiscounted payments the Company could be required to make in the event of nonpayment by the primary lessees was $ 10.8 million.
+Added: As of June 26, 2022, the estimated maximum amount of undiscounted payments the Company could be required to make in the event of nonpayment by the primary lessees was $ 10.2 million.
This contingent liability is not included in the Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheet as it is not probable to occur.
The fair value of the guarantee is not material.
−Removed: Subsequent to quarter-end, we refranchised 90 Company-owned restaurants held in a consolidated joint venture in Texas through the sale of our 51 % ownership in the joint venture, as discussed in Note 10.
−Removed: As part of this transaction, we are contingently liable for payment of 12 of the 90 domestic leases, and the estimated maximum amount of undiscounted payments the Company could be required to make in the event of nonpayment by the primary lessees for these stores is approximately $ 1.6 million.
Supplemental Cash Flow & Other Information
Supplemental cash flow information related to leases for the periods reported is as follows:
−Removed: Three Months Ended
−Removed: (in thousands)
−Removed: March 27, 2022
−Removed: March 28, 2021
+Added: Six Months Ended
+Added: (in thousands) June 26, 2022 June 27, 2021
Cash paid for amounts included in the measurement of lease liabilities:
6 unchanged sentences
(a) Included within the change in Other assets and liabilities within the Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows offset by non-cash operating lease right-of-use asset amortization and lease liability accretion.
−Removed: (b) Includes right-of-use assets of approximately $ 14.5 million for the three months ended March 28, 2021 associated with the lease commencement of our Atlanta, Georgia corporate office.
+Added: (b) Includes right-of-use assets of approximately $ 14.3 million for the six months ended June 27, 2021 associated with the lease commencement of our Atlanta, Georgia corporate office.
Papa John’s Marketing Fund, Inc.
2 unchanged sentences
Assets and liabilities of PJMF, which are restricted in their use, included in the Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets were as follows (in thousands):
+Added: 2022 December 26, 2021
Current assets:
5 unchanged sentences
Deferred income taxes 592 614
+Added: Total assets $ 33,057 $ 41,263
Current liabilities:
9 unchanged sentences
Our contract liabilities primarily relate to franchise fees, unredeemed gift card liabilities, and loyalty program obligations, which we classify as Deferred revenue on the Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets.
−Removed: During the three months ended March 27, 2022 and March 28, 2021, the Company recognized $ 9.3 million and $ 9.1 million in revenue, respectively, related to deferred revenue.
+Added: During the three and six months ended June 26, 2022, the Company recognized $ 8.3 million and $ 17.6 million in revenue, respectively, related to deferred revenue, compared to $ 9.0 million and $ 18.2 million for the three and six months ended June 27, 2021.
The following table includes a breakout of contract liability balances (in thousands):
Contract Liabilities
−Removed: March 27, 2022
−Removed: December 26, 2021
+Added: June 26, 2022 December.
+Added: 26, 2021 Change
Franchise fees and unredeemed gift card liabilities $ 30,306 $ 20,410 $ 9,896
3 unchanged sentences
Equipment incentives are related to the future value of commissary revenue the Company will receive over the term of the incentive agreement.
−Removed: As of March 27, 2022 and December 26, 2021, the contract assets were approximately $ 5.6 million and $ 5.8 million, respectively.
−Removed: For both of the three months ended March 27, 2022 and March 28, 2021, revenue was reduced approximately $ 0.8 million for the amortization of contract assets over the applicable contract terms.
+Added: As of June 26, 2022 and December 26, 2021, the contract assets were approximately $ 7.4 million and $ 5.8 million, respectively.
+Added: For the three and six months ended June 26, 2022, revenue was reduced approximately $ 1.1 million and $ 1.9 million for the amortization of contract assets over the applicable contract terms.
Contract assets are included in Prepaid expenses and other current assets and Other assets on the Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets.
2 unchanged sentences
Performance Obligations by Period
−Removed: Less than 1 Year
+Added: Less than 1 Year 1-2 Years 2-3 Years 3-4 Years 4-5 Years Thereafter Total
Franchise fees $ 3,198 $ 2,989 $ 2,811 $ 2,604 $ 2,324 $ 7,888 $ 21,814
3 unchanged sentences
The Company will recognize redemption fee revenue in Other revenues when cards are redeemed at franchised restaurant locations.
−Removed: The Company applies the practical expedient in ASC 606-10-50-14 and does not disclose information about remaining performance obligations that have original expected durations of one year or less.
+Added: The Company applies the practical expedient in ASC 606, " Revenue Recognition " and does not disclose information about remaining performance obligations that have original expected durations of one year or less.
Shares Authorized and Outstanding
−Removed: The Company has authorized 5.0 million shares of preferred stock (of which none were issued or outstanding at March 27, 2022 and December 26, 2021) and 100.0 million shares of common stock as of March 27, 2022 and December 26, 2021.
−Removed: There were 35.7 million shares of common stock outstanding, net of repurchased shares of common stock at March 27, 2022, compared to 35.8 million shares at December 26, 2021.
+Added: The Company has authorized 5.0 million shares of preferred stock (of which none were issued or outstanding at June 26, 2022 and December 26, 2021) and 100.0 million shares of common stock as of June 26, 2022 and December 26, 2021.
+Added: There were 35.2 million shares of common stock outstanding, net of repurchased shares of common stock at June 26, 2022, compared to 35.8 million shares at December 26, 2021.
Share Repurchase Program
On October 28, 2021, our Board of Directors approved a share repurchase program with an indefinite duration for up to $ 425.0 million of the Company’s common stock.
−Removed: This share repurchase program operated alongside our previous $ 75.0 million share repurchase authorization, which began on November 4, 2020 and expired on December 26, 2021.
−Removed: The following table summarizes our repurchase activity for the three months ended March 27, 2022 and March 28, 2021:
−Removed: Maximum Dollar
+Added: This share repurchase program operated alongside our previous $ 75.0
+Added: million share repurchase authorization, which began on November 4, 2020 and expired on December 26, 2021.
+Added: The following table summarizes our repurchase activity under our share repurchase programs for the three and six months ended June 26, 2022 and June 27, 2021:
+Added: (in thousands, except average price per share) Total
+Added: Purchased Average
+Added: Share Aggregate
+Added: Purchased Maximum Dollar
Value of Shares
that May Yet Be
−Removed: (in thousands, except average price per share)
Purchased Under the
+Added: Plans or Programs
Three Months Ended
+Added: June 26, 2022 452 $ 94.56 $ 42,762 $ 349,329
+Added: June 27, 2021 68 $ 101.21 $ 6,921 $ 64,110
+Added: (in thousands, except average price per share) Total
+Added: Purchased Average
+Added: Share Aggregate
+Added: Purchased Maximum Dollar
+Added: Value of Shares
+Added: that May Yet Be
+Added: Purchased Under the
Plans or Programs
−Removed: March 27, 2022
−Removed: March 28, 2021
−Removed: Subsequent to March 27, 2022, we acquired an additional 223,000 shares at an aggregate cost of $ 23.0 million and an average price of $ 102.97 per share.
−Removed: Approximately $ 369.1 million remained available under the Company’s share repurchase program as of April 29, 2022.
+Added: Six Months Ended
+Added: June 26, 2022 753 $ 100.23 $ 75,471 $ 349,329
+Added: June 27, 2021 83 $ 98.23 $ 8,188 $ 64,110
+Added: Subsequent to June 26, 2022, we acquired an additional 229,000 shares at an aggregate cost of $ 19.5 million and an average price of $ 85.15 per share.
+Added: Approximately $ 329.8 million remained available under the Company’s share repurchase program as of July 29, 2022.
The timing and volume of share repurchases under the Company’s share repurchase programs may be executed at the discretion of management on an opportunistic basis, subject to market and business conditions, regulatory requirements and other factors, or pursuant to trading plans or other arrangements.
2 unchanged sentences
Funding for the share repurchase programs will be provided through our credit facility, operating cash flow, stock option exercises and cash and cash equivalents.
−Removed: The Company recorded dividends of approximately $ 12.6 million ($ 0.35 per share) in the first quarter of 2022.
−Removed: On April 26, 2022, our Board of Directors declared a second quarter dividend of $ 0.35 per common share (approximately $ 12.6 million in the aggregate), which will be paid on May 27, 2022 to stockholders of record as of the close of business on May 16, 2022.
+Added: The Company recorded dividends of approximately $ 25.1 million ($ 0.70 per share) for the six months ended June 26, 2022.
+Added: On August 2, 2022, our Board of Directors declared a second quarter dividend of $ 0.42 per common share (approximately $ 14.9 million in the aggregate), which will be paid on August 26, 2022 to stockholders of record as of the close of business on August 15, 2022.
The declaration and payment of any future dividends will be at the discretion of our Board of Directors.
6 unchanged sentences
The calculations of basic and diluted earnings per common share are as follows:
−Removed: Three Months Ended
−Removed: Basic earnings per common share (in thousands, except per share data)
+Added: Three Months Ended Six Months Ended
+Added: 2022 June 27,
+Added: 2021 June 26,
+Added: 2022 June 27,
+Added: Basic earnings (loss) per common share (in thousands, except per share data)
Net income attributable to the Company $ 25,433 $ 32,254 $ 35,927 $ 66,137
+Added: Dividends on redemption of Series B Convertible Preferred Stock — ( 109,852 ) — ( 109,852 )
Dividends paid to participating securities ( 82 ) ( 2,300 ) ( 141 ) ( 5,827 )
Net income attributable to participating securities ( 111 ) — ( 93 ) —
−Removed: Net income attributable to common shareholders
+Added: Net income (loss) attributable to common shareholders $ 25,240 $ ( 79,898 ) $ 35,693 $ ( 49,542 )
Basic weighted average common shares outstanding 35,624 34,729 35,775 33,739
−Removed: Basic earnings per common share
−Removed: Diluted earnings per common share (in thousands, except per share data)
−Removed: Net income attributable to common shareholders
+Added: Basic earnings (loss) per common share $ 0.71 $ ( 2.30 ) $ 1.00 $ ( 1.47 )
+Added: Diluted earnings (loss) per common share (in thousands, except per share data)
+Added: Net income (loss) attributable to common shareholders $ 25,240 $ ( 79,898 ) $ 35,693 $ ( 49,542 )
Weighted average common shares outstanding 35,624 34,729 35,775 33,739
Dilutive effect of outstanding equity awards (a) 200 — 257 —
−Removed: Diluted weighted average common shares outstanding (b)
−Removed: Diluted earnings per common share
−Removed: (a) Excludes 21,000 and 18,000 equity awards for the three months ended March 27, 2022 and March 28, 2021, respectively, as the effect of including such awards would have been anti-dilutive.
−Removed: (b) The Company had 252,500 shares of Series B Preferred Stock outstanding at March 28, 2021 ( no ne at March 27, 2022).
−Removed: For the fully diluted calculation, the Series B Preferred stock dividends were added back to net income attributable to common shareholders.
−Removed: The Company then applied the if-converted method to calculate dilution on the Series B Preferred Stock, which resulted in 5.0 million additional common shares for March 28, 2021.
−Removed: This calculation was anti-dilutive and as such was excluded.
+Added: Diluted weighted average common shares outstanding 35,824 34,729 36,032 33,739
+Added: Diluted earnings (loss) per common share $ 0.70 $ ( 2.30 ) $ 0.99 $ ( 1.47 )
+Added: _______________
+Added: (a) Excludes 63 and 42 equity awards for the three and six months ended June 26, 2022, respectively, as the effect of including such awards would have been anti-dilutive ( none for the three and six months ended June 27, 2021).
Long-term debt, net, consists of the following (in thousands):
+Added: 2022 December 26,
+Added: Senior notes $ 400,000 $ 400,000
Revolving facilities 145,000 90,000
6 unchanged sentences
At any time prior to September 15, 2024, the Company may also redeem up to 40 % of the Notes with net cash proceeds of certain equity offerings at a redemption price equal to 103.875 % of the principal amount of the Notes to be redeemed, plus accrued and unpaid interest, excluding the redemption date.
−Removed: In addition, at any time prior to September 15, 2024, the Company may redeem the Notes, in whole or in part, at a redemption price equal to 100 % of the principal amount of the Notes to be redeemed, plus accrued and unpaid interest and an applicable “make-whole” premium.
+Added: In addition, at any time prior to September 15, 2024, the Company may
+Added: redeem the Notes, in whole or in part, at a redemption price equal to 100 % of the principal amount of the Notes to be redeemed, plus accrued and unpaid interest and an applicable “make-whole” premium.
The Notes also contain customary redemption provisions related to asset sales and certain change of control transactions.
4 unchanged sentences
The PJI Revolving Facility will mature on September 14, 2026.
+Added: The remaining availability under the PJI Revolving Facility was approximately $ 455.0 million as of June 26, 2022.
Up to $ 50.0 million of the PJI Revolving Facility may be advanced in certain agreed foreign currencies, including Euros, Pounds Sterling, Canadian Dollars, Japanese Yen, and Mexican Pesos.
2 unchanged sentences
In each case, the actual margin is determined according to a ratio of the Company’s total indebtedness to earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization (“EBITDA”) for the then most recently ended four quarter period (the “Leverage Ratio”).
−Removed: An unused commitment fee ranging from 18 to 30 basis points per annum, determined according to the Leverage Ratio, applies to the unutilized commitments under the PJI Revolving Facility.
+Added: An unused commitment fee ranging from 18 to 30 basis points per annum, determined according to the Leverage Ratio, applies to the underutilized commitments under the PJI Revolving Facility.
Loans outstanding under the PJI Revolving Facility may be prepaid at any time without premium or penalty, subject to customary breakage costs in the case of borrowings for which a LIBOR rate election is in effect.
The Amended Credit Agreement also contain provisions specifying alternative interest rate calculations to be used at such time as LIBOR ceases to be available as a benchmark for establishing the interest rate on floating interest rate borrowings.
−Removed: The Amended Credit Agreement contains customary affirmative and negative covenants that, among other things, require customary reporting obligations, and restrict, subject to certain exceptions, the incurrence of additional indebtedness and liens, the consummation of certain mergers, consolidations, sales of assets and similar transactions, the making of investments, equity distributions and other restricted payments, and transactions with affiliates.
−Removed: In addition, the Company will be subject to the following financial covenants:
+Added: The Amended Credit Agreement contains customary affirmative and negative covenants that, among other things, require customary reporting obligations, and restrict, subject to certain exceptions, the occurrence of additional indebtedness and liens, the consummation of certain mergers, consolidations, sales of assets and similar transactions, the making of investments, equity distributions and other restricted payments, and transactions with affiliates.
+Added: The Company is also subject to the following financial covenants:
(1) a maximum Leverage Ratio of 5.25 to 1.00, subject to the Company’s election to increase the maximum Leverage Ratio by 0.50 to 1.00 in connection with material acquisitions if the Company satisfies certain requirements, and (2) a minimum interest coverage ratio defined as EBITDA plus consolidated rental expense to consolidated interest expense plus consolidated rental expense of 2.00 to 1.00.
−Removed: We were in compliance with these financial covenants at March 27, 2022.
+Added: We were in compliance with these financial covenants at June 26, 2022.
Obligations under the Amended Credit Agreement are guaranteed by certain direct and indirect material domestic subsidiaries of the Company (the “Guarantors”) and are secured by a security interest in substantially all of the capital stock and equity interests of the Company’s and the Guarantors’ domestic and first tier material foreign subsidiaries.
6 unchanged sentences
The PJMF Revolving Facility matures on September 30, 2022.
−Removed: The borrowings under the PJMF Revolving Facility accrue interest at a variable rate of the one-month LIBOR plus 1.75 % .
−Removed: There was no debt outstanding under the PJMF Revolving Facility as of March 27, 2022 or December 26, 2021.
+Added: The borrowings
+Added: under the PJMF Revolving Facility accrue interest at a variable rate of the one-month LIBOR plus 1.75 %.
+Added: There was no debt outstanding under the PJMF Revolving Facility as of June 26, 2022 or December 26, 2021.
The PJMF operating results and the related debt outstanding do not impact the financial covenants under the Amended Credit Agreement.
Derivative Financial Instruments
−Removed: As of March 26, 2022, we have the following interest rate swap agreements with a total notional value of $ 350.0 million:
−Removed: Effective Dates
−Removed: Floating Rate Debt
−Removed: April 30, 2018 through April 30, 2023
−Removed: April 30, 2018 through April 30, 2023
−Removed: April 30, 2018 through April 30, 2023
−Removed: January 30, 2018 through August 30, 2022
−Removed: January 30, 2018 through August 30, 2022
−Removed: January 30, 2018 through August 30, 2022
+Added: As of June 26, 2022, we have the following interest rate swap agreements with a total notional value of $ 350.0 million:
+Added: Effective Dates Floating Rate Debt Fixed Rates
+Added: April 30, 2018 through April 30, 2023 $ 55 million 2.33 %
+Added: April 30, 2018 through April 30, 2023 $ 35 million 2.36 %
+Added: April 30, 2018 through April 30, 2023 $ 35 million 2.34 %
+Added: January 30, 2018 through August 30, 2022 $ 100 million 1.99 %
+Added: January 30, 2018 through August 30, 2022 $ 75 million 1.99 %
+Added: January 30, 2018 through August 30, 2022 $ 50 million 2.00 %
Our interest rate swaps were de-designated as cash flow hedges following the issuance of the Notes.
2 unchanged sentences
Interest Rate Swap Derivatives
−Removed: Balance Sheet Location
+Added: Balance Sheet Location Fair Value
+Added: 2022 Fair Value
+Added: Other current and long-term assets $ 672 $ —
Other current and long-term liabilities $ — $ 5,536
The effect of derivative instruments on the accompanying condensed consolidated financial statements is as follows (in thousands):
−Removed: Location of (Loss)
−Removed: Amount of (Loss)
Derivatives -
−Removed: Amount of Gain or
−Removed: Total Net Interest Expense
+Added: Relationships Amount of Gain or
(Loss) Recognized
+Added: on Derivative Location of (Loss)
Reclassified from
+Added: Income Amount of (Loss)
Reclassified from
+Added: Income Total Net Interest Expense
Consolidated Statements
−Removed: Relationships
−Removed: on Derivative
of Operations
Interest rate swaps for the three months ended:
−Removed: March 27, 2022
−Removed: Interest expense
−Removed: March 28, 2021
−Removed: Interest expense
−Removed: Interest paid, including payments made or received under the swaps, was $ 10.1 million and $ 3.4 million for the three months ended March 27, 2022 and March 28, 2021, respectively.
+Added: June 26, 2022 $ 1,445 Interest expense $ ( 735 ) $ ( 6,081 )
+Added: June 27, 2021 $ 1,399 Interest expense $ ( 1,730 ) $ ( 3,649 )
+Added: Interest rate swaps for the six months ended:
+Added: June 26, 2022 $ 2,763 Interest Expense $ ( 200 ) $ ( 10,344 )
+Added: June 27, 2021 $ 2,781 Interest Expense $ ( 3,439 ) $ ( 7,296 )
+Added: Interest paid, including payments made or received under the swaps, was $ 2.4 million and $ 3.6 million for the three months ended June 26, 2022 and June 27, 2021, respectively, and $ 12.6 million and $ 7.1 million for the six months ended June 26, 2022 and June 27, 2021, respectively.
Commitments and Contingencies
6 unchanged sentences
Pursuant to the terms of the proposed settlement, in exchange for the Company’s payment of a total aggregate settlement amount of $ 5.0 million and other non-monetary consideration, all claims in the action will be dismissed, the litigation will be terminated, and the Company will receive a release.
+Added: The settlement amount was recorded in General and Administrative expenses in the Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations in the first quarter of 2022.
The proposed settlement is subject to approval by the District Court and contains certain customary contingencies.
1 unchanged sentence
Durling et al v.
−Removed: Papa John’s International, Inc.
−Removed: , is a conditionally certified collective action filed in May 2016 in the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York, alleging that corporate restaurant delivery drivers were not properly reimbursed for vehicle mileage and expenses in accordance with the Fair Labor Standards Act.
+Added: Papa John’s International, Inc ., is a conditionally certified collective action filed in May 2016 in the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York, alleging that corporate restaurant delivery drivers were not properly reimbursed for vehicle mileage and expenses in accordance with the Fair Labor Standards Act.
In July 2018, the District Court granted a motion to certify a conditional corporate collective class and the opt-in notice process has been completed.
1 unchanged sentence
The Company continues to deny any liability or wrongdoing in this matter and intends to vigorously defend this action.
−Removed: The Company has no t recorded any liability related to this lawsuit as of March 27, 2022 as it does not believe a loss is probable or reasonably estimable.
−Removed: Divestitures and Impairment
−Removed: Assets and Liabilities Held for Sale
+Added: The Company has not recorded any liability related to this lawsuit as of June 26, 2022 as it does not believe a loss is probable or reasonably estimable.
+Added: Refranchising Loss
On March 28, 2022, we refranchised our 51 % ownership interest in a 90 -restaurant consolidated joint venture in Texas for $ 14.0 million, net of transaction costs.
−Removed: The assets and liabilities associated with the joint venture are classified as held for sale in the Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheet as of March 27, 2022.
−Removed: March 27, 2022
−Removed: Current assets
−Removed: Property and equipment, net
−Removed: Operating lease right-of-use assets
−Removed: Loss on impairment
−Removed: Total assets held for sale
−Removed: Accounts payable, taxes payable, accrued expenses and other
−Removed: Current deferred revenue
−Removed: Current operating lease liabilities
−Removed: Long-term operating lease liabilities
−Removed: Other long-term liabilities
−Removed: Total liabilities held for sale
−Removed: Upon reclassification of assets and liabilities held for sale, we recorded a one-time, non-cash charge of $ 8.4 million which reflects net sale proceeds of $ 14.0 million, the noncontrolling interest of $ 4.2 million, and the recognition of an unearned royalty stream of $ 12.2 million to be recognized as revenue over the 10-year term of the franchise agreement executed concurrent with the disposition in accordance with ASC 810, “ Consolidation.” The impairment was recorded in the first quarter of 2022 and realized upon consummation of the sale in the second quarter.
+Added: In connection with the divestiture, we recorded a one-time, non-cash charge of $ 8.4 million as a Refranchising Loss in the Condensed Consolidated Statement of Operations, which reflects net sale proceeds of $ 14.0 million, the noncontrolling interest of $ 4.2 million, and the recognition of an unearned royalty stream of $ 12.2 million to be recognized as revenue over the 10 -year term of the franchise agreement executed concurrent with the disposition in accordance with ASC 810, “ Consolidation .” The $ 8.4 million of the one-time, non-cash refranchising loss was recorded in the first quarter of 2022 and realized upon consummation of the sale in the second quarter.
Impairment of Reacquired Master Franchise Rights
5 unchanged sentences
The domestic Company-owned restaurant segment consists of the operations of all domestic (“domestic” is defined as contiguous United States) Company-owned restaurants and derives its revenues principally from retail sales of pizza, Papadias, which are flatbread-style sandwiches, and side items, including breadsticks, cheesesticks, chicken poppers and wings, dessert items and canned or bottled beverages.
−Removed: The North America commissary segment consists of the operations of our regional dough production and product distribution centers and derives its revenues principally from the sale and distribution of food and paper products to domestic Company-owned and franchised restaurants in the United States and Canada.
+Added: The North America commissary
+Added: segment consists of the operations of our regional dough production and product distribution centers and derives its revenues principally from the sale and distribution of food and paper products to domestic Company-owned and franchised restaurants in the United States and Canada.
The North America franchising segment consists of our franchise sales and support activities and derives its revenues from sales of franchise and development rights and collection of royalties from our franchisees located in the United States and Canada.
9 unchanged sentences
Our segment information is as follows:
−Removed: Three Months Ended
−Removed: (In thousands)
+Added: Three Months Ended Six Months Ended
+Added: (In thousands) June 26,
+Added: 2022 June 27,
+Added: 2021 June 26,
+Added: 2022 June 27,
Domestic Company-owned restaurants $ 171,411 $ 196,124 $ 370,176 $ 393,358
2 unchanged sentences
International 39,282 46,277 81,989 88,881
+Added: All others 57,672 53,491 114,945 107,806
Total revenues $ 522,665 $ 515,008 $ 1,065,357 $ 1,026,754
2 unchanged sentences
North America commissaries 52,754 53,428 111,261 105,498
+Added: All others 15,889 18,943 35,268 38,091
Total intersegment revenues $ 69,691 $ 73,412 $ 148,630 $ 145,690
4 unchanged sentences
International (2) 7,306 8,683 11,761 17,047
+Added: All others 2,187 4,894 5,906 11,012
Unallocated corporate expenses (3) ( 19,344 ) ( 24,617 ) ( 56,454 ) ( 47,779 )
5 unchanged sentences
International 15,157
+Added: All others 118,496
Unallocated corporate assets 240,431
1 unchanged sentence
Total property and equipment, net $ 225,382
−Removed: (1) Includes a one-time, non-cash charge of $ 8.4 million associated with the refranchising of the Company’s ownership interest in a 90 -restaurant joint venture, recorded as Refranchising and impairment loss.
+Added: (1) Includes a one-time, non-cash charge of $ 8.4 million associated with the refranchising of the Company’s ownership interest in a 90 -restaurant joint venture, recorded as Refranchising and impairment loss for the six months ended June 26, 2022.
See Note 10 for additional information.
−Removed: (2) Includes $ 3.5 million of one-time, non-cash reserves for certain accounts receivable and impairments of reacquired franchise rights in the first quarter of 2022.
+Added: (2) Includes $ 3.5 million of one-time, non-cash reserves for certain accounts receivable and impairments of reacquired franchise rights for the six months ended June 26, 2022.
See Notes 2 and 10 for additional information.
−Removed: (3) For the first quarter of 2022, Unallocated corporate expenses include $ 13.9 million of one-time, non-cash reserves of certain notes receivable and $ 5.0 million for the Legal Settlement.
−Removed: For the first quarter of 2021, Unallocated corporate expense includes $ 3.9 million of reorganization costs.
+Added: (3) Unallocated corporate expenses include $ 13.9 million of one-time, non-cash reserves of certain notes receivable, $ 5.0 million for the Legal Settlement, and $ 1.5 million of advisory fees and severance costs associated with the transition of certain executives for the six months ended June 26, 2022.
+Added: Unallocated corporate expense includes $ 3.3 million and $ 7.2 million of reorganization costs for the three and six months ended June 27, 2021.
See Notes 2 and 9 for additional information.
3 unchanged sentences
Reportable Segments
−Removed: Three Months Ended March 27, 2022
−Removed: Major Products/Services Lines
−Removed: Domestic Company-owned restaurants
−Removed: North America franchising
−Removed: North America commissaries
−Removed: International
+Added: Three Months Ended June 26, 2022
+Added: Major Products/Services Lines Domestic Company-owned restaurants North America franchising North America commissaries International All others Total
Company-owned restaurant sales $ 171,411 $ — $ — $ — $ — $ 171,411
2 unchanged sentences
Other revenues — — — 7,324 73,561 80,885
+Added: Eliminations — ( 1,048 ) ( 52,754 ) — ( 15,889 ) ( 69,691 )
Total segment revenues $ 171,411 $ 34,917 $ 219,383 $ 39,282 $ 57,672 $ 522,665
2 unchanged sentences
Reportable Segments
−Removed: Three Months Ended March 28, 2021
−Removed: Major Products/Services Lines
−Removed: Domestic Company-owned restaurants
−Removed: North America franchising
−Removed: North America commissaries
−Removed: International
+Added: Three Months Ended June 27, 2021
+Added: Major Products/Services Lines Domestic Company-owned restaurants North America franchising North America commissaries International All others Total
Company-owned restaurant sales $ 196,124 $ — $ — $ — $ — $ 196,124
2 unchanged sentences
Other revenues — — — 8,663 72,434 81,097
+Added: Eliminations — ( 1,041 ) ( 53,428 ) — ( 18,943 ) ( 73,412 )
Total segment revenues $ 196,124 $ 32,475 $ 186,641 $ 46,277 $ 53,491 $ 515,008
1 unchanged sentence
Total revenues $ 196,124 $ 32,475 $ 186,641 $ 37,614 $ 62,154 $ 515,008
−Removed: (1) Other revenues as reported in the Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations include $ 8.1 million and $ 8.0 million of revenue for the three months ended March 27, 2022 and March 28, 2021, respectively, that are part of the international reporting segment.
+Added: Reportable Segments
+Added: Six Months Ended June 26, 2022
+Added: Major Products/Services Lines Domestic Company-owned restaurants North America franchising North America commissaries International All others Total
+Added: Company-owned restaurant sales $ 370,176 $ — $ — $ — $ — $ 370,176
+Added: Franchise royalties and fees — 71,286 — 25,478 — 96,764
+Added: Commissary sales — — 540,323 41,097 — 581,420
+Added: Other revenues — — — 15,414 150,213 165,627
+Added: Eliminations — ( 2,101 ) ( 111,261 ) — ( 35,268 ) ( 148,630 )
+Added: Total segment revenues $ 370,176 $ 69,185 $ 429,062 $ 81,989 $ 114,945 $ 1,065,357
+Added: International other revenues (1) — — — ( 15,414 ) 15,414 —
+Added: Total revenues $ 370,176 $ 69,185 $ 429,062 $ 66,575 $ 130,359 $ 1,065,357
+Added: Reportable Segments
+Added: Six Months Ended June 27, 2021
+Added: Major Products/Services Lines Domestic Company-owned restaurants North America franchising North America commissaries International All others Total
+Added: Company-owned restaurant sales $ 393,358 $ — $ — $ — $ — $ 393,358
+Added: Franchise royalties and fees — 67,291 — 25,364 — 92,655
+Added: Commissary sales — — 477,017 46,857 — 523,874
+Added: Other revenues — — — 16,660 145,897 162,557
+Added: Eliminations — ( 2,101 ) ( 105,498 ) — ( 38,091 ) ( 145,690 )
+Added: Total segment revenues $ 393,358 $ 65,190 $ 371,519 $ 88,881 $ 107,806 $ 1,026,754
+Added: International other revenues (1) — — — ( 16,660 ) 16,660 —
+Added: Total revenues $ 393,358 $ 65,190 $ 371,519 $ 72,221 $ 124,466 $ 1,026,754
+Added: (1) Other revenues as reported in the Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations include $ 7.3 million and $ 15.4 million of revenue for the three and six months ended June 26, 2022, respectively, and $ 8.7 million and $ 16.7 million for the three and six months ended June 27, 2021, respectively, that are part of the international reporting segment.
These amounts include marketing fund contributions and sublease rental income from international franchisees in the United Kingdom that provide no significant contribution to operating income but must be reported on a gross basis under accounting requirements.
23 unchanged sentences
Compared sentence by sentence after normalising whitespace, quotation marks, case and digits, so re-formatting and restated figures do not read as changed language. Wording changes appear as one removal and one addition. The current filing and the prior one are authoritative.