2 unchanged sentences
Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets
−Removed: As of March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022
+Added: As of June 30, 2023 and December 31, 2022
(in thousands, except share and per share amounts)
15 unchanged sentences
Preferred stock, $ 0.01 par value, 50,000,000 shares authorized, none outstanding
−Removed: Common stock, $ 0.01 par value, 100,000,000 shares authorized, 32,025,785 and 31,772,791 shares issued and outstanding at March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively
+Added: Common stock, $ 0.01 par value, 100,000,000 shares authorized, 32,020,378 and 31,772,791 shares issued and outstanding at June 30, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively
Additional paid-in capital
5 unchanged sentences
Unaudited Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations
−Removed: For the Three Months Ended March 31, 2023 and 2022
+Added: For the Three and Six Months Ended June 30, 2023 and 2022
(in thousands, except share and per share amounts)
−Removed: Three Months Ended March 31,
+Added: Three Months Ended June 30,
+Added: Six Months Ended June 30,
Homebuilding revenues
6 unchanged sentences
Cost of home sales revenues
+Added: ( 1,258,219 )
+Added: ( 1,523,968 )
Cost of land sales and other revenues
Total homebuilding cost of revenues
+Added: ( 1,258,594 )
+Added: ( 1,532,826 )
Financial services costs
8 unchanged sentences
Unaudited Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
−Removed: For the Three Months Ended March 31, 2023 and 2022
+Added: For the Six Months Ended June 30, 2023 and 2022
(in thousands)
−Removed: Three Months Ended March 31,
+Added: Six Months Ended June 30,
Operating activities
−Removed: Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities:
+Added: Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by (used in) operating activities:
Depreciation and amortization
11 unchanged sentences
Accrued expenses and other liabilities
−Removed: Net cash provided by operating activities
+Added: Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities
Investing activities
20 unchanged sentences
Supplemental cash flow disclosure
−Removed: Cash paid (refunds) for income taxes
+Added: Cash paid for income taxes
Cash and cash equivalents and Restricted cash
5 unchanged sentences
Unaudited Condensed Consolidated Statements of Stockholders’ Equity
−Removed: For the Three Months Ended March 31, 2023 and 2022
+Added: For the Three and Six Months Ended June 30, 2023 and 2022
(in thousands)
+Added: For the Three Months Ended June 30, 2023 and 2022
Additional Paid-In Capital
1 unchanged sentence
Total Stockholders'
−Removed: Balance at December 31, 2022
+Added: Balance at March 31, 2023
Vesting of stock-based compensation awards
Withholding of common stock upon vesting of stock-based compensation awards
+Added: Repurchases of common stock
Stock-based compensation expense
Cash dividends declared and dividend equivalents
+Added: Balance at June 30, 2023
Balance at March 31, 2022
+Added: Vesting of stock-based compensation awards
+Added: Withholding of common stock upon vesting of stock-based compensation awards
+Added: Repurchases of common stock
+Added: Stock-based compensation expense
+Added: Cash dividends declared and dividend equivalents
+Added: Balance at June 30, 2022
+Added: For the Six Months Ended June 30, 2023 and 2022
+Added: Additional Paid-In Capital
+Added: Retained Earnings
+Added: Total Stockholders'
Balance at December 31, 2022
4 unchanged sentences
Cash dividends declared and dividend equivalents
−Removed: Balance at March 31, 2022
+Added: Balance at June 30, 2023
+Added: Balance at December 31, 2021
+Added: Vesting of stock-based compensation awards
+Added: Withholding of common stock upon vesting of stock-based compensation awards
+Added: Repurchases of common stock
+Added: Stock-based compensation expense
+Added: Cash dividends declared and dividend equivalents
+Added: Balance at June 30, 2022
See Notes to Unaudited Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements
1 unchanged sentence
Notes to Unaudited Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements
−Removed: March 31, 2023
+Added: June 30, 2023
Basis of Presentation
9 unchanged sentences
Our indirect wholly-owned subsidiaries, Inspire Home Loans Inc., Parkway Title, LLC, and IHL Home Insurance Agency, LLC, which provide mortgage, title, and insurance services, respectively, primarily to our homebuyers, have been identified as our Financial Services segment.
−Removed: Additionally, our wholly owned subsidiary, Century Living, LLC, is engaged in the development, construction and management of multi-family rental properties, primarily in Colorado.
+Added: Additionally, our wholly owned subsidiary, Century Living, LLC, is engaged in the development, construction and management of multi-family rental properties, currently all located in Colorado.
Century Living, LLC is included in our Corporate segment.
8 unchanged sentences
We do not have any variable interest entities in which we are deemed the primary beneficiary.
−Removed: All intercompany accounts and transactions have been eliminated.
Use of Estimates
1 unchanged sentence
Accordingly, actual results could differ from those estimates.
+Added: Reclassifications
+Added: Certain prior period amounts have been reclassified to conform to current period presentation.
+Added: Recently Issued Accounting Standards
+Added: There are no recent accounting standards that are expected to have a material impact on our consolidated financial statements.
Reporting Segments
4 unchanged sentences
Each of our four geographic regions is considered a separate operating segment.
−Removed: Our Century Complete brand targets entry-level homebuyers, primarily sells homes through retail studios and the internet, and generally provides no option or upgrade selections.
+Added: Our Century Complete brand targets entry-level homebuyers, primarily sells homes through retail studios and the
+Added: internet, and generally provides no option or upgrade selections.
Our Century Complete brand currently has operations in 11 states and it is considered a separate operating segment.
4 unchanged sentences
Mountain (Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, and Utah)
−Removed: Southeast (Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee)
+Added: Southeast (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee)
Century Complete (Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina)
Commencing in the first quarter of 2023, our Century Complete operations in Texas were realigned and are now managed under our Texas segment.
−Removed: Accordingly, we have presented segment information under this new basis as of and for the three months ended March 31, 2023, and we have restated the corresponding segment information for those segments as of December 31, 2022 and for the three months ended March 31, 2022 .
+Added: Accordingly, we have presented segment information under this new basis as of and for the three and six months ended June 30, 2023, and we have restated the corresponding segment information for those segments as of December 31, 2022 and for the three and six months ended June 30, 2022 .
We have identified our Financial Services operations, which provide mortgage, title, and insurance services to our homebuyers, as a sixth reportable segment.
Our Corporate operations are a non-operating segment, as our Corporate operations serve to support our homebuilding, and to a lesser extent our Financial Services operations, through functions, such as our executive, finance, treasury, human resources, accounting and legal departments.
−Removed: Additionally, our wholly owned subsidiary, Century Living, LLC, is engaged in the development, construction and management of multi-family rental properties, primarily in Colorado.
+Added: Additionally, our wholly owned subsidiary, Century Living, LLC, is engaged in the development, construction and management of multi-family rental properties, currently all located in Colorado.
Century Living, LLC is included in our Corporate segment.
The following table summarizes total revenue and income (loss) before income tax expense by segment (in thousands ):
−Removed: Three Months Ended March 31,
+Added: Three Months Ended June 30,
+Added: Six Months Ended June 30,
Century Complete
18 unchanged sentences
Inspire is a full-service mortgage lender and primarily originates mortgage loans for our homebuyers.
+Added: A pproximately all of the mortgage loans closed by Inspire are made to buyers of homes we build and Inspire receives an allocation of intersegment revenue from our homebuilding segments related to financing incentives given to our homebuyers.
Inspire sells substantially all of the loans it originates either as loans with servicing rights released, or with servicing rights retained, in the secondary mortgage market within a short period of time after origination, generally within 30 days.
Inspire primarily finances these loans using its mortgage repurchase facilities.
−Removed: As of March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, Inspire had mortgage loans held for sale with an aggregate fair value of $ 155.7 million and $ 203.6 million, respectively, and an aggregate outstanding principal balance of $ 153.8 million and $ 202.0 million, respectively.
−Removed: Net gains on the sale of mortgage loans were $ 1.8 million and $ 10.4 million for the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively.
−Removed: The loss from the change in fair value for mortgage loans held for sale was nominal for the three months ended March 31, 2023 and was $ 9.7 million for the three months ended March 31, 2022.
+Added: As of June 30, 2023 and December 31, 2022, Inspire had mortgage loans held for sale with an aggregate fair value of $ 195.6 million and $ 203.6 million, respectively, and an aggregate outstanding principal balance of $ 195.6 million and $ 202.0 million, respectively.
+Added: Net gains on the sale of mortgage loans were $ 1.7 million and $ 3.5 million for the three and six months ended June 30, 2023, respectively, and were $ 0.4 million and $ 10.8 million for the three and six months ended June 30, 2022, respectively.
+Added: Losses from the change in fair value for mortgage loans held for sale were $ 2.0 million and $ 2.0 million for the three and six months ended June 30, 2023, respectively.
+Added: Gains from the change in fair value for mortgage loans held for sale was $ 1.1 million for the three months ended June 30, 2022, and losses from the change in fair value for mortgage loans held for sale was $ 8.6 million for the six months ended June 30, 2022.
Mortgage loans held for sale and mortgage servicing rights are carried at fair value , with gains and losses from the changes in fair value reflected in financial services revenue on our condensed consolidated statements of operations.
1 unchanged sentence
Net gains and losses from the sale of mortgage loans held for sale, which are recognized based upon the difference between the sales proceeds and carrying value of the related loans upon sale, are also included in financial services revenue on our condensed consolidated statements of operations.
−Removed: Mortgage loans in process for which interest rates were locked by borrowers, or interest rate lock commitments, totaled approximately $ 98.9 million and $ 68.1 million at March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively, and carried a weighted average interest rate of approximately 5.6 % and 6.1 %, respectively .
+Added: Mortgage loans in process for which interest rates were locked by borrowers, or interest rate lock commitments, totaled approximately $ 115.5 million and $ 68.1 million at June 30, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively, and carried a weighted average interest rate of approximately 5.7 % and 6.1 %, respectively .
Interest rate risks related to these obligations are typically mitigated by the preselling of loans to investors or through our interest rate hedging program.
25 unchanged sentences
Accrued interest
−Removed: Income taxes payable
Derivative liabilities
4 unchanged sentences
We subsequently assess the adequacy of our warranty accrual on a quarterly basis through a model that incorporates historical payment trends and adjust the amounts recorded, if necessary.
−Removed: Based on warranty payment trends relative to our estimates at the time of home closing, we reduced our warranty reserve by $ 0.5 million and $ 0.6 million during the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively.
+Added: Based on warranty payment trends relative to our estimates at the time of home closing, we decreased our warranty reserve by $ 0.2 million during the three months ended June 30, 2023 and increased our warranty reserve by $ 0.1 million during the three months ended June 30, 2022, respectively, and we reduced our warranty reserve by $ 0.7 million and $ 0.5 million during the six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, respectively.
These adjustments are included in cost of home sales revenues on our condensed consolidated statements of operations.
−Removed: Changes in our warranty accrual for the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022 are detailed in the table below (in thousands) :
−Removed: Three Months Ended March 31,
+Added: Changes in our warranty accrual for the three and six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022 are detailed in the table below (in thousands) :
+Added: Three Months Ended June 30,
+Added: Six Months Ended June 30,
Beginning balance
7 unchanged sentences
The reserve is recorded on an undiscounted basis at the time revenue is recognized for each home closing.
−Removed: Amounts accrued, which are included in accrued expenses and other liabilities on the consolidated balance sheets, are based on third party actuarial analyses that are primarily based on industry data and partially on our historical claims, which include estimates of claims incurred but not yet reported.
+Added: Amounts accrued, which are included in accrued expenses and other liabilities on the condensed consolidated balance sheets, are based on third party actuarial analyses that are primarily based on industry data and partially on our historical claims, which include estimates of claims incurred but not yet reported.
Adjustments to estimated reserves are recorded in the period in which the change in estimate occurs.
1 unchanged sentence
Estimates of insurance recoveries and amounts we have paid on behalf of and expect to recover from other parties, if any, are recorded as receivables when such recoveries are considered probable.
−Removed: During the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022, we recorded no change to our self-insurance reserve.
+Added: During the three and six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, we recorded no adjustment to our self-insurance reserve.
Any adjustments are included in cost of home sales revenues on our condensed consolidated statements of operations.
−Removed: Changes in our self-insurance reserve for incurred but not reported construction defect claims for the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022 are detailed in the table below (in thousands) :
−Removed: Three Months Ended March 31,
+Added: Changes in our self-insurance reserve for incurred but not reported construction defect claims for the three and six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022 are detailed in the table below (in thousands) :
+Added: Three Months Ended June 30,
+Added: Six Months Ended June 30,
Beginning balance
2 unchanged sentences
Ending balance
−Removed: Our outstanding debt obligations included the following as of March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022 (in thousands):
+Added: Our outstanding debt obligations included the following as of June 30, 2023 and December 31, 2022 (in thousands):
3.875 % senior notes, due August 2029 (1)
−Removed: 6.750 % senior notes, due May 2027 (1)
+Added: 6.750 % senior notes, due June 2027 (1)
Other financing obligations (2)
3 unchanged sentences
(1) The carrying value of senior notes reflects the impact of premiums, discounts, and issuance costs that are amortized to interest expense over the respective terms of the senior notes.
−Removed: (2) As of March 31, 2023, other financing obligations included $ 20.4 million related to insurance premium notes and certain secured borrowings, as well as $ 14.5 million outstanding under the construction loan agreements.
−Removed: As of December 31, 2022, other financing obligations included $ 20.7 million related to insurance premium notes and certain secured borrowings, as well as $ 7.4 million outstanding under the construction loan agreements.
+Added: (2) As of June 30, 2023, other financing obligations included $ 17.6 million related to insurance premium notes and certain secured borrowings, as well as $ 21.1 million outstanding under construction loan agreements.
+Added: As of December 31, 2022, other financing obligations included $ 20.7 million related to insurance premium notes and certain secured borrowings, as well as $ 7.4 million outstanding under construction loan agreements.
Construction Loan Agreements
1 unchanged sentence
Bank National Association, a national banking association, d/b/a Housing Capital Company (which along with UMB Bank, N.A., we collectively refer to as “the lenders”), respectively.
−Removed: The three construction loan agreements collectively provide that we may borrow up to $ 187.6 million from the lenders for purposes of construction of multi-family projects in Colorado, with advances made by the lenders upon the satisfaction of certain conditions.
+Added: The three construction loan agreements collectively provide that we may borrow up to an aggregate of $ 187.6 million from the lenders for purposes of construction of multi-family projects in Colorado, with advances made by the lenders upon the satisfaction of certain conditions.
Borrowings under the construction loan agreements bear interest at various rates, including a fixed rate, and floating interest rates per annum equal to the Secured Overnight Financing Rate (which we refer to as “SOFR”) and the Bloomberg Short-term Bank Yield Index, plus an applicable margin.
−Removed: The outstanding principal balances and all accrued and unpaid interest is due on varying maturity dates through March 17, 2028 , with certain of the construction loan agreements allowing for the option to extend the maturity dates for a period of 12 months if certain conditions
−Removed: are satisfied.
+Added: The outstanding principal balances and all accrued and unpaid interest is due on varying maturity dates through March 17, 2028 ,
+Added: with certain of the construction loan agreements allowing for the option to extend the maturity dates for a period of 12 months if certain conditions are satisfied.
The construction loan agreements contain customary affirmative and negative covenants (including covenants related to construction completion, and limitations on the use of loan proceeds, transfers of land, equipment, and improvements), as well as customary events of default.
−Removed: As of March 31, 2023, $ 14.5 million was outstanding under the construction loan agreements, with borrowings bearing a weighted average interest rate of 6.778 % during the three months ended March 31, 2023, and we were in compliance with all covenants thereunder.
+Added: Interest on our construction loan agreements is capitalized to the multi-family properties assets included in prepaid expenses and other assets on the condensed consolidated balance sheets while the related multi-family rental properties are being actively developed and until the projects are completed.
+Added: As of June 30, 2023, $ 21.1 million was outstanding under the construction loan agreements, with borrowings that bore a weighted average interest rate of 7.1 % during the six months ended June 30, 2023, and we were in compliance with all covenants thereunder.
Revolving Line of Credit
6 unchanged sentences
On December 21, 2022, we entered into a First Modification Agreement with Texas Capital Bank (formerly known as Texas Capital Bank, National Association), as Administrative Agent, amending the Second A&R Credit Agreement pursuant to which, effective January 3, 2023, all existing borrowings using an interest rate based on a LIBOR reference rate had the interest rate replaced with one based on an adjusted term SOFR reference rate, which equals the greater of (i) 0.50% or (ii) the one-month quotation of the secured overnight financing rate administered by the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, plus 0.10%.
−Removed: As of March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, no amounts were outstanding under the revolving line of credit, respectively, and we were in compliance with all covenants under the Second A&R Credit Agreement.
+Added: As of June 30, 2023 and December 31, 2022, no amounts were outstanding under the revolving line of credit, respectively, and we were in compliance with all covenants under the Second A&R Credit Agreement.
Mortgage Repurchase Facilities – Financial Services
Inspire is a party to mortgage warehouse facilities with Comerica Bank and J.P.
−Removed: Morgan, and formerly Wells Fargo, (since the agreement with Wells Fargo was terminated during the three months ended March 31, 2023) (which facilities we refer to as the “repurchase facilities”), which provide Inspire with uncommitted repurchase facilities of up to an aggregate of $ 200.0 million as of March 31, 2023, secured by the mortgage loans financed thereunder.
−Removed: The repurchase facilities have varying short term maturity dates through December 21, 2023 and bear a weighted average interest rate of 6.38 % during the three months ended March 31, 2023.
+Added: Morgan, (which facilities we refer to as the “repurchase facilities”), which provide Inspire with uncommitted repurchase facilities of up to an aggregate of $ 275.0 million as of June 30, 2023, secured by the mortgage loans financed thereunder.
+Added: The repurchase facilities have varying short term maturity dates through June 21, 2024 and bore a weighted average interest rate of 6.67 % during the six months ended June 30, 2023.
Amounts outstanding under the repurchase facilities are not guaranteed by us or any of our subsidiaries, and the agreements contain various affirmative and negative covenants applicable to Inspire that are customary for arrangements of this type.
−Removed: As of March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, we had $ 149.8 million and $ 197.6 million outstanding under the repurchase facilities, respectively, and were in compliance with all covenants thereunder.
+Added: As of June 30, 2023 and December 31, 2022, we had $ 191.0 million and $ 197.6 million outstanding under the repurchase facilities, respectively, and were in compliance with all covenants thereunder.
Interest on Senior Notes and Revolving Line of Credit
−Removed: Interest on our senior notes and Revolving Line of Credit is capitalized to inventories while the related communities are being actively developed and until homes are completed.
−Removed: As our qualifying assets exceeded our outstanding debt during the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022, we capitalized all interest costs incurred on these facilities during these periods.
+Added: Interest on our senior notes and revolving line of credit, if applicable, is capitalized to inventories while the related communities are being actively developed and until homes are completed.
+Added: As our qualifying assets exceeded our outstanding debt during the three and six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, we capitalized all interest costs incurred on these facilities during these periods.
Our interest costs were as follows (in thousands):
−Removed: Three Months Ended March 31,
+Added: Three Months Ended June 30,
+Added: Six Months Ended June 30,
Interest capitalized beginning of period
4 unchanged sentences
Our 2023 estimated annual effective tax rate, before discrete items, of 25.5 % is driven by our blended federal and state statutory rate of 24.7 %, and certain permanent differences between GAAP and tax, including disallowed deductions for executive compensation and estimated federal energy home credits for the current year home deliveries, which combined resulted in a net increase of 0.8 %.
−Removed: For the three months ended March 31, 2023, our estimated annual rate of 25.0 % was benefitted by discrete items which had a net impact of decreasing our rate by 0.7 %, including excess tax benefits for vested stock-based compensation.
−Removed: Our estimated annual rate for the three months ended March 31, 2023 of 25.0 % increased by 260 basis points as compared to our effective tax rate for the year ended December 31, 2022 of 22.4 %.
−Removed: The increase in our estimated rate is a result of the enactment of the Inflation Reduction Act of 2022 during the third quarter of 2022, which modified the energy efficient home credit beginning with homes closed on or after January 1, 2023 and provided for more stringent energy standards than previous periods.
−Removed: For the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022, we recorded income tax expense of $ 10.7 million and $ 46.3 million, respectively .
+Added: For the six months ended June 30, 2023, our estimated annual rate of 25.5 % was benefitted by discrete items which had a net impact of decreasing our rate by 0.7 %, including excess tax benefits for vested stock-based compensation.
+Added: Our estimated annual rate for the six months ended June 30, 2023 of 25.5 % increased by 310 basis points as compared to our effective tax rate for the year ended December 31, 2022 of 22.4 %.
+Added: The increase in our estimated rate is primarily a result of the enactment of the Inflation Reduction Act of 2022 during the third quarter of 2022, which modified the energy efficient home credit beginning with homes closed on or after January 1, 2023 and provided for more stringent energy standards than previous periods, resulting in fewer closings qualifying for energy efficient home credits.
+Added: For the three months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, we recorded income tax expense of $ 17.3 million and $ 55.0 million, respectively .
+Added: For the six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, we recorded income tax expense of $ 28.0 million and $ 101.3 million, respectively.
Fair Value Disclosures
7 unchanged sentences
Mortgage loans held for sale – Fair value is based on quoted market prices for committed and uncommitted mortgage loans.
−Removed: Derivative assets and liabilities – Derivative assets are associated with interest rate lock commitments and investor commitments on loans and derivative liabilities are associated with forward commitments.
+Added: Derivative assets and liabilities – Derivative assets are associated with interest rate lock commitments and investor commitments on loans and derivative liabilities are associated with forward mortgage-backed securities contracts.
Fair value is based on market prices for similar instruments.
3 unchanged sentences
Mortgage loans held for investment at fair value – The fair value of mortgage loans held for investment at fair value is calculated based on Level 3 analysis which incorporates information including the value of underlying collateral, from markets where there is little observable trading activity.
−Removed: The following outlines the Company’s assets and liabilities measured at fair value on a recurring basis at March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively (in thousands):
+Added: The following outlines the Company’s assets and liabilities measured at fair value on a recurring basis at June 30, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively (in thousands):
Balance Sheet Classification
10 unchanged sentences
(1) The unobservable inputs used in the valuation of the mortgage loans held for investment at fair value include, among other items, the value of underlying collateral, from markets where there is little observable trading activity.
−Removed: (2) The unobservable inputs used in the valuation of the mortgage servicing rights include mortgage prepayment rates, discount rates and cost to service, which were 8.1 %, 9.0 %, and $ 0.073 per year per loan, respectively, as of March 31, 2023, and 7.6 %, 9.0 %, and $ 0.072 per year per loan, respectively, as of December 31, 2022.
+Added: (2) The unobservable inputs used in the valuation of the mortgage servicing rights include mortgage prepayment rates, discount rates and cost to service, which were 9.0 %, 9.6 %, and $ 0.071 per year per loan, respectively, as of June 30, 2023, and 7.6 %, 9.0 %, and $ 0.072 per year per loan, respectively, as of December 31, 2022.
The high and low end of the range of unobservable inputs used in the valuation did not result in a significant change to the fair value measurement.
The following table represents the reconciliation of the beginning and ending balance for the Level 3 recurring fair value measurements, with gains and losses from the changes in fair value reflected in financial services revenue on our condensed consolidated statements of operations (in thousands):
−Removed: Three Months Ended March 31,
+Added: Three Months Ended June 30,
+Added: Six Months Ended June 30,
Mortgage servicing rights
2 unchanged sentences
End of period
−Removed: Three Months Ended March 31,
+Added: Three Months Ended June 30,
+Added: Six Months Ended June 30,
Mortgage loans held-for-investment at fair value
4 unchanged sentences
End of period
−Removed: For the financial assets and liabilities that the Company does not reflect at fair value, the following present both their respective carrying value and fair value at March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively (in thousands).
−Removed: March 31, 2023
+Added: For the financial assets and liabilities that the Company does not reflect at fair value, the following present both their respective carrying value and fair value at June 30, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively (in thousands).
+Added: June 30, 2023
December 31, 2022
7 unchanged sentences
(2) Carrying amounts include any associated unamortized deferred financing costs, premiums and discounts.
−Removed: As of March 31, 2023, these amounts totaled $ 4.9 million and $ 3.4 million for the 3.875 % senior notes and 6.750 % senior notes, respectively.
+Added: As of June 30, 2023, these amounts totaled $ 4.7 million and $ 3.2 million for the 3.875 % senior notes and 6.750 % senior notes, respectively.
As of December 31, 2022, these amounts totaled $ 5.1 million and $ 3.6 million for the 3.875 % senior notes and 6.750 % senior notes, respectively.
−Removed: (3) Carrying amount approximates fair value due to short-term nature and interest rate terms.
−Removed: (4) Other financing obligations included $ 20.4 million related to insurance premium notes and certain secured borrowings that generally bore interest rates ranging from 2.40 % to 6.40 %, and $ 14.5 million related to outstanding borrowings on the construction loan agreements that bore a weighted average interest rate of 6.778 % during the period ended March 31, 2023.
+Added: (3) Carrying amount approximates fair value due to short-term nature and/or interest rate terms.
+Added: (4) Other financing obligations included $ 17.6 million related to insurance premium notes and certain secured borrowings that generally bore interest rates ranging from 2.40 % to 6.40 %, and $ 21.1 million related to outstanding borrowings on the construction loan agreements that bore a weighted average interest rate of 7.1 % during the period ended June 30, 2023.
Other financing obligations included $ 20.7 million related to insurance premium notes and certain secured borrowings that generally bore interest rates ranging from 2.40 % to 5.84 %, and $ 7.4 million related to outstanding borrowings on the construction loan agreements that bore a weighted average interest rate of 5.6 % during the period ended December 31, 2022.
Non-financial assets and liabilities include items such as inventory and property and equipment that are measured at fair value when acquired and as a result of impairments, if deemed necessary.
−Removed: No impairment charges were recorded in the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022.
+Added: No impairment charges were recorded in the three and six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022.
When impairment charges are recognized, the estimated fair value of communities are determined through a discounted cash flow approach utilizing Level 3 inputs.
1 unchanged sentence
Stock-Based Compensation
−Removed: During the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022, we granted restricted stock units (which we refer to as “RSUs”) covering 0.2 million and 0.2 million shares of common stock, respectively, with a grant date fair value of $ 62.61 and $ 64.37 per share, respectively, that primarily vest over a three year period.
−Removed: During the three months ended March 31, 2023, we did no t grant performance share units (which we refer to as “PSUs”).
−Removed: During the three months ended March 31, 2022, we granted PSUs covering up to 0.5 million shares of common stock, assuming maximum level of performance, with a grant date fair value of $ 55.93 per share that are subject to both service and performance vesting conditions.
+Added: During the six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, we granted restricted stock units (which we refer to as “RSUs”) covering 0.2 million and 0.2 million shares of common stock, respectively, with a grant date fair value of $ 62.61 and $ 63.77 per share, respectively, that primarily vest over a three year period.
+Added: During the six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, we granted 11.0 thousand and 11.0 thousand shares of common stock, respectively, on an unrestricted basis (which we refer to as “stock awards”) with a grant date fair value of $ 65.77 and $ 54.46 per share, respectively, to our non-employee directors.
+Added: During the six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, we granted performance share units (which we refer to as “PSUs”) covering up to 0.5 million and 0.5 million shares of common stock, respectively, assuming maximum level of performance, with a grant date fair value of $ 60.05 and $ 55.93 per share, respectively, that are subject to both service and performance vesting conditions.
The quantity of shares that will ultimately vest for the PSUs ranges from 0 % to up to 250 % of a targeted number of shares for each participant and will be determined based on an achievement of a three year adjusted pre-tax income performance goal.
−Removed: During the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022, we issued 0.3 million and 0.3 million shares of common stock, respectively, upon the vesting and settlement of PSUs that were granted in previous periods.
+Added: During the six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, we issued 0.3 million and 0.3 million shares of common stock, respectively, upon the vesting and settlement of PSUs that were granted in previous periods.
Approximately 1.1 million shares will vest from 2024 to 2026 if the defined maximum performance targets are met, and no shares will vest if the defined minimum performance targets are not met.
A summary of our outstanding PSUs, assuming the current estimated level of performance achievement, and RSUs are as follows (in thousands, except years):
−Removed: As of March 31, 2023
+Added: As of June 30, 2023
Unvested units
1 unchanged sentence
Weighted-average years to recognize compensation cost
−Removed: During the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022, we recognized stock-based compensation expense of $ 5.4 million and $ 4.1 million, respectively.
+Added: During the three months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, we recognized stock-based compensation expense of $ 8.9 million and $ 5.7 million, respectively.
+Added: During the six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, we recognized stock-based compensation expense of $ 14.3 million and $ 9.8 million, respectively.
Stock-based compensation expense is included in selling, general, and administrative expense on our condensed consolidated statements of operations.
+Added: D uring the three months ended June 30, 2023, in accordance with ASC 718, Compensation—Stock Compensation we updated our recognition of stock-based compensation expense associated with previously granted PSU awards to reflect probable financial results as they relate to the performance goals of the awards.
+Added: Accordingly, our estimate of the number of shares which will ultimately vest under our PSU awards increased by 90.0 thousand, and we recorded a cumulative catch-up adjustment to increase stock-based compensation expense of $ 3.4 million ($ 2.5 million net of tax), or $ 0.08 per share (basic and diluted), for the three and six months ended June 30, 2023.
Stockholders’ Equity
The Company’s authorized capital stock consists of 100.0 million shares of common stock, par value $ 0.01 per share, and 50.0 million shares of preferred stock, par value $ 0.01 per share.
−Removed: As of March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, there were 32.0 million and 31.8 million shares of common stock issued and outstanding, respectively, and no shares of preferred stock outstanding.
+Added: As of June 30, 2023 and December 31, 2022, there were 32.0 million and 31.8 million shares of common stock issued and outstanding, respectively, and no shares of preferred stock outstanding.
On May 4, 2022, the stockholders approved the adoption of the Century Communities, Inc.
2 unchanged sentences
Under the 2022 Incentive Plan, 3.1 million shares of common stock are available for issuance to eligible participants, plus 51.2 thousand shares of our common stock that remained available for issuance under the 2017 Incentive Plan and any shares subject to awards outstanding under the 2017 Incentive Plan that are subsequently forfeited, cancelled, expire or otherwise terminate without the issuance of such shares.
−Removed: During the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022, we issued 0.4 million and 0.5 million shares of common stock, respectively, related to the vesting and settlement of RSUs and PSUs.
−Removed: As of March 31, 2023, approximately 2.9 million shares of common stock remained available for issuance under the 2022 Incentive Plan.
−Removed: The following table sets forth cash dividends declared by our Board of Directors to holders of record of our common stock during the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively (in thousands, except per share information):
−Removed: Three Months ended March 31, 2023
+Added: During the six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, we issued 0.4 million and 0.5 million shares of common stock, respectively, related to the vesting and settlement of RSUs and PSUs.
+Added: As of June 30, 2023, approximately 2.5 million shares of common stock remained available for issuance under the 2022 Incentive Plan.
+Added: The following table sets forth cash dividends declared by our Board of Directors to holders of record of our common stock during the six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, respectively (in thousands, except per share information):
+Added: Six Months ended June 30, 2023
Cash Dividends Declared and Paid
3 unchanged sentences
March 15, 2023
−Removed: Three Months ended March 31, 2022
+Added: June 14, 2023
+Added: Six Months ended June 30, 2022
Cash Dividends Declared and Paid
3 unchanged sentences
March 16, 2022
+Added: June 15, 2022
Under the 2022 Incentive Plan and the previous 2017 Incentive Plan, at the discretion of the Compensation Committee of the Board of Directors, RSUs and PSUs granted under the plan have the right to earn dividend equivalents, which entitles the holders of such RSUs and PSUs to additional RSUs and PSUs equal to the same dividend value per share as holders of common stock.
4 unchanged sentences
The Distribution Agreement will remain in full force and effect until terminated by either party pursuant to the terms of the agreement or such date that the maximum offering amount has been sold in accordance with the terms of the agreement.
−Removed: We did no t sell or issue any shares of our common stock during the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022, and as of March 31, 2023, all $ 100.0 million remained available for sale.
+Added: We did no t sell or issue any shares of our common stock during the three and six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, and as of June 30, 2023, all $ 100.0 million remained available for sale.
We authorized a stock repurchase program in 2018, under which we may repurchase up to 4.5 million shares of our outstanding common stock.
−Removed: During the three months ended March 31, 2023, we did not repurchase any shares of common stock.
−Removed: During the three months ended March 31, 2022, an aggregate of 1.0 million shares of our common stock were repurchased for a total purchase price of approximately $ 62.4 million at a weighted average price of $ 61.52 per share.
−Removed: The maximum number of shares available to be repurchased under the stock repurchase program as of March 31, 2023 was 1,508,169 shares.
−Removed: During the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022, shares of common stock at a total cost of $ 9.9 million and $ 12.1 million, respectively, were netted and surrendered as payment for minimum statutory withholding obligations in connection with the vesting of outstanding stock-based compensation awards.
+Added: During the three and six months ended June 30, 2023, an aggregate of 30.4 thousand shares were repurchased for a total purchase price of approximately $ 2.0 million and a weighted average price of $ 64.84 per share.
+Added: During the three and six months ended June 30, 2022, an aggregate of 0.8 million and 1.8 million shares, respectively, were repurchased for a total purchase price of approximately $ 35.9 million and $ 98.3 million, respectively, and a weighted average price of $ 45.42 and $ 54.46 per share, respectively.
+Added: The maximum number of shares available to be repurchased under the stock repurchase program as of June 30, 2023 was 1,477,817 shares.
+Added: During the six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, shares of common stock at a total cost of $ 10.6 million and $ 12.7 million, respectively, were netted and surrendered as payment for minimum statutory withholding obligations in connection with the vesting of outstanding stock-based compensation awards.
Shares surrendered by the participants in accordance with the applicable award agreements and plan are deemed repurchased and retired by us but are not part of our publicly announced share repurchase programs.
1 unchanged sentence
We use the treasury stock method to calculate earnings per share as our currently issued non-vested RSUs and PSUs do not have participating rights.
−Removed: The following table sets forth the computation of basic and diluted EPS for the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022 (in thousands, except share and per share information):
−Removed: Three Months Ended March 31,
+Added: The following table sets forth the computation of basic and diluted EPS for the three and six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022 (in thousands, except share and per share information):
+Added: Three Months Ended June 30,
+Added: Six Months Ended June 30,
Weighted average common shares outstanding - basic
3 unchanged sentences
Stock-based awards are excluded from the calculation of diluted EPS in the event they are subject to unsatisfied performance conditions or are antidilutive.
−Removed: We excluded 0.5 million and 0.6 million common stock unit equivalents from diluted earnings per share during each of the three months ended March 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively, related to the PSUs for which performance conditions remained unsatisfied .
+Added: We excluded 0.9 million and 0.5 million common stock unit equivalents from diluted earnings per share during each of the three months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, respectively, and we excluded 0.7 million and 0.5 million common stock unit equivalents from diluted earnings per share during the six months ended June 30, 2023 and 2022, respectively, related to the PSUs for which performance conditions remained unsatisfied .
Commitments and Contingencies
1 unchanged sentence
In the normal course of business, we post letters of credit and performance and other bonds primarily related to our land development performance obligations with local municipalities.
−Removed: As of March 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, we had $ 570.8 million and $ 574.8 million, respectively, in letters of credit and performance and other bonds issued and outstanding.
+Added: As of June 30, 2023 and December 31, 2022, we had $ 546.1 million and $ 574.8 million, respectively, in letters of credit and performance and other bonds issued and outstanding.
Legal Proceedings
6 unchanged sentences
Compared sentence by sentence after normalising whitespace, quotation marks, case and digits, so re-formatting and restated figures do not read as changed language. Wording changes appear as one removal and one addition. The current filing and the prior one are authoritative.