758 unchanged sentences
of Subsidiaries of the registrant (incorporated by reference to Exhibit 21.1 to the Annual Report on Form 10-K filed on March 27, 2024)
−Removed: of Grassi & Co., CPAs, P.C.
−Removed: (incorporated by reference to Exhibit 23.1 to the Annual Report on Form 10-K filed on March 27, 2024)
+Added: Consent of Grassi & Co., CPAs, P.C.
Certifications of Principal Executive Officer filed pursuant to Section 302 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002
23 unchanged sentences
To the Board of Directors and
−Removed: Stockholders of Cardiff Lexington Corp and Subsidiaries
−Removed: on the Financial Statements
+Added: Stockholders of Cardiff Lexington Corporation and Subsidiaries
+Added: Opinion on the Financial Statements
We have audited the accompanying balance sheets
8 unchanged sentences
As discussed in Note 2 to the consolidated financial
−Removed: statements, the Company’s consolidated financial statements as of and for the year ended December 31, 2022 have been restated to
−Removed: correct certain misstatements.
+Added: statements, the Company’s consolidated financial statements as of and for the years ended December 31, 2023 and 2022 have been restated
+Added: to correct certain misstatements.
Substantial Doubt Regarding the Company’s
49 unchanged sentences
Critical Audit Matter Description
−Removed: December 31, 2023, the Company had approximately $5.7 million of goodwill.
−Removed: As discussed in Note 1 and Note 12 to the consolidated financial
−Removed: statements, goodwill is tested annually for impairment at the reporting unit level, or more frequently if impairment indicators arise.
−Removed: principal consideration for our determination that this was a critical audit matter resulted from the material balance of goodwill at
−Removed: year end and the Company’s goodwill impairment analyses requiring a high degree of management judgement.
−Removed: There was a high degree
−Removed: of subjective auditor judgment associated with the evaluation of management’s assertion with respect to the realizability of goodwill.
+Added: As of December 31, 2023, the Company
+Added: had approximately $5.7 million of goodwill.
+Added: As discussed in Note 1 and Note 12 to the consolidated financial statements, goodwill is tested
+Added: annually for impairment at the reporting unit level, or more frequently if impairment indicators arise.
+Added: The principal consideration for our
+Added: determination that this was a critical audit matter resulted from the material balance of goodwill at year end and the Company’s
+Added: goodwill impairment analyses requiring a high degree of management judgement.
+Added: There was a high degree of subjective auditor judgment associated
+Added: with the evaluation of management’s assertion with respect to the realizability of goodwill.
How we addressed the matter:
6 unchanged sentences
qualitative assessment.
−Removed: We obtained management’s qualitative goodwill analysis and compared certain significant assumptions to existing
−Removed: market conditions and information.
−Removed: We also compared significant assumptions, where relevant, to the plans of the Company, including management’s
−Removed: expectations regarding the Company’s business model, customer base and other relevant factors.
−Removed: Finally, we assessed the adequacy
−Removed: of the disclosures in the consolidated financial statements.
−Removed: GRASSI & CO., CPAs, PC
+Added: We obtained management’s qualitative goodwill analysis and compared certain significant assumptions to
+Added: existing market conditions and information.
+Added: We also compared significant assumptions, where relevant, to the plans of the Company, including
+Added: management’s expectations regarding the Company’s business model, customer base and other relevant factors.
+Added: Finally, we assessed
+Added: the adequacy of the disclosures in the consolidated financial statements.
+Added: & CO., CPAs, PC
We have served as the Company’s auditor since 2022.
Jericho, New York
−Removed: March 27, 2024
+Added: 2024, except for Notes 1, 2 and 17, as to which date is July 23, 2024
CARDIFF LEXINGTON CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
265 unchanged sentences
was reclassified from “common stock” to “additional paid-in capital.”
−Removed: CARDIFF LEXINGTON CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
−Removed: NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
−Removed: DECEMBER 31, 2023 AND 2022
Use of Estimates
5 unchanged sentences
Accordingly, actual results could differ from those estimates.
+Added: CARDIFF LEXINGTON CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
+Added: NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
+Added: DECEMBER 31, 2023 AND 2022
Accounts Receivable
42 unchanged sentences
net settlements recorded to its accounts receivable and revenue.
−Removed: Collection rates are estimated considering the Company’s 48-month
−Removed: historical collections with primary emphasis to the most current prior 12-month trailing payment and collection percentage rates.
−Removed: method the Company uses to measure expected credit losses is the loss rate method, and in addition the Company qualitatively evaluates
−Removed: on an ongoing basis various factors, which include market conditions in which the Company operates, and the status of claims being settled.
−Removed: The Company has established billing rates, which are not the same as actual amounts recovered.
−Removed: These rates generally do not
−Removed: reflect what is ultimately paid by the customer, insurance carriers, law firms and other payors, which is typically received eighteen
−Removed: to twenty-four months later, and are not reported in the consolidated financial statements at those established billing rates.
−Removed: Company’s customers, its patients, typically pay amounts based on established charges per procedure with guidance from the annually
−Removed: updated Current Procedural Terminology (“CPT”) guidelines (a code set maintained by the American Medical Association through
−Removed: the CPT Editorial Panel), that designates relative value units and a suggested range of charges for each procedure which is then assigned
−Removed: This fee is discounted to reflect the percentage paid to the Company “using a modifier” recognized by each insurance
−Removed: carrier for services, less deductible, co-pay, and contractual adjustments which are deducted from the calculated fee.
−Removed: The net revenue
−Removed: is recorded at the time the services are rendered.
−Removed: Collection of that revenue typically occurs eighteen to twenty-four months later and
−Removed: after the patient claim develops and settles.
−Removed: Historical collection rates are estimated using the most current prior 12-month historical
−Removed: payment and collection percentages.
+Added: The Company’s accounts receivable balance each reporting period
+Added: does not include accounts receivables that were factored (sold).
+Added: Further, accounts receivable and revenue are recorded at what the company
+Added: anticipates will ultimately be collected, which historically is 99% of the net recognized upon billing to its patients for gross amounts
+Added: of services provided to patients.
+Added: In the past, for those receivables that were factored, the Company was advanced 46% of the accounts
+Added: receivable balance and recorded 54% to finance charge.
+Added: The Company last factored its accounts receivable in the first quarter of fiscal
+Added: Collection rates are estimated considering the Company’s 48-month historical collections with primary emphasis to the most
+Added: current prior 12-month trailing payment and collection percentage rates.
+Added: The Company acquired Nova in May 2021.
+Added: Nova was founded in January
+Added: As of December 31, 2023, the Company based its 48-month historical collections analysis on look back period from December 31, 2023
+Added: to 48 months, part of which was a period of time Cardiff Lexington did not yet own Nova.
+Added: The method the Company uses to measure expected
+Added: credit losses is the loss rate method, and in addition the Company qualitatively evaluates on an ongoing basis various factors, which
+Added: include market conditions in which the Company operates, and the status of claims being settled.
+Added: The Company has established billing
+Added: rates, which are not the same as actual amounts recovered.
+Added: These rates generally do not reflect what is ultimately paid by the customer,
+Added: insurance carriers, law firms and other payors, which is typically received eighteen to twenty-four months later, and are not reported
+Added: in the consolidated financial statements at those established billing rates.
+Added: The Company’s customers, its patients, typically pay
+Added: amounts based on established charges per procedure with guidance from the annually updated Current Procedural Terminology (“CPT”)
+Added: guidelines (a code set maintained by the American Medical Association through the CPT Editorial Panel), that designates relative value
+Added: units and a suggested range of charges for each procedure which is then assigned a CPT code.
+Added: This fee is discounted to reflect the percentage
+Added: paid to the Company “using a modifier” recognized by each insurance carrier for services, less deductible, co-pay, and contractual
+Added: adjustments which are deducted from the calculated fee.
+Added: The net revenue is recorded at the time the services are rendered.
+Added: of that revenue typically occurs eighteen to twenty-four months later and after the patient claim develops and settles.
+Added: Historical collection
+Added: rates are estimated using the most current prior 12-month historical payment and collection percentages.
+Added: The Company may incur instances
+Added: whereby patient claims are not settled.
+Added: However, these instances are very rare.
+Added: For example, the death of a patient during the claim’s
+Added: development period and there is no estate to bequeath.
+Added: Settlements that are less than what was billed to the patient is covered in the
+Added: Company’s 99% collectability rate
CARDIFF LEXINGTON CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
1 unchanged sentence
DECEMBER 31, 2023 AND 2022
−Removed: The Company had adopted ASU 2016-13,
−Removed: “Financial Instruments – Credit Losses.” In accordance with this standard, the Company recognizes an allowance for
−Removed: credit losses for its trade receivables to present the net amount expected to be collected as of the balance sheet date.
−Removed: allowance is based on the credit losses expected to arise over the life of the asset and are based on current expected credit
−Removed: Accounts receivable is reported on the balance sheet at the net amounts expected to be collected by the Company.
−Removed: closely monitors outstanding accounts receivable and recognized an additional allowance for credit losses in the amount of $ 122,190 and
−Removed: $ 0 as of December 31, 2023 and
−Removed: 2022, respectively.
−Removed: As of December 31, 2023 and 2022, the Company had net accounts receivable of $ 13,305,254 and
−Removed: $ 6,603,920 , respectively.
−Removed: receivables are primarily generated from its healthcare subsidiary in its normal course of business.
−Removed: The Company calculates a forward-looking collectability
−Removed: rate which it then applies to its gross billings.
−Removed: The amount recorded in accounts receivables approximates the amount expected to actually
−Removed: be collected.
−Removed: The allowance for credit losses represents any adjustments deemed necessary to the collectability rate based upon an annual
−Removed: review of both actual collections, as well as any changes in industry billing and collection, and/or legal practices.
+Added: The Company had adopted ASU 2016-13, “Financial
+Added: Instruments – Credit Losses.” In accordance with this standard, the Company recognizes an allowance for credit losses for
+Added: its trade receivables to present the net amount expected to be collected as of the balance sheet date.
+Added: This allowance is based on the
+Added: credit losses expected to arise over the life of the asset and are based on current expected credit losses.
+Added: Accounts receivable is reported
+Added: on the balance sheet at the net amounts expected to be collected by the Company.
+Added: Management closely monitors outstanding accounts receivable
+Added: and recognized an additional allowance for credit losses in the amount of $ 122,190
+Added: and $ 0 as of December 31,
+Added: 2023 and 2022, respectively.
+Added: As of December 31, 2023 and 2022, the Company had net accounts receivable of $ 13,305,254
+Added: and $ 6,603,920 , respectively.
+Added: Accounts receivables are primarily generated from its healthcare subsidiary in its normal course of business.
+Added: The Company factored
+Added: (sold) accounts receivable to third party(s) during the year ended December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022 in the amounts of $ 1,090,574
+Added: and $ 6,826,364 , respectively.
+Added: T he Company currently does not age its receivables and is developing its systems to be able to age its receivables.
+Added: to time the Company may ultimately collect less than the billed amount for accounts receivable as a result of its claims settlement process,
+Added: as such, these amounts are written off to the allowance for credit losses.
+Added: The Company estimates it collects approximately 99% of its
+Added: billed accounts receivables billed to its customers, which typically takes approximately 18 to 24 months to collect from the first date
+Added: of service to settlement as part of the Company’s normal operating cycle.
+Added: In this regard, the Company does not consider such accounts
+Added: receivables neither past due nor delinquent.
+Added: The Company recognizes credit losses when such losses are expected.
+Added: losses include those amounts the Company determines will not be collectible when billed.
+Added: Historically, the Company has conducted an
+Added: annual assessment of its collectability rate of its patients accounts receivables, and then records a provision for changes to this
+Added: collectability rate as a provision.
+Added: The Company calculates a forward-looking collectability rate which
+Added: it then applies to its gross billings.
+Added: The amount recorded in accounts receivables approximates the amount expected to actually be collected.
+Added: The allowance for credit losses represents any adjustments deemed necessary to the collectability rate based upon an annual review of
+Added: both actual collections, as well as any changes in industry billing and collection, and/or legal practices.
+Added: For the period ending December 31, 2023, the Company recorded bad debt expense in excess of credit loss recognized in that period, which is as a result of the Company
+Added: recording direct write offs when deemed uncollectible in accordance with ASC 326-20-35-8 and accounts receivable true up adjustments to
+Added: bad debt expense.
+Added: During the year ended December 31, 2023, the Company recorded a $270,000 provision less a $147,810 adjustment to that
+Added: provision for the change in collectability rate to the roll forward of allowance for credit losses.
+Added: Also, during this period, the Company
+Added: recorded bad debt expense of $132,281, which consisted of the $270,000 charge and the $147,810 credit as well as direct write offs of
+Added: The Company continues to assess its collections of its accounts receivable through industry analysis and its collectability rate
+Added: assessment of 99% by applying a 12-month look back to collections from settlements made on claims.
+Added: Based on the Company’s accounts
+Added: receivable balances and its revenue, the Company does not believe the bad debt is a material amount.
The following table
3 unchanged sentences
Current period provision
−Removed: Write off charged against allowance
Balance at December 31, 2023
11 unchanged sentences
10 years or lease term, if shorter
+Added: CARDIFF LEXINGTON CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
+Added: NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
+Added: DECEMBER 31, 2023 AND 2022
Goodwill and Other Intangible Assets
18 unchanged sentences
and other factors.
−Removed: CARDIFF LEXINGTON CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
−Removed: NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
−Removed: DECEMBER 31, 2023 AND 2022
Valuation of Long-lived Assets
30 unchanged sentences
price is allocated to this single performance obligation.
+Added: CARDIFF LEXINGTON CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
+Added: NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
+Added: DECEMBER 31, 2023 AND 2022
Accordingly, the Company recognizes revenues (net)
8 unchanged sentences
generally, at the time of patient care.
−Removed: CARDIFF LEXINGTON CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
−Removed: NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
−Removed: DECEMBER 31, 2023 AND 2022
Established billing rates are not the same
42 unchanged sentences
Historical collection rates are estimated using the most current prior 12-month historical payment and collection
+Added: The Company satisfies its performance obligations
+Added: as services are performed and then billed to the patient.
+Added: Payment in most cases is made by an attorney for such services to the Company’s
+Added: patients which are due upon final settlement of patients claims.
+Added: During the claims process, legal counsel warranties such claim through
+Added: the letter of protection, which is sent to the Company, as a medical provider, on behalf of the client patient.
+Added: This letter states that
+Added: the attorney is responsible for paying the client’s medical bills when the case is fully developed and settles.
+Added: The medical professional
+Added: agrees to provide treatment to the injured person and refrain from attempting to collect payment as it is developing and until the case
+Added: Once the personal injury case is finalized with the insurance company, the attorney pays the outstanding medical bills from
+Added: the settlement.
Historically through April 2023, the Company’s
1580 unchanged sentences
thereunto duly authorized.
−Removed: July 24, 2024
+Added: August 7, 2024
CARDIFF LEXINGTON CORPORATION
12 unchanged sentences
Chief Executive Officer and Director (principal executive officer)
−Removed: July 24, 2024
+Added: August 7, 2024
Alex Cunningham
1 unchanged sentence
Chief Financial Officer (principal financial officer)
−Removed: July 24, 2024
+Added: August 7, 2024
Matthew Shafer
Chief Accounting Officer (principal accounting officer)
−Removed: July 24, 2024
+Added: August 7, 2024
/s/ Daniel Thompson
Chairman of the Board
−Removed: July 24, 2024
+Added: August 7, 2024
Daniel Thompson
Compared sentence by sentence after normalising whitespace, quotation marks, case and digits, so re-formatting and restated figures do not read as changed language. Wording changes appear as one removal and one addition. The current filing and the prior one are authoritative.