Item 1. Financial Statements
Item 1. Financial Statements (unaudited)
Cincinnati Financial Corporation and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets
(Dollars in millions, except per share data) March 31, December 31,
2026 2025
Assets
Investments
Fixed maturities, at fair value (amortized cost: 2026—$ 18,946 ; 2025—$ 18,304 )
$ 18,545 $ 18,123
Equity securities, at fair value (cost: 2026—$ 4,426 ; 2025—$ 4,155 )
12,569 12,694
Short-term investments, at fair value (amortized cost: 2026—$ 49 ; 2025—$ 148 )
49 148
Other invested assets 838 818
Total investments 32,001 31,783
Cash and cash equivalents 1,210 1,431
Investment income receivable 247 235
Finance receivable 142 146
Premiums receivable 3,321 3,142
Reinsurance recoverable 627 655
Prepaid reinsurance premiums 95 71
Deferred policy acquisition costs 1,384 1,344
Land, building and equipment, net, for company use (accumulated depreciation:
2026—$ 373 ; 2025—$ 367 )
214 219
Other assets 982 995
Separate accounts 988 981
Total assets $ 41,211 $ 41,002
Liabilities
Insurance reserves
Loss and loss expense reserves $ 11,959 $ 11,507
Life policy and investment contract reserves 2,965 2,992
Unearned premiums 5,424 5,254
Other liabilities 1,567 1,638
Deferred income tax 1,710 1,833
Note payable 25 25
Long-term debt and lease obligations 859 861
Separate accounts 988 981
Total liabilities 25,497 25,091
Commitments and contingent liabilities (Note 12)
Shareholders' Equity
Common stock, par value—$ 2 per share; (authorized: 2026 and 2025— 500 million
shares; issued: 2026 and 2025— 198.3 million shares)
397 397
Paid-in capital 1,561 1,561
Retained earnings 16,848 16,719
Accumulated other comprehensive loss ( 185 ) ( 34 )
Treasury stock at cost (2026— 43.7 million shares and 2025— 42.9 million shares)
( 2,907 ) ( 2,732 )
Total shareholders' equity 15,714 15,911
Total liabilities and shareholders' equity $ 41,211 $ 41,002
Accompanying Notes are an integral part of these Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 3
Table of Contents
Cincinnati Financial Corporation and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Income
(Dollars in millions, except per share data) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Revenues
Earned premiums $ 2,604 $ 2,344
Investment income, net of expenses 318 280
Investment gains and losses, net ( 70 ) ( 67 )
Fee revenues 5 5
Other revenues 6 4
Total revenues 2,863 2,566
Benefits and Expenses
Insurance losses and contract holders' benefits 1,751 1,968
Underwriting, acquisition and insurance expenses 764 702
Interest expense 13 13
Other operating expenses 9 11
Total benefits and expenses 2,537 2,694
Income (Loss) Before Income Taxes 326 ( 128 )
Provision (Benefit) for Income Taxes
Current 134 ( 42 )
Deferred ( 82 ) 4
Total provision (benefit) for income taxes 52 ( 38 )
Net Income (Loss) $ 274 $ ( 90 )
Per Common Share
Net income (loss) — basic $ 1.77 $ ( 0.57 )
Net income (loss) — diluted 1.75 ( 0.57 )
Accompanying Notes are an integral part of these Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 4
Table of Contents
Cincinnati Financial Corporation and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Comprehensive Income
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Net Income (Loss) $ 274 $ ( 90 )
Other Comprehensive Income (Loss)
Change in unrealized gains and losses on investments, net of tax (benefit) of $( 46 ) and $ 14 , respectively
( 174 ) 53
Amortization of pension actuarial gain and prior service cost, net of tax (benefit) of $ 0 and $ 0 , respectively
( 1 ) ( 1 )
Change in life policy reserves, reinsurance recoverable and other, net of tax (benefit) of $ 6 and $( 3 ), respectively
24 ( 14 )
Other comprehensive income (loss) ( 151 ) 38
Comprehensive Income (Loss) $ 123 $ ( 52 )
Accompanying Notes are an integral part of these Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 5
Table of Contents
Cincinnati Financial Corporation and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Shareholders' Equity
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Common Stock
Beginning of period $ 397 $ 397
Share-based awards — —
End of period 397 397
Paid-In Capital
Beginning of period 1,561 1,502
Share-based awards ( 17 ) ( 7 )
Share-based compensation 15 15
Other 2 1
End of period 1,561 1,511
Retained Earnings
Beginning of period 16,719 14,869
Net income (loss) 274 ( 90 )
Dividends declared ( 145 ) ( 135 )
End of period 16,848 14,644
Accumulated Other Comprehensive Loss
Beginning of period ( 34 ) ( 309 )
Other comprehensive income (loss) ( 151 ) 38
End of period ( 185 ) ( 271 )
Treasury Stock
Beginning of period ( 2,732 ) ( 2,524 )
Share-based awards 10 6
Shares acquired - share repurchase authorization ( 179 ) ( 42 )
Shares acquired - share-based compensation plans ( 6 ) ( 3 )
End of period ( 2,907 ) ( 2,563 )
Total Shareholders' Equity $ 15,714 $ 13,718
(In millions, except per common share)
Common Stock - Shares Outstanding
Beginning of period 155.4 156.4
Share-based awards 0.3 0.2
Shares acquired - share repurchase authorization ( 1.1 ) ( 0.3 )
End of period 154.6 156.3
Dividends declared per common share $ 0.94 $ 0.87
Accompanying Notes are an integral part of these Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 6
Table of Contents
Cincinnati Financial Corporation and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Cash Flows From Operating Activities
Net income (loss) $ 274 $ ( 90 )
Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities:
Depreciation, amortization and other 40 47
Investment gains and losses, net 75 74
Interest credited to contract holders 11 11
Deferred income tax expense ( 82 ) 4
Changes in:
Premiums and reinsurance receivable ( 175 ) ( 502 )
Deferred policy acquisition costs ( 40 ) ( 55 )
Other assets ( 13 ) ( 22 )
Loss and loss expense reserves 452 777
Life policy and investment contract reserves 18 5
Unearned premiums 170 255
Other liabilities ( 187 ) ( 135 )
Current income tax receivable/payable 113 ( 59 )
Net cash provided by operating activities 656 310
Cash Flows From Investing Activities
Sale, call or maturity of fixed maturities 1,005 497
Sale of equity securities 454 17
Purchase of fixed maturities ( 1,629 ) ( 717 )
Purchase of equity securities ( 400 ) ( 22 )
Change in short-term investments, net 101 200
Changes in finance receivables 3 ( 3 )
Investment in building and equipment ( 2 ) ( 3 )
Change in other invested assets, net ( 25 ) ( 27 )
Net cash used in investing activities ( 493 ) ( 58 )
Cash Flows From Financing Activities
Payment of cash dividends to shareholders ( 133 ) ( 125 )
Shares acquired - share repurchase authorization ( 179 ) ( 42 )
Proceeds from stock options exercised 5 4
Contract holders' funds deposited 16 14
Contract holders' funds withdrawn ( 39 ) ( 40 )
Other ( 54 ) ( 36 )
Net cash used in financing activities ( 384 ) ( 225 )
Net change in cash and cash equivalents ( 221 ) 27
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of year 1,431 983
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period $ 1,210 $ 1,010
Supplemental Disclosures of Cash Flow Information:
Income taxes paid 4 2
Noncash Activities
Equipment acquired under finance lease obligations $ 3 $ 8
Share-based compensation 27 13
Other assets and other liabilities 38 100
Accompanying Notes are an integral part of these Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 7
Table of Contents
NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)
NOTE 1 — Accounting Policies
The condensed consolidated financial statements include the accounts of Cincinnati Financial Corporation and its consolidated subsidiaries, each of which is wholly owned. These statements are presented in conformity with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America (GAAP). All intercompany balances and transactions have been eliminated in consolidation.
The preparation of financial statements in conformity with GAAP requires us to make estimates and assumptions that affect amounts reported in the financial statements and accompanying notes. Our actual results could differ from those estimates. Certain financial information that is normally included in annual financial statements prepared in accordance with GAAP, but that is not required for interim reporting purposes, has been condensed or omitted.
Our March 31, 2026, condensed consolidated financial statements are unaudited. We believe that we have made all adjustments, consisting only of normal recurring accruals, that are necessary for fair presentation. These condensed consolidated financial statements should be read in conjunction with our consolidated financial statements included in our 2025 Annual Report on Form 10-K. The results of operations for interim periods do not necessarily indicate results to be expected for the full year.
Pending Accounting Updates
ASU 2024-03, Income Statement - Reporting Comprehensive Income - Expense Disaggregation Disclosures (Subtopic 220-40): Disaggregation of Income Statement Expenses
In November 2024, the FASB issued ASU 2024-03, Income Statement - Reporting Comprehensive Income - Expense Disaggregation Disclosures (Subtopic 220-40): Disaggregation of Income Statement Expenses. ASU 2024-03 requires increased quantitative disclosure of certain categories of expenses contained within relevant expense captions. The effective date of ASU 2024-03 is for annual periods beginning after December 15, 2026, and interim reporting periods within annual periods beginning after December 15, 2027. The ASU should be applied prospectively with retrospective application and early adoption permitted. The ASU has not yet been adopted and will not have a material impact on our company’s consolidated financial position, results of operations or cash flows, but the ASU will require additional disclosures in our annual and interim financial statements.
ASU 2025-06, Intangibles - Goodwill and Other - Internal-Use Software (Subtopic 350-40): Targeted Improvements to the Accounting for Internal-Use Software
In September 2025, the FASB issued ASU 2025-06, Intangibles – Goodwill and Other – Internal-Use Software (Subtopic 350-40): Targeted Improvements to the Accounting for Internal-Use Software . ASU 2025-06 modernizes the accounting for internal-use software costs by eliminating references to prescriptive and sequential software development stages and updating the cost capitalization criteria. The effective date of ASU 2025-06 is for annual reporting periods beginning after December 15, 2027, and interim reporting periods within those annual reporting periods, with early adoption permitted. The ASU has not yet been adopted and will not have a material impact on our company’s consolidated financial position, results of operations or cash flows.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 8
Table of Contents
NOTE 2 – Investments
The following table provides amortized cost, gross unrealized gains, gross unrealized losses and fair value for our fixed-maturity and short-term investments:
(Dollars in millions) Amortized
cost Gross unrealized Fair value
At March 31, 2026 gains losses
Fixed-maturity:
Corporate $ 10,209 $ 100 $ 274 $ 10,035
States, municipalities and political subdivisions 5,073 22 221 4,874
Government-sponsored enterprises 2,535 1 25 2,511
Asset-backed 769 7 10 766
United States government 332 1 2 331
Foreign government 28 — — 28
Total fixed-maturity 18,946 131 532 18,545
Short-term 49 — — 49
Total fixed-maturity and short-term investments $ 18,995 $ 131 $ 532 $ 18,594
At December 31, 2025
Fixed-maturity:
Corporate $ 9,750 $ 164 $ 203 $ 9,711
States, municipalities and political subdivisions 5,065 35 181 4,919
Government-sponsored enterprises 2,360 3 4 2,359
Asset-backed 793 12 8 797
United States government 312 2 1 313
Foreign government 24 — — 24
Total fixed-maturity 18,304 216 397 18,123
Short-term 148 — — 148
Total fixed-maturity and short-term investments $ 18,452 $ 216 $ 397 $ 18,271
The increase in net unrealized investment losses in our fixed-maturity portfolio at March 31, 2026, is primarily due to an increase in U.S. Treasury yields and a widening of corporate credit spreads. Our asset-backed securities had an average rating of Aa2/AA at both March 31, 2026 and December 31, 2025.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 9
Table of Contents
The table below provides fair values and gross unrealized losses by investment category and by the duration of the continuous unrealized loss positions:
(Dollars in millions) Less than 12 months 12 months or more Total
At March 31, 2026 Fair
value Unrealized
losses Fair
value Unrealized
losses Fair
value Unrealized
losses
Fixed-maturity:
Corporate $ 3,031 $ 55 $ 2,767 $ 219 $ 5,798 $ 274
States, municipalities and political subdivisions 808 7 2,319 214 3,127 221
Government-sponsored enterprises 2,018 23 97 2 2,115 25
Asset-backed 157 3 185 7 342 10
United States government 126 1 20 1 146 2
Foreign government 15 — — — 15 —
Total fixed-maturity $ 6,155 $ 89 $ 5,388 $ 443 $ 11,543 $ 532
At December 31, 2025
Fixed-maturity:
Corporate $ 849 $ 15 $ 2,926 $ 188 $ 3,775 $ 203
States, municipalities and political subdivisions 204 2 2,346 179 2,550 181
Government-sponsored enterprises 983 3 195 1 1,178 4
Asset-backed 101 2 184 6 285 8
United States government 69 — 20 1 89 1
Total fixed-maturity $ 2,206 $ 22 $ 5,671 $ 375 $ 7,877 $ 397
Contractual maturity dates for our fixed-maturity and short-term investments were:
(Dollars in millions) Amortized
cost Fair
value % of fair
value
At March 31, 2026
Maturity dates:
Due in one year or less $ 840 $ 838 4.5 %
Due after one year through five years 3,437 3,428 18.4
Due after five years through ten years 4,790 4,756 25.6
Due after ten years 9,928 9,572 51.5
Total $ 18,995 $ 18,594 100.0 %
Actual maturities may differ from contractual maturities when there is a right to call or prepay obligations with or without call or prepayment penalties.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 10
Table of Contents
The following table provides investment income and investment gains and losses, net:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Investment income:
Interest $ 235 $ 210
Dividends 76 67
Other 12 7
Total 323 284
Less investment expenses 5 4
Total $ 318 $ 280
Investment gains and losses, net:
Equity securities:
Investment gains and losses on securities sold, net $ 33 $ ( 1 )
Unrealized gains and losses on securities still held, net ( 104 ) ( 71 )
Subtotal ( 71 ) ( 72 )
Fixed-maturity securities:
Gross realized gains 2 —
Gross realized losses ( 1 ) —
Change in allowance for credit losses, net ( 1 ) ( 2 )
Subtotal — ( 2 )
Other 1 7
Total $ ( 70 ) $ ( 67 )
The fair value of our equity portfolio was $ 12.569 billion and $ 12.694 billion at March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025, respectively. Apple Inc. (Nasdaq:AAPL), an equity holding, was our largest single investment holding with fair values of $ 881 million and $ 958 million, which was 7.2 % and 7.7 % of our publicly traded common equities portfolio and 2.8 % and 3.1 % of the total investment portfolio at March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025, respectively.
The allowance for credit losses on fixed-maturity securities was $ 54 million at both March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025. Reductions in the allowance for credit losses for securities sold were $ 1 million for the three months ended March 31, 2026.
There were 3,356 and 2,597 fixed-maturity investments in a total unrealized loss position of $ 532 million and $ 397 million at March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025, respectively. Of those totals, 17 and 13 fixed-maturity securities had fair values below 70 % of amortized cost at March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025, respectively.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 11
Table of Contents
NOTE 3 – Fair Value Measurements
In accordance with accounting guidance for fair value measurements and disclosures, we categorized our financial instruments, based on the priority of the observable and market-based data for the valuation technique used, into a three-level fair value hierarchy. The fair value hierarchy gives the highest priority to quoted prices with readily available independent data in active markets for identical assets or liabilities (Level 1) and the lowest priority to unobservable market inputs (Level 3). When various inputs for measurement fall within different levels of the fair value hierarchy, the lowest observable input that has a significant impact on fair value measurement is used. Our valuation techniques have not changed from those used at December 31, 2025, and ultimately management determines fair value. See our 2025 Annual Report on Form 10-K, Item 8, Note 3, Fair Value Measurements, Page 134, for information on characteristics and valuation techniques used in determining fair value.
Fair Value Disclosures for Assets
The following tables illustrate the fair value hierarchy for those assets measured at fair value on a recurring basis at March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025. We do not have any liabilities carried at fair value.
(Dollars in millions) Level 1 Level 2 Level 3 Total
At March 31, 2026
Fixed maturities, available for sale:
Corporate $ — $ 10,035 $ — $ 10,035
States, municipalities and political subdivisions — 4,874 — 4,874
Government-sponsored enterprises — 2,511 — 2,511
Asset-backed — 766 — 766
United States government 331 — — 331
Foreign government — 28 — 28
Subtotal 331 18,214 — 18,545
Common equities 12,260 — — 12,260
Nonredeemable preferred equities — 309 — 309
Separate accounts taxable fixed maturities 64 890 — 954
Short-term investments 49 — — 49
Top Hat savings plan mutual funds and common
equity (included in Other assets) 99 — — 99
Total $ 12,803 $ 19,413 $ — $ 32,216
At December 31, 2025
Fixed maturities, available for sale:
Corporate $ — $ 9,711 $ — $ 9,711
States, municipalities and political subdivisions — 4,919 — 4,919
Government-sponsored enterprises — 2,359 — 2,359
Asset-backed — 797 — 797
United States government 313 — — 313
Foreign government — 24 — 24
Subtotal 313 17,810 — 18,123
Common equities 12,373 — — 12,373
Nonredeemable preferred equities — 321 — 321
Separate accounts taxable fixed maturities 35 872 — 907
Short-term investments 148 — — 148
Top Hat savings plan mutual funds and common
equity (included in Other assets) 102 — — 102
Total $ 12,971 $ 19,003 $ — $ 31,974
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 12
Table of Contents
We also held Level 1 cash and cash equivalents of $ 1.210 billion and $ 1.431 billion at March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025, respectively.
Fair Value Disclosures for Assets and Liabilities Not Carried at Fair Value
The disclosures below are presented to provide information about the effects of current market conditions on financial instruments that are not reported at fair value in our condensed consolidated financial statements.
This table summarizes the book value and principal amounts of our long-term debt:
(Dollars in millions) Book value Principal amount
Interest
rate Year of
issue March 31, December 31, March 31, December 31,
2026 2025 2026 2025
6.900 % 1998 Senior debentures, due 2028 $ 27 $ 27 $ 28 $ 28
6.920 % 2005 Senior debentures, due 2028 391 391 391 391
6.125 % 2004 Senior notes, due 2034 373 372 374 374
Total $ 791 $ 790 $ 793 $ 793
The following table shows fair values of our note payable and long-term debt:
(Dollars in millions) Level 1 Level 2 Level 3 Total
At March 31, 2026
Note payable $ — $ 25 $ — $ 25
6.900 % senior debentures, due 2028
— 29 — 29
6.920 % senior debentures, due 2028
— 411 — 411
6.125 % senior notes, due 2034
— 394 — 394
Total $ — $ 859 $ — $ 859
At December 31, 2025
Note payable $ — $ 25 $ — $ 25
6.900 % senior debentures, due 2028
— 29 — 29
6.920 % senior debentures, due 2028
— 416 — 416
6.125 % senior notes, due 2034
— 404 — 404
Total $ — $ 874 $ — $ 874
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 13
Table of Contents
The following table shows the fair value of our life policy loans included in other invested assets and the fair values of our deferred annuities and structured settlements included in life policy and investment contract reserves:
(Dollars in millions) Level 1 Level 2 Level 3 Total
At March 31, 2026
Life policy loans $ — $ — $ 43 $ 43
Deferred annuities $ — $ — $ 518 $ 518
Structured settlements — 119 — 119
Total $ — $ 119 $ 518 $ 637
At December 31, 2025
Life policy loans $ — $ — $ 43 $ 43
Deferred annuities $ — $ — $ 530 $ 530
Structured settlements — 123 — 123
Total $ — $ 123 $ 530 $ 653
Outstanding principal and interest for these life policy loans totaled $ 39 million and $ 38 million at March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025, respectively.
Recorded reserves for the deferred annuities were $ 546 million and $ 554 million at March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025, respectively. Recorded reserves for the structured settlements were $ 110 million and $ 111 million at March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025, respectively.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 14
Table of Contents
NOTE 4 – Property Casualty Loss and Loss Expenses
This table summarizes activity for our consolidated property casualty loss and loss expense reserves:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Gross loss and loss expense reserves, beginning of period $ 11,450 $ 9,937
Less reinsurance recoverable 438 269
Net loss and loss expense reserves, beginning of period 11,012 9,668
Net incurred loss and loss expenses related to:
Current accident year 1,748 1,978
Prior accident years ( 81 ) ( 91 )
Total incurred 1,667 1,887
Net paid loss and loss expenses related to:
Current accident year 234 593
Prior accident years 967 806
Total paid 1,201 1,399
Net loss and loss expense reserves, end of period 11,478 10,156
Plus reinsurance recoverable 406 551
Gross loss and loss expense reserves, end of period $ 11,884 $ 10,707
We use actuarial methods, models and judgment to estimate, as of a financial statement date, the property casualty loss and loss expense reserves required to pay for and settle all outstanding insured claims, including incurred but not reported (IBNR) claims, as of that date. The actuarial estimate is subject to review and adjustment by an inter-departmental committee that includes actuarial, claims, underwriting, loss prevention and accounting management. This committee is familiar with relevant company and industry business, claims and underwriting trends, as well as general economic and legal trends that could affect future loss and loss expense payments. The amount we will actually have to pay for claims can be highly uncertain. This uncertainty, together with the size of our reserves, makes the loss and loss expense reserves our most significant estimate. The reserve for loss and loss expenses in the condensed consolidated balance sheets also included $ 75 million and $ 73 million at March 31, 2026, and 2025, respectively, for certain life and health loss and loss expense reserves.
We experienced $ 81 million of favorable development on prior accident years, including $ 53 million of favorable development in commercial lines, $ 7 million of favorable development in personal lines and $ 8 million of favorable development in excess and surplus lines for the three months ended March 31, 2026. Within commercial lines, we recognized favorable reserve development of $ 30 million for the commercial property line and $ 9 million for the workers' compensation line due to reduced uncertainty of prior accident year loss and loss adjustment expense for these lines. Within personal lines, we recognized favorable reserve development of $ 15 million for the homeowner line and unfavorable reserve development of $ 10 million in personal auto.
We experienced $ 91 million of favorable development on prior accident years, including $ 43 million of favorable development in commercial lines, $ 19 million of favorable development in personal lines and $ 9 million of favorable development in excess and surplus lines for the three months ended March 31, 2025. Within commercial lines, we recognized favorable reserve development of $ 35 million for the commercial property line and $ 11 million for the workers' compensation line due to reduced uncertainty of prior accident year loss and loss adjustment expense for these lines. Within personal lines, we recognized favorable reserve development of $ 19 million for the homeowner line.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 15
Table of Contents
NOTE 5 – Life Policy and Investment Contract Reserves
We establish the reserves for traditional life policies including term, whole life and other products based on the present value of future benefits and claim expenses less the present value of future net premiums. Net premium is the portion of gross premium required to pro vide for all benefits and claim expenses. We estimate future benefits and claim expenses and net premium using certain cash flow assumptions including mortality, morbidity and lapse rates as well as a discount rate assumption. The cash flow assumptions are established based on our current expectations and are reviewed annually, typically in the second quarter, to determine any necessary updates. These assumptions are also updated on an interim basis if evidence suggests that they should be revised. We use both our own experience and industry experience, adjusted for historical trends, in arriving at our cash flow assumptions. The discount rate assumption is based on upper-medium grade fixed-income instrument yields (market value discount rates) and is updated quarterly. Changes in the inputs, judgments and assumptions during the period and the related measurement impact on the liability are reflected in the below tables.
We establish reserves for our universal life, deferred annuity and other investment contracts equal to the cumulative account balances, which include premium deposits plus credited interest less charges and withdrawals. Some of our universal life policies contain no-lapse guarantee provisions. For these policies, we establish a reserve in addition to the account balance, based on expected no-lapse guarantee benefits and expected policy assessments.
The following table summarizes our life policy and investment contract reserves and provides a reconciliation of the balances described in the below tables to those in the condensed consolidated balance sheets:
(Dollars in millions) March 31, 2026 December 31, 2025
Life policy reserves:
Term $ 1,088 $ 1,103
Whole life 420 426
Other 102 100
Subtotal 1,610 1,629
Investment contract reserves:
Deferred annuities 546 554
Universal life 590 589
Structured settlements 110 111
Other 109 109
Subtotal 1,355 1,363
Total life policy and investment contract reserves $ 2,965 $ 2,992
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 16
Table of Contents
The balances and changes in the term and whole life policy reserves included in life policy and investment contract reserves are as follows:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Term Whole life Term Whole life
Present value of expected net premiums:
Balance, beginning of period $ 1,709 $ 225 $ 1,638 $ 218
Beginning balance at original discount rate 1,743 228 1,719 228
Effect of changes in cash flow assumptions — — — —
Effect of actual variances from expected experience ( 6 ) — ( 8 ) —
Adjusted beginning of period balance 1,737 228 1,711 228
Issuances 39 4 35 3
Interest accrual 19 2 19 3
Net premiums collected ( 46 ) ( 7 ) ( 46 ) ( 7 )
Ending balance at original discount rate 1,749 227 1,719 227
Effect of changes in discount rate assumptions ( 61 ) ( 6 ) ( 60 ) ( 7 )
Balance, end of period 1,688 221 1,659 220
Present value of expected future policy benefits:
Balance, beginning of period 2,794 650 2,668 623
Beginning balance at original discount rate 2,863 662 2,812 646
Effect of changes in cash flow assumptions — — — —
Effect of actual variances from expected experience ( 7 ) — ( 14 ) —
Adjusted beginning of period balance 2,856 662 2,798 646
Issuances 39 4 36 3
Interest accrual 32 8 32 9
Benefits paid ( 50 ) ( 8 ) ( 54 ) ( 10 )
Ending balance at original discount rate 2,877 666 2,812 648
Effect of changes in discount rate assumptions ( 117 ) ( 26 ) ( 109 ) ( 17 )
Balance, end of period 2,760 640 2,703 631
Net liability for future policy benefits:
Present value of expected future policy benefits less expected net premiums 1,072 419 1,044 411
Impact of flooring at cohort level 16 1 20 1
Net life policy reserves 1,088 420 1,064 412
Less reinsurance recoverable at original discount rate ( 65 ) ( 25 ) ( 82 ) ( 25 )
Less effect of discount rate assumption changes on reinsurance recoverable ( 6 ) ( 3 ) ( 8 ) ( 3 )
Net life policy reserves, after reinsurance recoverable $ 1,017 $ 392 $ 974 $ 384
Weighted-average duration of the net life policy reserves in years 11 15 11 15
The total impact of flooring at cohort level in the above tables includes the effect of discount rate assumption changes of $ 1 million and $ 3 million at March 31, 2026 and 2025, respectively.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 17
Table of Contents
The following table shows the amount of undiscounted and discounted expected future benefit payments and expected gross premiums for our term and whole life policies:
(Dollars in millions) At March 31,
2026 2025
Undiscounted Discounted Undiscounted Discounted
Term
Expected future benefit payments $ 5,065 $ 2,760 $ 4,894 $ 2,703
Expected future gross premiums 4,727 2,738 4,561 2,658
Whole life
Expected future benefit payments $ 1,758 $ 640 $ 1,719 $ 631
Expected future gross premiums 706 422 692 415
The following table shows the amount of revenue and interest recognized in the condensed consolidated statements of income related to our term and whole life policies:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Gross premiums
Term $ 77 $ 74
Whole life 14 13
Total $ 91 $ 87
Interest accretion
Term $ 13 $ 13
Whole life 6 6
Total $ 19 $ 19
Adverse development that resulted in an immediate charge to income due to net premiums exceeding gross premiums was immaterial for the three months ended March 31, 2026, and 2025 .
The following table shows the weighted-average interest rate for our term and whole life products :
At March 31,
2026 2025
Term
Interest accretion rate 5.28 % 5.20 %
Current discount rate 5.11 4.96
Whole life
Interest accretion rate 5.85 % 5.87 %
Current discount rate 5.82 5.67
The discount rate assumption was developed by calculating forward rates from market yield curves of upper-medium grade fixed-income instruments.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 18
Table of Contents
The following table shows the balances and changes in policyholders' account balances included in investment contract reserves:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Deferred annuity Universal life Deferred annuity Universal life
Balance, beginning of period $ 554 $ 451 $ 595 $ 456
Premiums received 6 9 4 10
Policy charges — ( 10 ) — ( 10 )
Surrenders and withdrawals ( 15 ) ( 5 ) ( 17 ) ( 3 )
Benefit payments ( 4 ) ( 1 ) ( 5 ) ( 1 )
Interest credited 5 5 5 5
Balance, end of period $ 546 $ 449 $ 582 $ 457
Weighted average crediting rate 3.75 % 4.42 % 3.68 % 4.40 %
Net amount at risk $ — $ 3,642 $ — $ 3,801
Cash surrender value 539 423 575 428
The net amount at risk above represents the guaranteed benefit amount in excess of the current account balances.
The following table shows the balance of account values by range of guaranteed minimum crediting rates, in basis points, and the related range of the difference between rates being credited to policyholders and the respective guaranteed minimums for our deferred annuity and universal life contracts:
(Dollars in millions) At guaranteed minimum 1 to 50 basis points above 51-150 basis points above Greater than 150 basis points Total
At March 31, 2026
Deferred annuity
1.00-3.00% $ 204 $ 43 $ 14 $ 242 $ 503
3.01-4.00% 43 — — — 43
Total $ 247 $ 43 $ 14 $ 242 $ 546
Universal life
1.00-3.00% $ — $ 53 $ 57 $ 17 $ 127
3.01-4.00% 52 — 4 — 56
Greater than 4.00% 266 — — — 266
Total $ 318 $ 53 $ 61 $ 17 $ 449
At March 31, 2025
Deferred annuity
1.00-3.00% $ 2 $ 286 $ 15 $ 233 $ 536
3.01-4.00% 46 — — — 46
Total $ 48 $ 286 $ 15 $ 233 $ 582
Universal life
1.00-3.00% $ — $ 55 $ 65 $ 6 $ 126
3.01-4.00% 50 — 5 — 55
Greater than 4.00% 276 — — — 276
Total $ 326 $ 55 $ 70 $ 6 $ 457
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 19
Table of Contents
The following table shows the balances and changes in the other additional liability related to the no-lapse guarantees contained within our universal life contracts:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Balance, beginning of period $ 138 $ 130
Balance, beginning of period before shadow reserve adjustments 138 131
Effect of changes in cash flow assumptions — —
Effect of actual variances from expected experience 1 2
Adjusted beginning of period balance 139 133
Interest accrual 1 1
Excess death benefits ( 2 ) ( 7 )
Attributed assessments 3 3
Effect of changes in interest rate assumptions 1 1
Balance, end of period before shadow reserve adjustments 142 131
Shadow reserve adjustments ( 1 ) ( 1 )
Balance, end of period 141 130
Less reinsurance recoverable, end of period 5 8
Net other additional liability, after reinsurance recoverable $ 146 $ 138
Weighted-average duration of the other additional liability in years 25 29
The following table shows balances and changes in separate accounts liability balances during the period:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Balance, beginning of period $ 981 $ 952
Interest credited before policy charges 11 11
Benefit payments ( 1 ) ( 8 )
Other ( 3 ) 4
Balance, end of period $ 988 $ 959
Cash surrender value $ 986 $ 949
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 20
Table of Contents
NOTE 6 – Deferred Policy Acquisition Costs
Expenses directly related to successfully acquired insurance policies – primarily commissions, premium taxes and underwriting costs – are deferred and amortized over the terms of the policies. We update our acquisition cost assumptions periodically to reflect actual experience. For property casualty, we evaluate the costs for recoverability. No premium deficiencies were recorded in the condensed consolidated statements of income, as the sum of the anticipated loss and loss expenses, policyholder dividends and unamortized deferred acquisition expenses did not exceed the related unearned premiums and anticipated investment income.
The table below shows the deferred policy acquisition costs and asset reconciliation.
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Property casualty:
Deferred policy acquisition costs asset, beginning of period $ 974 $ 886
Capitalized deferred policy acquisition costs 512 485
Amortized deferred policy acquisition costs ( 475 ) ( 434 )
Deferred policy acquisition costs asset, end of period $ 1,011 $ 937
Life:
Deferred policy acquisition costs asset, beginning of period $ 370 $ 356
Capitalized deferred policy acquisition costs 11 12
Amortized deferred policy acquisition costs ( 8 ) ( 8 )
Deferred policy acquisition costs asset, end of period $ 373 $ 360
Consolidated:
Deferred policy acquisition costs asset, beginning of period $ 1,344 $ 1,242
Capitalized deferred policy acquisition costs 523 497
Amortized deferred policy acquisition costs ( 483 ) ( 442 )
Deferred policy acquisition costs asset, end of period $ 1,384 $ 1,297
The table below shows the life deferred policy acquisition costs asset by product:
(Dollars in millions)
Three months ended March 31, 2026 Term Whole life Deferred annuity Universal life Total
Balance, beginning of period $ 257 $ 55 $ 8 $ 50 $ 370
Capitalized deferred policy acquisition costs 9 2 — — 11
Amortized deferred policy acquisition costs ( 6 ) ( 1 ) — ( 1 ) ( 8 )
Balance, end of period $ 260 $ 56 $ 8 $ 49 $ 373
Three months ended March 31, 2025
Balance, beginning of period $ 245 $ 52 $ 8 $ 51 $ 356
Capitalized deferred policy acquisition costs 9 2 — 1 12
Amortized deferred policy acquisition costs ( 6 ) ( 1 ) — ( 1 ) ( 8 )
Balance, end of period $ 248 $ 53 $ 8 $ 51 $ 360
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 21
Table of Contents
NOTE 7 – Accumulated Other Comprehensive Income
Accumulated other comprehensive income (AOCI) includes changes in unrealized gains and losses on investments, changes in pension obligations and changes in life policy reserves, reinsurance recoverable and other as follows:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Before tax Income tax Net Before tax Income tax Net
Investments:
AOCI, beginning of period $ ( 181 ) $ ( 40 ) $ ( 141 ) $ ( 553 ) $ ( 119 ) $ ( 434 )
OCI before investment gains and losses, net, recognized in net income ( 220 ) ( 46 ) ( 174 ) 65 14 51
Investment gains and losses, net, recognized in net income — — — 2 — 2
OCI ( 220 ) ( 46 ) ( 174 ) 67 14 53
AOCI, end of period $ ( 401 ) $ ( 86 ) $ ( 315 ) $ ( 486 ) $ ( 105 ) $ ( 381 )
Pension obligations:
AOCI, beginning of period $ 85 $ 19 $ 66 $ 75 $ 17 $ 58
OCI excluding amortization recognized in net income — — — — — —
Amortization recognized in net income ( 1 ) — ( 1 ) ( 1 ) — ( 1 )
OCI ( 1 ) — ( 1 ) ( 1 ) — ( 1 )
AOCI, end of period $ 84 $ 19 $ 65 $ 74 $ 17 $ 57
Life policy reserves, reinsurance recoverable and other:
AOCI, beginning of period $ 52 $ 11 $ 41 $ 85 $ 18 $ 67
OCI before investment gains and losses, net, recognized in net income 30 6 24 ( 17 ) ( 3 ) ( 14 )
Investment gains and losses, net, recognized in net income — — — — — —
OCI 30 6 24 ( 17 ) ( 3 ) ( 14 )
AOCI, end of period $ 82 $ 17 $ 65 $ 68 $ 15 $ 53
Summary of AOCI:
AOCI, beginning of period $ ( 44 ) $ ( 10 ) $ ( 34 ) $ ( 393 ) $ ( 84 ) $ ( 309 )
Investments OCI ( 220 ) ( 46 ) ( 174 ) 67 14 53
Pension obligations OCI ( 1 ) — ( 1 ) ( 1 ) — ( 1 )
Life policy reserves, reinsurance recoverable and other OCI 30 6 24 ( 17 ) ( 3 ) ( 14 )
Total OCI ( 191 ) ( 40 ) ( 151 ) 49 11 38
AOCI, end of period $ ( 235 ) $ ( 50 ) $ ( 185 ) $ ( 344 ) $ ( 73 ) $ ( 271 )
Investment gains and losses, net, and other investment gains and losses, net, are recorded in the investment gains and losses, net, line item in the condensed consolidated statements of income. Amortization of pension obligations is recorded in the insurance losses and contract holders' benefits and underwriting, acquisition and insurance expenses line items in the condensed consolidated statements of income.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 22
Table of Contents
NOTE 8 – Reinsurance
Primary components of our property casualty reinsurance assumed operations include involuntary and voluntary assumed as well as contracts from our reinsurance assumed operations, known as Cincinnati Re. Primary components of our ceded reinsurance include a property per risk treaty, property excess treaty, casualty per occurrence treaty, casualty excess treaty, property catastrophe treaties and catastrophe bonds and retrocessions on our reinsurance assumed operations. Management’s decisions about the appropriate level of risk retention are affected by various factors, including changes in our underwriting practices, capacity to retain risks and reinsurance market conditions.
The table below summarizes our consolidated property casualty insurance net written premiums, earned premiums and incurred loss and loss expenses:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Direct written premiums $ 2,507 $ 2,388
Assumed written premiums 281 303
Ceded written premiums ( 120 ) ( 196 )
Net written premiums $ 2,668 $ 2,495
Direct earned premiums $ 2,448 $ 2,247
Assumed earned premiums 167 190
Ceded earned premiums ( 96 ) ( 173 )
Earned premiums $ 2,519 $ 2,264
Direct incurred loss and loss expenses $ 1,595 $ 2,149
Assumed incurred loss and loss expenses 81 236
Ceded incurred loss and loss expenses ( 9 ) ( 498 )
Incurred loss and loss expenses $ 1,667 $ 1,887
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 23
Table of Contents
Our life insurance company purchases reinsurance for protection of a portion of the risks that are written. Primary components of our life reinsurance program include individual mortality coverage and accidental death coverage in excess of certain deductibles.
The table below summarizes our consolidated life insurance earned premiums and contract holders' benefits incurred:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Direct earned premiums $ 105 $ 99
Ceded earned premiums ( 20 ) ( 19 )
Earned premiums $ 85 $ 80
Direct contract holders' benefits incurred $ 99 $ 94
Ceded contract holders' benefits incurred ( 15 ) ( 13 )
Contract holders' benefits incurred $ 84 $ 81
The ceded benefits incurred can vary depending on the type of life insurance policy held and the year the policy was issued.
The allowance for uncollectible property casualty premiums receivable was $ 18 million at both March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025. The allowances for credit losses on other premiums receivable and reinsurance recoverable assets were immaterial at March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 24
Table of Contents
NOTE 9 – Income Taxes
The differences between the 21 % statutory federal income tax rate and our effective income tax rate were as follows:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Tax at statutory rate: $ 68 21.0 % $ ( 27 ) 21.0 %
Increase (decrease) resulting from:
Nontaxable or nondeductible items
Tax-exempt income from municipal bonds ( 6 ) ( 1.8 ) ( 5 ) 3.9
Dividend received exclusion ( 6 ) ( 1.8 ) ( 5 ) 3.9
Other nontaxable or nondeductible items ( 1 ) ( 0.3 ) 2 ( 1.6 )
Other ( 3 ) ( 1.1 ) ( 3 ) 2.5
Provision (benefit) for income taxes $ 52 16.0 % $ ( 38 ) 29.7 %
The provision (benefit) for federal income taxes is based upon filing a consolidated income tax return for the company and its domestic subsidiaries.
We continue to believe that after considering all positive and negative evidence of taxable income in the carryback and carryforward periods as permitted by law, it is more likely than not that all of the deferred tax assets on our U.S. domestic operations and those related to Cincinnati Global Underwriting Ltd. SM (Cincinnati Global) will be realized. As a result, we have no valuation allowance for our U.S. domestic operations or Cincinnati Global at both March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025.
Cincinnati Global
Cincinnati Global had no operating loss carryforwards in the United States and $ 36 million and $ 50 million in the United Kingdom at March 31, 2026, and December 31, 2025, respectively. These Cincinnati Global losses can only be utilized within the Cincinnati Global group.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 25
Table of Contents
NOTE 10 – Net Income (Loss) Per Common Share
Basic earnings per share are computed based on the weighted average number of common shares outstanding. Diluted earnings per share are computed based on the weighted average number of common and dilutive potential common shares outstanding using the treasury stock method. The table shows calculations for basic and diluted earnings per share:
(In millions, except per share data) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Numerator:
Net income (loss)—basic and diluted
$ 274 $ ( 90 )
Denominator:
Basic weighted-average common shares outstanding 155.3 156.4
Effect of share-based awards:
Stock options 1.2 —
Nonvested shares 0.5 —
Diluted weighted-average shares 157.0 156.4
Earnings (loss) per share:
Basic $ 1.77 $ ( 0.57 )
Diluted $ 1.75 $ ( 0.57 )
Number of anti-dilutive share-based awards 0.5 1.7
The source of dilution of our common shares are certain equity-based awards. See our 2025 Annual Report on Form 10-K, Item 8, Note 17, Share-Based Associate Compensation Plans, Page 169, for information about share-based awards. The above table shows the number of anti-dilutive share-based awards for the three months ended March 31, 2026 and 2025. In accordance with Accounting Standards Codification 260, Earnings per Share , the assumed exercise of share-based awards was excluded from the computation of diluted loss per share for the three months ended March 31, 2025, because their exercise would have anti-dilutive effects.
NOTE 11 – Employee Retirement Benefits
The following summarizes the components of net periodic benefit for our qualified and supplemental pension plans:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Service cost $ 1 $ 1
Non-service (benefit) costs:
Interest cost 4 4
Expected return on plan assets ( 6 ) ( 6 )
Amortization of actuarial gain and prior service cost ( 1 ) ( 1 )
Total non-service benefit ( 3 ) ( 3 )
Net periodic benefit $ ( 2 ) $ ( 2 )
See our 2025 Annual Report on Form 10-K, Item 8, Note 13, Employee Retirement Benefits, Page 163, for information on our retirement benefits. The net periodic benefit is allocated in the same proportion primarily to the underwriting, acquisition and insurance expenses line item with the remainder allocated to the insurance losses and contract holders' benefits line item on the condensed consolidated statements of income for both 2026 and 2025.
We made matching contributions totaling $ 8 million and $ 11 million to our 401(k) and Top Hat savings plans during the first quarter of 2026 and 2025, respectively.
We made no contributions to our qualified pension plan during the first three months of 2026.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 26
Table of Contents
NOTE 12 – Commitments and Contingent Liabilities
The company, through its insurance subsidiaries, is involved in claims litigation arising in the ordinary course of conducting its business, both as a liability insurer defending third-party claims brought against insureds and as an insurer defending against coverage claims. The company accounts for such activity through the establishment of unpaid loss and loss expense reserves. Subject to the uncertainties discussed in Note 4, Property Casualty Loss and Loss Expenses, and in the discussion in the balance of this Note, we believe that the ultimate liability, if any, with respect to such ordinary-course claims litigation, after consideration of provisions made for potential losses, costs of defense, and reinsurance recoveries, is immaterial to our consolidated financial position, results of operations and cash flows.
The company and its subsidiaries also are occasionally involved in other legal and regulatory proceedings, some of which assert claims for substantial amounts. These actions include, among others, putative class actions seeking certification of state or national classes. The company’s insurance subsidiaries also are occasionally parties to individual actions in which extra-contractual damages, punitive damages or penalties are sought, such as claims alleging bad faith handling of insurance claims or writing unauthorized coverage or claims alleging discrimination by former or current associates.
On a quarterly basis, we review these outstanding matters. Under current accounting guidance, we establish accruals when it is probable that a covered loss has been incurred and we can reasonably estimate its potential exposure. The company accounts for such probable and estimable losses, if any, through the establishment of legal expense reserves. Based on our quarterly review, we believe that our accruals for probable and estimable losses are reasonable and that the amounts accrued do not have a material effect on our consolidated financial position, results of operations and cash flows. However, if any one or more of these matters results in a judgment against us or settlement for an amount that is significantly greater than the amount accrued, the resulting liability could have a material effect on the company’s consolidated financial position, results of operations and cash flows. Based on our most recent review, our estimate for any other matters for which the risk of loss is not probable, but more than remote, is immaterial.
NOTE 13 – Segment Information
We operate primarily in two industries, property casualty insurance and life insurance. Our chief operating decision maker (CODM) is the chief executive officer who regularly reviews our reporting segments to make decisions about allocating resources and assessing performance. Our five reporting segments are:
• Commercial lines insurance
• Personal lines insurance
• Excess and surplus lines insurance
• Life insurance
• Investments
We report as Other the noninvestment operations of the parent company and its noninsurer subsidiary, CFC Investment Company. We also report as Other the underwriting results of Cincinnati Re and Cincinnati Global. See our 2025 Annual Report on Form 10-K, Item 8, Note 18, Segment Information, Page 172, for a description of revenue, income or loss before inco me taxes, including its components, an d identifiable assets for each of the five segments.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 27
Table of Contents
Segment information is summarized in the following table:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2026 2025
Commercial lines insurance
Commercial lines insurance premiums $ 1,241 $ 1,179
Fee revenues 1 2
Total commercial lines insurance revenues 1,242 1,181
Loss and loss expenses 847 735
Underwriting expenses 377 349
Total commercial lines income before income taxes 18 97
Personal lines insurance
Personal lines insurance premiums 873 698
Fee revenues 2 1
Total personal lines insurance revenues 875 699
Loss and loss expenses 607 846
Underwriting expenses 238 210
Total personal lines income (loss) before income taxes 30 ( 357 )
Excess and surplus lines insurance
Excess and surplus lines insurance premiums 180 162
Fee revenues 1 1
Total excess and surplus lines insurance revenues 181 163
Loss and loss expenses 110 99
Underwriting expenses 50 44
Total excess and surplus lines income before income taxes 21 20
Life insurance
Life insurance premiums 85 80
Fee revenues 1 1
Total life insurance revenues 86 81
Contract holders' benefits incurred 84 81
Investment interest credited to contract holders ( 32 ) ( 32 )
Underwriting expenses incurred 23 23
Total life insurance income before income taxes 11 9
Investments
Investment income, net of expenses 318 280
Investment gains and losses, net ( 70 ) ( 67 )
Total investment revenue 248 213
Investment interest credited to contract holders 32 32
Total investment income before income taxes 216 181
Reconciliation to condensed consolidated income before income taxes
Total segment revenues 2,632 2,337
Other earned premiums 225 225
Other revenues 6 4
Total revenues 2,863 2,566
Total segment benefits and expenses 2,336 2,387
Other loss and loss expenses 103 207
Other underwriting expenses 76 76
Other benefits and expenses 22 24
Total benefits and expenses 2,537 2,694
Total income (loss) before income taxes $ 326 $ ( 128 )
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2026 10-Q
Page 28
Table of Contents
Identifiable assets by segment are summarized in the following table:
(Dollars in millions) March 31, December 31,
2026 2025
Identifiable assets:
Property casualty insurance $ 6,608 $ 6,916
Life insurance 1,715 1,695
Investments 31,410 31,199
Other 1,478 1,192
Total $ 41,211 $ 41,002
Text extracted from the filing as submitted to EDGAR. Formatting, tables and exhibits are simplified for reading; the original document is authoritative for anything you rely on.