Item 1. Financial Statements
Item 1. Financial Statements (unaudited)
Cincinnati Financial Corporation and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets
(Dollars in millions, except per share data) March 31, December 31,
2024 2023
Assets
Investments
Fixed maturities, at fair value (amortized cost: 2024—$ 14,709 ; 2023—$ 14,361 )
$ 14,084 $ 13,791
Equity securities, at fair value (cost: 2024—$ 4,313 ; 2023—$ 4,282 )
11,557 10,989
Other invested assets 608 577
Total investments 26,249 25,357
Cash and cash equivalents 619 907
Investment income receivable 202 192
Finance receivable 106 108
Premiums receivable 2,805 2,592
Reinsurance recoverable 617 651
Prepaid reinsurance premiums 77 55
Deferred policy acquisition costs 1,143 1,093
Land, building and equipment, net, for company use (accumulated depreciation:
2024—$ 331 ; 2023—$ 337 )
211 208
Other assets 771 681
Separate accounts 927 925
Total assets $ 33,727 $ 32,769
Liabilities
Insurance reserves
Loss and loss expense reserves $ 9,246 $ 9,050
Life policy and investment contract reserves 3,013 3,068
Unearned premiums 4,398 4,119
Other liabilities 1,156 1,311
Deferred income tax 1,460 1,324
Note payable 25 25
Long-term debt and lease obligations 848 849
Separate accounts 927 925
Total liabilities 21,073 20,671
Commitments and contingent liabilities (Note 12)
Shareholders' Equity
Common stock, par value—$ 2 per share; (authorized: 2024 and 2023— 500 million
shares; issued: 2024 and 2023— 198.3 million shares)
397 397
Paid-in capital 1,446 1,437
Retained earnings 13,712 13,084
Accumulated other comprehensive loss ( 442 ) ( 435 )
Treasury stock at cost (2024— 41.8 million shares and 2023— 41.3 million shares)
( 2,459 ) ( 2,385 )
Total shareholders' equity 12,654 12,098
Total liabilities and shareholders' equity $ 33,727 $ 32,769
Accompanying Notes are an integral part of these Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 3
Table of Contents
Cincinnati Financial Corporation and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Income
(Dollars in millions, except per share data) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Revenues
Earned premiums $ 2,071 $ 1,918
Investment income, net of expenses 245 210
Investment gains and losses, net 612 106
Fee revenues 4 4
Other revenues 3 3
Total revenues 2,935 2,241
Benefits and Expenses
Insurance losses and contract holders' benefits 1,349 1,398
Underwriting, acquisition and insurance expenses 616 556
Interest expense 13 14
Other operating expenses 4 5
Total benefits and expenses 1,982 1,973
Income Before Income Taxes 953 268
Provision for Income Taxes
Current 61 16
Deferred 137 27
Total provision for income taxes 198 43
Net Income $ 755 $ 225
Per Common Share
Net income — basic $ 4.82 $ 1.43
Net income — diluted 4.78 1.42
Accompanying Notes are an integral part of these Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 4
Table of Contents
Cincinnati Financial Corporation and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Comprehensive Income
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Net Income $ 755 $ 225
Other Comprehensive Income (Loss)
Change in unrealized gains and losses on investments, net of tax (benefit) of $( 11 ) and $ 35 , respectively
( 44 ) 128
Amortization of pension actuarial loss and prior service cost, net of tax (benefit) of $ 0 and $( 1 ), respectively
— ( 5 )
Change in life policy reserves, reinsurance recoverable and other, net of tax (benefit) of $ 10 and $( 9 ), respectively
37 ( 36 )
Other comprehensive income (loss) ( 7 ) 87
Comprehensive Income $ 748 $ 312
Accompanying Notes are an integral part of these Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 5
Table of Contents
Cincinnati Financial Corporation and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Shareholders' Equity
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Common Stock
Beginning of period $ 397 $ 397
Share-based awards — —
End of period 397 397
Paid-In Capital
Beginning of period 1,437 1,392
Share-based awards ( 6 ) ( 6 )
Share-based compensation 14 12
Other 1 —
End of period 1,446 1,398
Retained Earnings
Beginning of period 13,084 11,711
Net income 755 225
Dividends declared ( 127 ) ( 118 )
End of period 13,712 11,818
Accumulated Other Comprehensive Loss
Beginning of period ( 435 ) ( 614 )
Other comprehensive income (loss) ( 7 ) 87
End of period ( 442 ) ( 527 )
Treasury Stock
Beginning of period ( 2,385 ) ( 2,324 )
Share-based awards 8 7
Shares acquired - share repurchase authorization ( 75 ) ( 25 )
Shares acquired - share-based compensation plans ( 7 ) ( 3 )
End of period ( 2,459 ) ( 2,345 )
Total Shareholders' Equity $ 12,654 $ 10,741
(In millions, except per common share)
Common Stock - Shares Outstanding
Beginning of period 157.0 157.1
Share-based awards 0.3 0.3
Shares acquired - share repurchase authorization ( 0.7 ) ( 0.2 )
Shares acquired - share-based compensation plans ( 0.1 ) —
End of period 156.5 157.2
Dividends declared per common share $ 0.81 $ 0.75
Accompanying Notes are an integral part of these Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 6
Table of Contents
Cincinnati Financial Corporation and Subsidiaries
Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Cash Flows From Operating Activities
Net income $ 755 $ 225
Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities:
Depreciation, amortization and other 34 40
Investment gains and losses, net ( 608 ) ( 93 )
Interest credited to contract holders 11 10
Deferred income tax expense 137 27
Changes in:
Premiums and reinsurance receivable ( 203 ) ( 229 )
Deferred policy acquisition costs ( 50 ) ( 36 )
Other assets ( 8 ) ( 24 )
Loss and loss expense reserves 196 293
Life policy and investment contract reserves 26 25
Unearned premiums 279 201
Other liabilities ( 161 ) ( 121 )
Current income tax receivable/payable ( 55 ) ( 68 )
Net cash provided by operating activities 353 250
Cash Flows From Investing Activities
Sale, call or maturity of fixed maturities 464 303
Sale of equity securities 266 4
Purchase of fixed maturities ( 838 ) ( 606 )
Purchase of equity securities ( 226 ) ( 22 )
Changes in finance receivables 2 ( 3 )
Investment in building and equipment ( 7 ) ( 4 )
Change in other invested assets, net ( 16 ) ( 34 )
Net cash used in investing activities ( 355 ) ( 362 )
Cash Flows From Financing Activities
Payment of cash dividends to shareholders ( 116 ) ( 106 )
Shares acquired - share repurchase authorization ( 75 ) ( 25 )
Proceeds from stock options exercised 3 5
Contract holders' funds deposited 19 20
Contract holders' funds withdrawn ( 60 ) ( 58 )
Other ( 57 ) ( 33 )
Net cash used in financing activities ( 286 ) ( 197 )
Net change in cash and cash equivalents ( 288 ) ( 309 )
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of year 907 1,264
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period $ 619 $ 955
Supplemental Disclosures of Cash Flow Information:
Interest paid $ — $ 1
Income taxes paid 106 76
Noncash Activities
Equipment acquired under finance lease obligations $ 4 $ 1
Share-based compensation 17 11
Other assets and other liabilities 97 96
Accompanying Notes are an integral part of these Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 7
Table of Contents
NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (UNAUDITED)
NOTE 1 — Accounting Policies
The condensed consolidated financial statements include the accounts of Cincinnati Financial Corporation and its consolidated subsidiaries, each of which is wholly owned. These statements are presented in conformity with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America (GAAP). All intercompany balances and transactions have been eliminated in consolidation.
The preparation of financial statements in conformity with GAAP requires us to make estimates and assumptions that affect amounts reported in the financial statements and accompanying notes. Our actual results could differ from those estimates. Certain financial information that is normally included in annual financial statements prepared in accordance with GAAP, but that is not required for interim reporting purposes, has been condensed or omitted.
Our March 31, 2024, condensed consolidated financial statements are unaudited. We believe that we have made all adjustments, consisting only of normal recurring accruals, that are necessary for fair presentation. These condensed consolidated financial statements should be read in conjunction with our consolidated financial statements included in our 2023 Annual Report on Form 10-K. The results of operations for interim periods do not necessarily indicate results to be expected for the full year.
Pending Accounting Updates
ASU 2023-07, Segment Reporting (Topic 280): Improvements to Reportable Segment Disclosures
In November 2023, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) issued Accounting Standards Update (ASU) 2023-07, Segment Reporting (Topic 280): Improvements to Reportable Segment Disclosures. ASU 2023-07 enhances reportable segment disclosures by requiring entities to disclose significant segment expenses that are regularly provided to the chief operating decision maker (CODM) and included within the reported measure of profit or loss. This ASU also requires disclosure of the title and position of the CODM as well as a description of how the reported measure of profit or loss is used to assess segment performance and allocate resources. The effective date of ASU 2023-07 is for annual reporting periods beginning after December 15, 2023, and interim reporting periods within annual periods beginning after December 15, 2024, and should be applied retrospectively to all prior periods presented. The ASU has not yet been adopted and will not have a material impact on our company’s consolidated financial position, results of operations or cash flows, but the ASU will require additional disclosures in our annual and interim financial statements.
ASU 2023-09, Income Taxes (Topic 740): Improvements to Income Tax Disclosures
In December 2023, the FASB issued ASU 2023-09, Income Taxes (Topic 740): Improvements to Income Tax Disclosures. ASU 2023-09 enhances the transparency and decision usefulness of income tax disclosures by requiring entities to disclose specific categories within their rate reconciliation as well as additional items within those categories above a prescribed threshold. This ASU also requires disclosure of the amount of income taxes paid (net of refunds received) disaggregated by federal, state and foreign taxes as well as additional items within those categories above a prescribed threshold. The effective date of ASU 2023-09 is for annual reporting periods beginning after December 15, 2024, and should be applied prospectively with retrospective application permitted. The ASU has not yet been adopted and will not have a material impact on our company’s consolidated financial position, results of operations or cash flows, but the ASU will require additional disclosures in our annual financial statements .
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 8
Table of Contents
NOTE 2 – Investments
The following table provides amortized cost, gross unrealized gains, gross unrealized losses and fair value for our fixed-maturity securities:
(Dollars in millions) Amortized
cost Gross unrealized Fair value
At March 31, 2024 gains losses
Fixed-maturity securities:
Corporate $ 8,002 $ 60 $ 463 $ 7,599
States, municipalities and political subdivisions 4,872 28 232 4,668
Government-sponsored enterprises 1,424 1 4 1,421
Asset-backed 200 — 11 189
United States government 182 — 4 178
Foreign government 29 — — 29
Total $ 14,709 $ 89 $ 714 $ 14,084
At December 31, 2023
Fixed-maturity securities:
Corporate $ 7,836 $ 70 $ 454 $ 7,452
States, municipalities and political subdivisions 4,867 44 208 4,703
Government-sponsored enterprises 1,227 3 6 1,224
Asset-backed 203 — 16 187
United States government 203 — 3 200
Foreign government 25 — — 25
Total $ 14,361 $ 117 $ 687 $ 13,791
The increase in net unrealized investment losses in our fixed-maturity portfolio at March 31, 2024, is primarily due to an increase in U.S. Treasury yields that were partially offset by a tightening of corporate credit spreads. Our asset-backed securities had an average rating of Aa3/AA- at both March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 9
Table of Contents
The table below provides fair values and gross unrealized losses by investment category and by the duration of the securities' continuous unrealized loss positions:
(Dollars in millions) Less than 12 months 12 months or more Total
At March 31, 2024 Fair
value Unrealized
losses Fair
value Unrealized
losses Fair
value Unrealized
losses
Fixed-maturity securities:
Corporate $ 642 $ 13 $ 5,488 $ 450 $ 6,130 $ 463
States, municipalities and political subdivisions 1,099 9 1,900 223 2,999 232
Government-sponsored enterprises 396 1 168 3 564 4
Asset-backed 30 — 133 11 163 11
United States government 74 — 105 4 179 4
Foreign government 17 — 5 — 22 —
Total $ 2,258 $ 23 $ 7,799 $ 691 $ 10,057 $ 714
At December 31, 2023
Fixed-maturity securities:
Corporate $ 379 $ 13 $ 5,560 $ 441 $ 5,939 $ 454
States, municipalities and political subdivisions 313 2 1,932 206 2,245 208
Government-sponsored enterprises 652 3 113 3 765 6
Asset-backed 5 — 172 16 177 16
United States government 32 — 129 3 161 3
Foreign government 3 — 6 — 9 —
Total $ 1,384 $ 18 $ 7,912 $ 669 $ 9,296 $ 687
Contractual maturity dates for fixed-maturities securities were:
(Dollars in millions) Amortized
cost Fair
value % of fair
value
At March 31, 2024
Maturity dates:
Due in one year or less $ 971 $ 963 6.8 %
Due after one year through five years 4,413 4,300 30.5
Due after five years through ten years 3,553 3,427 24.3
Due after ten years 5,772 5,394 38.4
Total $ 14,709 $ 14,084 100.0 %
Actual maturities may differ from contractual maturities when there is a right to call or prepay obligations with or without call or prepayment penalties.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 10
Table of Contents
The following table provides investment income and investment gains and losses, net:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Investment income:
Interest $ 169 $ 140
Dividends 72 66
Other 7 7
Total 248 213
Less investment expenses 3 3
Total $ 245 $ 210
Investment gains and losses, net:
Equity securities:
Investment gains and losses on securities sold, net $ ( 11 ) $ ( 1 )
Unrealized gains and losses on securities still held, net 613 106
Subtotal 602 105
Fixed-maturity securities:
Gross realized gains — 1
Gross realized losses ( 1 ) ( 1 )
Change in allowance for credit losses, net ( 9 ) —
Subtotal ( 10 ) —
Other 20 1
Total $ 612 $ 106
The fair value of our equity portfolio was $ 11.557 billion and $ 10.989 billion at March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023, respectively. Microsoft Corporation (Nasdaq:MSFT), an equity holding, was our largest single investment holding with a fair value of $ 942 million and $ 842 million, which was 8.4 % and 7.9 % of our publicly traded common equities portfolio and 3.7 % and 3.4 % of the total investment portfolio at March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023, respectively.
The allowance for credit losses on fixed-maturity securities was $ 27 million and $ 18 million at March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023, respectively.
There were 3,329 and 2,840 fixed-maturity securities in a total unrealized loss position of $ 714 million and $ 687 million at March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023, respectively. Of those totals, 12 and 20 fixed-maturity securities had fair values below 70 % of amortized cost at March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023, respectively.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 11
Table of Contents
NOTE 3 – Fair Value Measurements
In accordance with accounting guidance for fair value measurements and disclosures, we categorized our financial instruments, based on the priority of the observable and market-based data for the valuation technique used, into a three-level fair value hierarchy. The fair value hierarchy gives the highest priority to quoted prices with readily available independent data in active markets for identical assets or liabilities (Level 1) and the lowest priority to unobservable market inputs (Level 3). When various inputs for measurement fall within different levels of the fair value hierarchy, the lowest observable input that has a significant impact on fair value measurement is used. Our valuation techniques have not changed from those used at December 31, 2023, and ultimately management determines fair value. See our 2023 Annual Report on Form 10-K, Item 8, Note 3, Fair Value Measurements, Page 139, for information on characteristics and valuation techniques used in determining fair value.
Fair Value Disclosures for Assets
The following tables illustrate the fair value hierarchy for those assets measured at fair value on a recurring basis at March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023. We do not have any liabilities carried at fair value.
(Dollars in millions) Level 1 Level 2 Level 3 Total
At March 31, 2024
Fixed maturities, available for sale:
Corporate $ — $ 7,599 $ — $ 7,599
States, municipalities and political subdivisions — 4,668 — 4,668
Government-sponsored enterprises — 1,421 — 1,421
Asset-backed — 189 — 189
United States government 178 — — 178
Foreign government — 29 — 29
Subtotal 178 13,906 — 14,084
Common equities 11,203 — — 11,203
Nonredeemable preferred equities — 354 — 354
Separate accounts taxable fixed maturities — 866 — 866
Top Hat savings plan mutual funds and common
equity (included in Other assets) 78 — — 78
Total $ 11,459 $ 15,126 $ — $ 26,585
At December 31, 2023
Fixed maturities, available for sale:
Corporate $ — $ 7,452 $ — $ 7,452
States, municipalities and political subdivisions — 4,703 — 4,703
Government-sponsored enterprises — 1,224 — 1,224
Asset-backed — 187 — 187
United States government 200 — — 200
Foreign government — 25 — 25
Subtotal 200 13,591 — 13,791
Common equities 10,641 — — 10,641
Nonredeemable preferred equities — 348 — 348
Separate accounts taxable fixed maturities — 854 — 854
Top Hat savings plan mutual funds and common
equity (included in Other assets) 67 — — 67
Total $ 10,908 $ 14,793 $ — $ 25,701
We also held Level 1 cash and cash equivalents of $ 619 million and $ 907 million at March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023, respectively.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 12
Table of Contents
Fair Value Disclosures for Assets and Liabilities Not Carried at Fair Value
The disclosures below are presented to provide information about the effects of current market conditions on financial instruments that are not reported at fair value in our condensed consolidated financial statements.
This table summarizes the book value and principal amounts of our long-term debt:
(Dollars in millions) Book value Principal amount
Interest
rate Year of
issue March 31, December 31, March 31, December 31,
2024 2023 2024 2023
6.900 % 1998 Senior debentures, due 2028 $ 27 $ 27 $ 28 $ 28
6.920 % 2005 Senior debentures, due 2028 391 391 391 391
6.125 % 2004 Senior notes, due 2034 372 372 374 374
Total $ 790 $ 790 $ 793 $ 793
The following table shows fair values of our note payable and long-term debt:
(Dollars in millions) Level 1 Level 2 Level 3 Total
At March 31, 2024
Note payable $ — $ 25 $ — $ 25
6.900 % senior debentures, due 2028
— 29 — 29
6.920 % senior debentures, due 2028
— 416 — 416
6.125 % senior notes, due 2034
— 399 — 399
Total $ — $ 869 $ — $ 869
At December 31, 2023
Note payable $ — $ 25 $ — $ 25
6.900 % senior debentures, due 2028
— 29 — 29
6.920 % senior debentures, due 2028
— 420 — 420
6.125 % senior notes, due 2034
— 394 — 394
Total $ — $ 868 $ — $ 868
The following table shows the fair value of our life policy loans included in other invested assets and the fair values of our deferred annuities and structured settlements included in life policy and investment contract reserves:
(Dollars in millions) Level 1 Level 2 Level 3 Total
At March 31, 2024
Life policy loans $ — $ — $ 40 $ 40
Deferred annuities — — 577 577
Structured settlements — 137 — 137
Total $ — $ 137 $ 577 $ 714
At December 31, 2023
Life policy loans $ — $ — $ 39 $ 39
Deferred annuities — — 603 603
Structured settlements — 141 — 141
Total $ — $ 141 $ 603 $ 744
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 13
Table of Contents
Outstanding principal and interest for these life policy loans totaled $ 34 million and $ 33 million at March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023, respectively.
Recorded reserves for the deferred annuities were $ 631 million and $ 656 million at March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023, respectively. Recorded reserves for the structured settlements were $ 122 million and $ 123 million at March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023, respectively.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 14
Table of Contents
NOTE 4 – Property Casualty Loss and Loss Expenses
This table summarizes activity for our consolidated property casualty loss and loss expense reserves:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Gross loss and loss expense reserves, beginning of period $ 8,975 $ 8,336
Less reinsurance recoverable 362 405
Net loss and loss expense reserves, beginning of period 8,613 7,931
Net incurred loss and loss expenses related to:
Current accident year 1,370 1,376
Prior accident years ( 100 ) ( 59 )
Total incurred 1,270 1,317
Net paid loss and loss expenses related to:
Current accident year 205 187
Prior accident years 832 859
Total paid 1,037 1,046
Net loss and loss expense reserves, end of period 8,846 8,202
Plus reinsurance recoverable 332 424
Gross loss and loss expense reserves, end of period $ 9,178 $ 8,626
We use actuarial methods, models and judgment to estimate, as of a financial statement date, the property casualty loss and loss expense reserves required to pay for and settle all outstanding insured claims, including incurred but not reported (IBNR) claims, as of that date. The actuarial estimate is subject to review and adjustment by an inter-departmental committee that includes actuarial, claims, underwriting, loss prevention and accounting management. This committee is familiar with relevant company and industry business, claims and underwriting trends, as well as general economic and legal trends that could affect future loss and loss expense payments. The amount we will actually have to pay for claims can be highly uncertain. This uncertainty, together with the size of our reserves, makes the loss and loss expense reserves our most significant estimate. The reserve for loss and loss expenses in the condensed consolidated balance sheets also included $ 68 million and $ 67 million at March 31, 2024, and 2023, respectively, for certain life and health loss and loss expense reserves.
We experienced $ 100 million of favorable development on prior accident years, including $ 38 million of favorable development in commercial lines, $ 33 million of favorable development in personal lines and $ 3 million of favorable development in excess and surplus lines for the three months ended March 31, 2024. Within commercial lines, we recognized favorable reserve development of $ 22 million for the commercial property line and $ 12 million for the workers' compensation line due to reduced uncertainty of prior accident year loss and loss adjustment expense for these lines. Within personal lines, we recognized favorable reserve development of $ 25 million for the homeowner line and $ 5 million for the personal auto line.
We experienced $ 59 million of favorable development on prior accident years, including $ 32 million of favorable development in commercial lines, $ 31 million of favorable development in personal lines and $ 9 million of favorable development in excess and surplus lines for the three months ended March 31, 2023. Within commercial lines, we recognized favorable reserve development of $ 16 million for the commercial property line and $ 15 million for
the workers' compensation line due to reduced uncertainty of prior accident year loss and loss adjustment expense for these lines. Within personal lines, we recognized favorable reserve development of $ 27 million for the homeowner line.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 15
Table of Contents
NOTE 5 – Life Policy and Investment Contract Reserves
We establish the reserves for traditional life policies including term, whole life and other products based on the present value of future benefits and claim expenses less the present value of future net premiums. Net premium is the portion of gross premium required to pro vide for all benefits and claim expenses. We estimate future benefits and claim expenses and net premium using certain cash flow assumptions including mortality, morbidity and lapse rates as well as a discount rate assumption. The cash flow assumptions are established based on our current expectations and are reviewed annually to determine any necessary updates. These assumptions are also updated on an interim basis if evidence suggests that they should be revised. We use both our own experience and industry experience, adjusted for historical trends, in arriving at our cash flow assumptions. The discount rate assumption is based on upper-medium grade fixed-income instrument yields (market value discount rates) and is updated quarterly. Changes in the inputs, judgments and assumptions during the period and the related measurement impact on the liability are reflected in the below tables.
We establish reserves for our universal life, deferred annuity and other investment contracts equal to the cumulative account balances, which include premium deposits plus credited interest less charges and withdrawals. Some of our universal life policies contain no-lapse guarantee provisions. For these policies, we establish a reserve in addition to the account balance, based on expected no-lapse guarantee benefits and expected policy assessments.
The following table summarizes our life policy and investment contract reserves and provides a reconciliation of the balances described in the below tables to those in the condensed consolidated balance sheets:
(Dollars in millions) March 31,
2024 December 31,
2023
Life policy reserves:
Term $ 1,054 $ 1,066
Whole life 418 434
Other 99 97
Subtotal 1,571 1,597
Investment contract reserves:
Deferred annuities 631 656
Universal life 585 585
Structured settlements 122 123
Other 104 107
Subtotal 1,442 1,471
Total life policy and investment contract reserves $ 3,013 $ 3,068
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 16
Table of Contents
The balances and changes in the term and whole life policy reserves included in life policy and investment contract reserves is as follows:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Term Whole life Term Whole life
Present value of expected net premiums:
Balance, beginning of period $ 1,700 $ 223 $ 1,643 $ 208
Beginning balance at original discount rate 1,712 225 1,708 217
Effect of changes in cash flow assumptions — — — —
Effect of actual variances from expected experience ( 9 ) — ( 3 ) 1
Adjusted beginning of period balance 1,703 225 1,705 218
Issuances 35 5 38 7
Interest accrual 18 2 18 2
Net premiums collected ( 46 ) ( 7 ) ( 46 ) ( 7 )
Ending balance at original discount rate 1,710 225 1,715 220
Effect of changes in discount rate assumptions ( 50 ) ( 6 ) ( 16 ) ( 3 )
Balance, end of period 1,660 219 1,699 217
Present value of expected future policy benefits:
Balance, beginning of period 2,751 657 2,584 614
Beginning balance at original discount rate 2,765 628 2,692 607
Effect of changes in cash flow assumptions — — — —
Effect of actual variances from expected experience ( 14 ) — ( 2 ) 1
Adjusted beginning of period balance 2,751 628 2,690 608
Issuances 35 5 38 6
Interest accrual 31 8 30 8
Benefits paid ( 37 ) ( 8 ) ( 46 ) ( 8 )
Ending balance at original discount rate 2,780 633 2,712 614
Effect of changes in discount rate assumptions ( 82 ) 4 ( 21 ) 30
Balance, end of period 2,698 637 2,691 644
Net liability for future policy benefits:
Present value of expected future policy benefits less expected net premiums 1,038 418 992 427
Impact of flooring at cohort level 16 — 19 —
Net life policy reserves 1,054 418 1,011 427
Less reinsurance recoverable at original discount rate ( 100 ) ( 24 ) ( 96 ) ( 25 )
Less effect of discount rate assumption changes on reinsurance recoverable ( 8 ) ( 4 ) ( 10 ) ( 6 )
Net life policy reserves, after reinsurance recoverable $ 946 $ 390 $ 905 $ 396
Weighted-average duration of the net life policy reserves in years 11 16 12 16
The total impact of flooring at cohort level in the above tables includes the effect of discount rate assumption change s of $ 2 million and $ 5 million at March 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 17
Table of Contents
The following table shows the amount of undiscounted and discounted expected future benefit payments and expected gross premiums for our term and whole life policies:
(Dollars in millions) At March 31,
2024 2023
Undiscounted Discounted Undiscounted Discounted
Term
Expected future benefit payments $ 4,816 $ 2,698 $ 4,696 $ 2,691
Expected future gross premiums 4,386 2,601 4,470 2,674
Whole life
Expected future benefit payments $ 1,660 $ 637 $ 1,586 $ 644
Expected future gross premiums 663 402 618 384
The following table shows the amount of revenue and interest recognized in the condensed consolidated statements of income related to our term and whole life policies:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Gross premiums
Term $ 74 $ 73
Whole life 13 12
Total $ 87 $ 85
Interest accretion
Term $ 13 $ 12
Whole life 6 6
Total $ 19 $ 18
Adverse development that resulted in an immediate charge to income due to net premiums exceeding gross premiums w as immaterial for the three months ended March 31, 2024, and 2023 .
The following table shows the weighted-average interest rate for our term and whole life products :
At March 31,
2024 2023
Term
Interest accretion rate 5.26 % 5.32 %
Current discount rate 5.09 4.81
Whole life
Interest accretion rate 5.90 % 5.94 %
Current discount rate 5.40 5.06
The discount rate assumption was developed by calculating forward rates from market yield curves of upper-medium grade fixed-income instruments.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 18
Table of Contents
The following table shows the balances and changes in policyholders' account balances included in investment contract reserves:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Deferred annuity Universal life Deferred annuity Universal life
Balance, beginning of period $ 656 $ 457 $ 734 $ 457
Premiums received 9 10 10 11
Policy charges — ( 10 ) — ( 10 )
Surrenders and withdrawals ( 37 ) ( 4 ) ( 36 ) ( 3 )
Benefit payments ( 3 ) ( 2 ) ( 3 ) ( 2 )
Interest credited 6 5 6 5
Balance, end of period $ 631 $ 456 $ 711 $ 458
Weighted average crediting rate 3.55 % 4.33 % 3.36 % 4.26 %
Net amount at risk $ — $ 3,908 $ — $ 4,064
Cash surrender value 625 425 706 424
The net amount at risk above represents the guaranteed benefit amount in excess of the current account balances.
The following table shows the balance of account values by range of guaranteed minimum crediting rates, in basis points, and the related range of the difference between rates being credited to policyholders and the respective guaranteed minimums for our deferred annuity and universal life contracts:
(Dollars in millions) At guaranteed minimum 1 to 50 basis points above 51-150 basis points above Greater than 150 basis points Total
At March 31, 2024
Deferred annuity
1.00-3.00% $ 4 $ 337 $ 15 $ 226 582
3.01-4.00% 49 — — — 49
Total $ 53 $ 337 $ 15 $ 226 $ 631
Universal life
1.00-3.00% $ — $ 60 $ 58 $ 4 $ 122
3.01-4.00% 49 5 — — 54
Greater than 4.00% 280 — — — 280
Total $ 329 $ 65 $ 58 $ 4 $ 456
At March 31, 2023
Deferred annuity
1.00-3.00% $ 9 $ 423 $ 17 $ 212 $ 661
3.01-4.00% 50 — — — 50
Total $ 59 $ 423 $ 17 $ 212 $ 711
Universal life
1.00-3.00% $ 60 $ 47 $ 9 $ 2 $ 118
3.01-4.00% 53 — — — 53
Greater than 4.00% 287 — — — 287
Total $ 400 $ 47 $ 9 $ 2 $ 458
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 19
Table of Contents
The following table shows the balances and changes in the other additional liability related to the no-lapse guarantees contained within our universal life contracts:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Balance, beginning of period $ 128 $ 121
Balance, beginning of period before shadow reserve adjustments 129 123
Effect of changes in cash flow assumptions — —
Effect of actual variances from expected experience — ( 1 )
Adjusted beginning of period balance 129 122
Interest accrual 1 1
Excess death benefits ( 2 ) —
Attributed assessments 3 3
Effect of changes in interest rate assumptions ( 1 ) 1
Balance, end of period before shadow reserve adjustments 130 127
Shadow reserve adjustments ( 1 ) ( 2 )
Balance, end of period 129 125
Less reinsurance recoverable, end of period 6 6
Net other additional liability, after reinsurance recoverable $ 135 $ 131
Weighted-average duration of the other additional liability in years 31 34
The following table shows balances and changes in separate accounts balances during the period:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Balance, beginning of period $ 925 $ 892
Interest credited before policy charges 10 10
Benefit payments — ( 2 )
Other ( 8 ) ( 1 )
Balance, end of period $ 927 $ 899
Cash surrender value $ 925 $ 896
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 20
Table of Contents
NOTE 6 – Deferred Policy Acquisition Costs
Expenses directly related to successfully acquired insurance policies – primarily commissions, premium taxes and underwriting costs – are deferred and amortized over the terms of the policies. We update our acquisition cost assumptions periodically to reflect actual experience. For property casualty, we evaluate the costs for recoverability. No premium deficiencies were recorded in the condensed consolidated statements of income, as the sum of the anticipated loss and loss expenses, policyholder dividends and unamortized deferred acquisition expenses did not exceed the related unearned premiums and anticipated investment income.
The table below shows the deferred policy acquisition costs and asset reconciliation.
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Property casualty:
Deferred policy acquisition costs asset, beginning of period $ 749 $ 682
Capitalized deferred policy acquisition costs 407 372
Amortized deferred policy acquisition costs ( 360 ) ( 340 )
Deferred policy acquisition costs asset, end of period $ 796 $ 714
Life:
Deferred policy acquisition costs asset, beginning of period $ 344 $ 331
Capitalized deferred policy acquisition costs 10 11
Amortized deferred policy acquisition costs ( 7 ) ( 8 )
Deferred policy acquisition costs asset, end of period $ 347 $ 334
Consolidated:
Deferred policy acquisition costs asset, beginning of period $ 1,093 $ 1,013
Capitalized deferred policy acquisition costs 417 383
Amortized deferred policy acquisition costs ( 367 ) ( 348 )
Deferred policy acquisition costs asset, end of period $ 1,143 $ 1,048
The table below shows the life deferred policy acquisition costs asset by product:
(Dollars in millions)
Three months ended March 31, 2024 Term Whole life Deferred annuity Universal life Total
Balance, beginning of period $ 236 $ 48 $ 8 $ 52 $ 344
Capitalized deferred policy acquisition costs 8 2 — — 10
Amortized deferred policy acquisition costs ( 6 ) ( 1 ) — — ( 7 )
Balance, end of period $ 238 $ 49 $ 8 $ 52 $ 347
Three months ended March 31, 2023
Balance, beginning of period $ 228 $ 43 $ 7 $ 53 $ 331
Capitalized deferred policy acquisition costs 9 2 — — $ 11
Amortized deferred policy acquisition costs ( 6 ) ( 1 ) — ( 1 ) $ ( 8 )
Balance, end of period $ 231 $ 44 $ 7 $ 52 $ 334
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 21
Table of Contents
NOTE 7 – Accumulated Other Comprehensive Income
Accumulated other comprehensive income (AOCI) includes changes in unrealized gains and losses on investments, changes in pension obligations and changes in life policy reserves, reinsurance recoverable and other as follows:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Before tax Income tax Net Before tax Income tax Net
Investments:
AOCI, beginning of period $ ( 570 ) $ ( 123 ) $ ( 447 ) $ ( 847 ) $ ( 182 ) $ ( 665 )
OCI before investment gains and losses, net, recognized in net income ( 65 ) ( 13 ) ( 52 ) 163 35 128
Investment gains and losses, net, recognized in net income 10 2 8 — — —
OCI ( 55 ) ( 11 ) ( 44 ) 163 35 128
AOCI, end of period $ ( 625 ) $ ( 134 ) $ ( 491 ) $ ( 684 ) $ ( 147 ) $ ( 537 )
Pension obligations:
AOCI, beginning of period $ 30 $ 8 $ 22 $ 36 $ 9 $ 27
OCI excluding amortization recognized in net income — — — ( 5 ) ( 1 ) ( 4 )
Amortization recognized in net income — — — ( 1 ) — ( 1 )
OCI — — — ( 6 ) ( 1 ) ( 5 )
AOCI, end of period $ 30 $ 8 $ 22 $ 30 $ 8 $ 22
Life policy reserves, reinsurance recoverable and other:
AOCI, beginning of period $ ( 13 ) $ ( 3 ) $ ( 10 ) $ 29 $ 5 $ 24
OCI before investment gains and losses, net, recognized in net income 47 10 37 ( 45 ) ( 9 ) ( 36 )
Investment gains and losses, net, recognized in net income — — — — — —
OCI 47 10 37 ( 45 ) ( 9 ) ( 36 )
AOCI, end of period $ 34 $ 7 $ 27 $ ( 16 ) $ ( 4 ) $ ( 12 )
Summary of AOCI:
AOCI, beginning of period $ ( 553 ) $ ( 118 ) $ ( 435 ) $ ( 782 ) $ ( 168 ) $ ( 614 )
Investments OCI ( 55 ) ( 11 ) ( 44 ) 163 35 128
Pension obligations OCI — — — ( 6 ) ( 1 ) ( 5 )
Life policy reserves, reinsurance recoverable and other OCI 47 10 37 ( 45 ) ( 9 ) ( 36 )
Total OCI ( 8 ) ( 1 ) ( 7 ) 112 25 87
AOCI, end of period $ ( 561 ) $ ( 119 ) $ ( 442 ) $ ( 670 ) $ ( 143 ) $ ( 527 )
Investment gains and losses, net, and other investment gains and losses, net, are recorded in the investment gains and losses, net, line item in the condensed consolidated statements of income. Amortization of pension obligations is recorded in the insurance losses and contract holders' benefits and underwriting, acquisition and insurance expenses line items in the condensed consolidated statements of income.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 22
Table of Contents
NOTE 8 – Reinsurance
Primary components of our property casualty reinsurance assumed operations include involuntary and voluntary assumed as well as contracts from our reinsurance assumed operations, known as Cincinnati Re. Primary components of our ceded reinsurance include a property per risk treaty, property excess treaty, casualty per occurrence treaty, casualty excess treaty, property catastrophe treaty and retrocessions on our reinsurance assumed operations. Management’s decisions about the appropriate level of risk retention are affected by various factors, including changes in our underwriting practices, capacity to retain risks and reinsurance market conditions.
The table below summarizes our consolidated property casualty insurance net written premiums, earned premiums and incurred loss and loss expenses:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Direct written premiums $ 2,125 $ 1,859
Assumed written premiums 239 244
Ceded written premiums ( 116 ) ( 84 )
Net written premiums $ 2,248 $ 2,019
Direct earned premiums $ 1,934 $ 1,760
Assumed earned premiums 152 159
Ceded earned premiums ( 94 ) ( 78 )
Earned premiums $ 1,992 $ 1,841
Direct incurred loss and loss expenses $ 1,193 $ 1,299
Assumed incurred loss and loss expenses 76 76
Ceded incurred loss and loss expenses 1 ( 58 )
Incurred loss and loss expenses $ 1,270 $ 1,317
Our life insurance company purchases reinsurance for protection of a portion of the risks that are written. Primary components of our life reinsurance program include individual mortality coverage, aggregate catastrophe and accidental death coverage in excess of certain deductibles.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 23
Table of Contents
The table below summarizes our consolidated life insurance earned premiums and contract holders' benefits incurred:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Direct earned premiums $ 99 $ 96
Ceded earned premiums ( 20 ) ( 19 )
Earned premiums $ 79 $ 77
Direct contract holders' benefits incurred 94 97
Ceded contract holders' benefits incurred ( 15 ) ( 16 )
Contract holders' benefits incurred $ 79 $ 81
The ceded benefits incurred can vary depending on the type of life insurance policy held and the year the policy was issued.
The allowance for uncollectible property casualty premiums was $ 16 million at both March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023. The allowances for credit losses on other premiums receivable and reinsurance recoverable assets were immaterial at March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 24
Table of Contents
NOTE 9 – Income Taxes
The differences between the 21 % statutory federal income tax rate and our effective income tax rate were as follows:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Tax at statutory rate: $ 200 21.0 % $ 56 21.0 %
Increase (decrease) resulting from:
Tax-exempt income from municipal bonds ( 5 ) ( 0.5 ) ( 5 ) ( 1.9 )
Dividend received exclusion ( 5 ) ( 0.5 ) ( 5 ) ( 1.9 )
Other 8 0.8 ( 3 ) ( 1.2 )
Provision for income taxes $ 198 20.8 % $ 43 16.0 %
The provision for federal income taxes is based upon filing a consolidated income tax return for the company and its domestic subsidiaries.
We continue to believe that after considering all positive and negative evidence of taxable income in the carryback and carryforward periods as permitted by law, it is more likely than not that all of the deferred tax assets on our U.S. domestic operations and those related to Cincinnati Global Underwriting Ltd. SM (Cincinnati Global) will be realized. As a result, we have no valuation allowance for our U.S. domestic operations or Cincinnati Global at both March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023.
Cincinnati Global
Cincinnati Global had no operating loss carryforwards in the United States and $ 91 million and $ 100 million in the United Kingdom at March 31, 2024, and December 31, 2023, respectively. These Cincinnati Global losses can only be utilized within the Cincinnati Global group.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 25
Table of Contents
NOTE 10 – Net Income Per Common Share
Basic earnings per share are computed based on the weighted average number of common shares outstanding. Diluted earnings per share are computed based on the weighted average number of common and dilutive potential common shares outstanding using the treasury stock method. The table shows calculations for basic and diluted earnings per share:
(In millions, except per share data) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Numerator:
Net income—basic and diluted
$ 755 $ 225
Denominator:
Basic weighted-average common shares outstanding 156.8 157.2
Effect of share-based awards:
Stock options 0.7 0.8
Nonvested shares 0.4 0.5
Diluted weighted-average shares 157.9 158.5
Earnings per share:
Basic $ 4.82 $ 1.43
Diluted $ 4.78 $ 1.42
Number of anti-dilutive share-based awards 1.3 1.0
The source of dilution of our common shares are certain equity-based awards. See our 2023 Annual Report on Form 10-K, Item 8, Note 17, Share-Based Associate Compensation Plans, Page 177, for information about share-based awards. The above table shows the number of anti-dilutive share-based awards for the three months ended March 31, 2024 and 2023.
NOTE 11 – Employee Retirement Benefits
The following summarizes the components of net periodic benefit for our qualified and supplemental pension plans:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Service cost $ 1 $ 1
Non-service (benefit) costs:
Interest cost 3 3
Expected return on plan assets ( 5 ) ( 5 )
Amortization of actuarial loss and prior service cost — ( 1 )
Other — ( 5 )
Total non-service benefit ( 2 ) ( 8 )
Net periodic benefit $ ( 1 ) $ ( 7 )
See our 2023 Annual Report on Form 10-K, Item 8, Note 13, Employee Retirement Benefits, Page 170, for information on our retirement benefits. The net periodic benefit is allocated in the same proportion primarily to the underwriting, acquisition and insurance expenses line item with the remainder allocated to the insurance losses and contract holders' benefits line item on the condensed consolidated statements of income for both 2024 and 2023.
We made matching contributions totaling $ 9 million and $ 8 million to our 401(k) and Top Hat savings plans during the first quarter of 2024 and 2023, respectively.
We m ade no con tributions to our qualified pension plan during the first three months of 2024.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 26
Table of Contents
NOTE 12 – Commitments and Contingent Liabilities
The company, through its insurance subsidiaries, is involved in claims litigation arising in the ordinary course of conducting its business, both as a liability insurer defending or providing indemnity for third-party claims brought against insureds and as an insurer defending coverage claims brought against it. The company accounts for such activity through the establishment of unpaid loss and loss expense reserves. Subject to the uncertainties discussed in Note 4, Property Casualty Loss and Loss Expenses, and in the discussion in the balance of this Note, we believe that the ultimate liability, if any, with respect to such ordinary-course claims litigation, after consideration of provisions made for potential losses, costs of defense, and reinsurance recoveries, is immaterial to our consolidated financial position, results of operations and cash flows.
Beginning in April 2020, like many companies in the property casualty insurance industry, the company’s property casualty subsidiaries were named as defendants in lawsuits seeking insurance coverage under commercial property insurance policies issued by the company for alleged losses resulting from the shutdown or suspension of their businesses due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Although the allegations vary, the plaintiffs generally seek a declaration of insurance coverage, damages for breach of contract in unspecified amounts for claim denials, interest and attorney fees. Some of the lawsuits also allege that the insurance claims were denied in bad faith or otherwise in violation of state laws and seek extra-contractual or punitive damages.
The company denies the allegations in these lawsuits and continues to vigorously defend them. The company maintains that it has no coverage obligations with respect to these lawsuits for business income allegedly lost by the plaintiffs due to the COVID-19 pandemic based on the terms of the applicable insurance policies. Although the policy terms vary, in general, the claims at issue in these lawsuits were denied because the policyholder identified no direct physical loss or damage to property at the insured premises, and the governmental orders that led to the complete or partial shutdown of the business were not due to the existence of any direct physical loss or damage to property in the immediate vicinity of the insured premises and did not prohibit access to the insured premises, as required by the terms of the insurance policies. Depending on the individual policy, additional policy terms and conditions may also prohibit coverage, such as exclusions for pollutants, ordinance or law, loss of use, and acts or decisions. The company’s standard commercial property insurance policies generally did not contain a specific virus exclusion.
In addition to the inherent difficulty in predicting litigation outcomes, the COVID-19 pandemic business income coverage lawsuits present a number of uncertainties and contingencies that are not yet known, including how many policyholders will ultimately file claims, the extent to which any class may be certified, and the size and scope of any such classes. The legal theories advanced by plaintiffs vary by case as do the state laws that govern the policy interpretation. Most of these lawsuits have been dismissed, both by courts and by plaintiffs, but some have been appealed and a few others remain pending in trial courts. Appellate decisions issued to date generally have been favorable for the insurance industry, and the company has received numerous favorable rulings on appeal with no adverse appellate rulings to date. Some cases remain to be decided and in some jurisdictions, cases have been stayed pending appellate decisions in their state or federal circuit. Accordingly, little discovery has occurred on pending cases. In addition, business income calculations depend upon a wide range of factors that are particular to the circumstances of each individual policyholder and, here, virtually none of the plaintiffs have submitted proofs of loss or otherwise quantified or factually supported any allegedly covered loss. Moreover, the company’s experience shows that demands for damages often bear little relation to a reasonable estimate of potential loss. Accordingly, management cannot now reasonably estimate the possible loss or range of loss, if any. Nonetheless, given the number of claims and potential claims, the indeterminate amounts sought, and the inherent unpredictability of litigation, it is possible that adverse outcomes, if any, in the aggregate could have a material adverse effect on the company’s consolidated financial position, results of operations and cash flows.
The company and its subsidiaries also are occasionally involved in other legal and regulatory proceedings, some of which assert claims for substantial amounts. These actions include, among others, putative class actions seeking certification of state or national classes. Such proceedings have alleged, for example, improper depreciation of labor costs in repair estimates. The company’s insurance subsidiaries also are occasionally parties to individual actions in which extra-contractual damages, punitive damages or penalties are sought, such as claims alleging bad faith handling of insurance claims or writing unauthorized coverage or claims alleging discrimination by former or current associates.
On a quarterly basis, we review these outstanding matters. Under current accounting guidance, we establish accruals when it is probable that a covered loss has been incurred and we can reasonably estimate its potential
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 27
Table of Contents
exposure. The company accounts for such probable and estimable losses, if any, through the establishment of legal expense reserves. Based on our quarterly review, we believe that our accruals for probable and estimable losses are reasonable and that the amounts accrued do not have a material effect on our consolidated financial position, results of operations and cash flows. However, if any one or more of these matters results in a judgment against us or settlement for an amount that is significantly greater than the amount accrued, the resulting liability could have a material effect on the company’s consolidated financial position, results of operations and cash flows. Based on our most recent review, our estimate for any other matters for which the risk of loss is not probable, but more than remote, is immaterial.
NOTE 13 – Segment Information
We operate primarily in two industries, property casualty insurance and life insurance. Our CODM regularly reviews our reporting segments to make decisions about allocating resources and assessing performance. Our reporting segments are:
• Commercial lines insurance
• Personal lines insurance
• Excess and surplus lines insurance
• Life insurance
• Investments
We report as Other the noninvestment operations of the parent company and its noninsurer subsidiary, CFC Investment Company. We also report as Other the underwriting results of Cincinnati Re and Cincinnati Global. See our 2023 Annual Report on Form 10-K, Item 8, Note 18, Segment Information, Page 180, for a description of revenue, income or loss before income taxes and identifiable assets for each of the five segments.
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 28
Table of Contents
Segment information is summarized in the following table:
(Dollars in millions) Three months ended March 31,
2024 2023
Revenues:
Commercial lines insurance
Commercial casualty $ 365 $ 377
Commercial property 336 299
Commercial auto 220 213
Workers' compensation 61 74
Other commercial 100 93
Commercial lines insurance premiums 1,082 1,056
Fee revenues 1 1
Total commercial lines insurance 1,083 1,057
Personal lines insurance
Personal auto 208 166
Homeowner 303 232
Other personal 77 66
Personal lines insurance premiums 588 464
Fee revenues 1 1
Total personal lines insurance 589 465
Excess and surplus lines insurance 139 127
Fee revenues 1 —
Total excess and surplus lines insurance 140 127
Life insurance premiums 79 77
Fee revenues 1 2
Total life insurance 80 79
Investments
Investment income, net of expenses 245 210
Investment gains and losses, net 612 106
Total investment revenue 857 316
Other
Premiums 183 194
Other 3 3
Total other revenues 186 197
Total revenues $ 2,935 $ 2,241
Income (loss) before income taxes:
Insurance underwriting results
Commercial lines insurance $ 39 $ ( 2 )
Personal lines insurance 37 ( 57 )
Excess and surplus lines insurance 12 13
Life insurance 10 8
Investments 826 286
Other 29 20
Total income before income taxes $ 953 $ 268
Identifiable assets: March 31,
2024 December 31,
2023
Property casualty insurance $ 5,298 $ 5,294
Life insurance 1,564 1,562
Investments 25,878 24,999
Other 987 914
Total $ 33,727 $ 32,769
Cincinnati Financial Corporation First-Quarter 2024 10-Q
Page 29
Table of Contents
Text extracted from the filing as submitted to EDGAR. Formatting, tables and exhibits are simplified for reading; the original document is authoritative for anything you rely on.